The Pie and Bovril Dead Pool 2023

Week 36 update

Two deaths this week. First up, the actor John Cairney: Scottish actor John Cairney has died aged 93 - BBC News

The actor John Cairney, who found fame playing Robert Burns on stage and screen, has died at the age of 93.

The Glasgow-born actor also appeared in the films Jason and the Argonauts and the Titanic drama A Night to Remember.

He trained at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama (RSAMD) and was a critically acclaimed stage actor before becoming a regular on television and in films.

In later life he became an acclaimed painter.

John Cairney was born in 1930 in the Baillieston area of Glasgow. He briefly attended art college but dropped out to pursue the life of an actor.

After drama school, where he met his first wife Sheila, he began a successful career in the theatre. He was in the British premiere of Arthur Miller's The Crucible in Bristol and played Hamlet at Glasgow's Citizens Theatre.

His most famous film role came in 1963's adventure Jason and The Argonauts, where his character is crushed to death by the living bronze statue, Talos.

Spoilers. Cairney died at 93 so he's worth 32 Base Points, with a Solo Shot taking @The DA's total to 82 points.

============

Second death this week was TV comedian and impersonator Mike Yarwood: TV comedian and impersonator Mike Yarwood dies aged 82 | TV comedy | The Guardian

Mike Yarwood, the television comedian and renowned impersonator, has died in hospital aged 82, the Royal Variety Charity has announced.

The entertainer was one of the biggest TV stars of the 1960s and 70s with hit BBC shows, famous for his impressions of former prime ministers Harold Wilson and Ted Heath, Prince Charles and the late football manager Brian Clough.

The Mike Yarwood Show in 1977 had one of the largest single Christmas Day audiences ever for a British TV programme, at 21.4 million viewers.

The Royal Variety Charity said it was deeply saddened to announce his death, saying: “He leaves behind an immeasurable void in the entertainment industry.”

Luckily, if you're not ancient and have no idea what all this means, there's a nice compilation on youtube:

Yarwood died at 82 so he's worth 43 Base Points for @peasy23 and @Scorge. peasy gets a Deadly Duo bonus for 68 points, Scorge adds a Vice-Captain for 90 points.

As a result, the standings look like this:

1. JustOneCornetto 405
2. psv_killie 376
3. Michael W 295
4. Arbroathlegend36-0, peasy23 288
6. chomp my root 271
7. Desp 264
8. LoonsYouthTeam 245
9. Karpaty Lviv 241
10. The Naitch 240
11. ThomCat 239
12. The DA, Scorge 235
14. gkneil 234
15. cdhafc1874 229
16. Arabdownunder 228
17. buddiepaul 226
18. Billy Jean King 225
19. Mark Connolly, weirdcal 224
21. Bert Raccoon 222
22. qos_75 221
23. amnarab 219
24. Ned Nederlander 209
25. Miguel Sanchez 199
26. Bully Wee Villa 192
27. Ziggy Sobotka, TxRover 190
29. Ludo*1 188
30. lolls 180
31. Donathan 179
32. Shotgun 170
33. Savage Henry 169
34. D.V.T., microdave, throbber 166
37. HI HAT 162
38. ParsJake 160
39. pub car king, The_Craig 157
41. Aim Here 155
42. DG.Roma 154
43. sophia 148
44. Indale Winton 142
45. Sweaty Morph 140
46. alta-pete 139
47. get_the_subbies_on 138
48. Frosty, HK Hibee, willie adie 134
51. djchapsticks 133
52. Fuctifano, thistledo 125
54. kilMARKnock 116
55. doulikefish,  tamthebam, The Master 111
58. Melanius Mullarkay 110
59. Arch Stanton, mozam76 101
61. Lofarl 99
62. Oystercatcher, weemac 97
64. atfccfc, Ray Patterson 96
66. HTG 95
67. Moomintroll 93
68. Enigma 90
69. dagane, pawpar 87
71. German Jag, sparky88 84
73. blackislekillie 74
74. Jimmy Baker 71
75. ICTJohnboy, superwell87 69
77. paulathame 68
78. lichtgilphead 67
79. expatowner 60
80. Priti priti priti Patel, superbigal 58
82. Dunning1874, sleazy 55
84. Empty It, The Hologram 48
86. DeeTillEhDeh 42
87. Oceanlineayr, Salvo Montalbano, Shipa, statts1976uk 39
91. mathematics 37
92. 10menwent2mow, dee_62, mizfit, parxyz, scottsdad, senorsoupe, Suspect Device 32
99. choirbairn, Derry Alli, stanton 31
102. BillyAnchor, Christophe, Lex, PWL 29
106. Everyone else 0

The spreadsheet has also been updated with these scores: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1RxCIfczRUmrRrW79tUQ0vJ5KaHZpYENsTKmDqW4X3W4/edit?usp=sharing

23 hours ago, Oystercatcher said:

I could have sworn Richard O Sullivan died years ago, I loved the TV show dick Turpin in the 70s when I was a kid, the title music is up there with the flashing blade for swashbuckling excitement.

I remember being saddened about his death years ago so clearly I'm caught up in an alternative universe

Richard O’Sullivan was a staple of my DP team for too many years simply because my research said he was frail in an actors nursing home and I could find nothing else. 

Looking at that tweet from @peasy23 he looks in rude health for a man of his age - especially c/w Yarwood. Don’t think he’ll even trouble my subs bench again for years yet. 

8 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

Richard O’Sullivan was a staple of my DP team for too many years simply because my research said he was frail in an actors nursing home and I could find nothing else. 

Looking at that tweet from @peasy23 he looks in rude health for a man of his age - especially c/w Yarwood. Don’t think he’ll even trouble my subs bench again for years yet. 

Now that Richard is in my team he's there until he dies, or I die, whatever comes first.

2 minutes ago, peasy23 said:

Now that Richard is in my team he's there until he dies, or I die, whatever comes first.

Please leave a note for Mrs Peasy that steak pie and boiled tatties seem the PnB preferred purvey of choice. None of that sausage roll pish. 

52 minutes ago, alta-pete said:

Please leave a note for Mrs Peasy that steak pie and boiled tatties seem the PnB preferred purvey of choice. None of that sausage roll pish. 

A P & B Deadpool funeral would be surreal. Would we all wear name badges or try and guess who each other is.... 🤔 For the record, I'd be happy with either steak pie or sausage rolls as long as there's plenty of loud mouth soup. 

1 hour ago, Suspect Device said:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-merseyside-66797008

Geoff Davies ex boss of Probe Plus.

Met him a few times when I went to see Half Man Half Biscuit. Really nice guy.

I'll not be making any jokes and I doubt anyone will be getting points.

I won't be making any jokes either and trust you won't be tending the wrong grave for 23 years.