Queens v Dunfermline

37 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

Giveaway when someone just follows one player eh? 

Apart from the poster Rie, I'm not sure if you encountered her with you being a Championship side at the time, but she was a (By all accounts lovely) Japanese lady who just followed Colin Nish, wasn't related to him in anyway, just liked him and seen it as natural to follow a player, much like you'd follow a tennis player or a racing driver. When Nish was sacked by Cowdenbeath though she started asking for the timings and locations of Hibs? Youth games because he'd went there as a coach. 

Absolutely amazing. 

Aye I remember that! Never knew she was Japanese right enough. I assumed she was a relation. Mental stuff. 

13 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Have to agree with your first paragraph. Any defeat is disappointing but if you come away with the feeling that the players at least gave it a right good go then it makes it just a bit more bearable.

Bartley seems quite upbeat about how things have gone in training this week following his post Kelty interview, so hopefully it's a happy and determined  group of players  who turn out tomorrow. 

Just read that there. Good to see. I'm all for a manager making his feelings known if it's fair; which the post Kelty interview was IMO but it's equally important to give praise when it's due. Bartley has done both fairly so far. 

43 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

Apart from the poster Rie, I'm not sure if you encountered her with you being a Championship side at the time, but she was a (By all accounts lovely) Japanese lady who just followed Colin Nish, wasn't related to him in anyway, just liked him and seen it as natural to follow a player, much like you'd follow a tennis player or a racing driver. When Nish was sacked by Cowdenbeath though she started asking for the timings and locations of Hibs? Youth games because he'd went there as a coach. 

Absolutely amazing. 

There was 'besty' who followed Lee Robinson from one club to another too and absolutely lost it on our thread when Gary Naysmith, possibly harshly, binned him to accommodate Alan Martin coming in. Don't know if he appeared on your threads at all in his brief return with you? Almost certainly one of Lee's brothers.

There's a currently active poster who is doing a half reasonable job of hiding which player's parent he is too. A few have hinted at it though so some have worked it out.

Edited by Skyline Drifter

16 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

There was 'besty' who followed Lee Robinson from one club to another too and absolutely lost it on our thread when Gary Naysmith, possibly harshly, binned him to accommodate Alan Martin coming in. Don't know if he appeared on your threads at all in his brief return with you? Almost certainly one of Lee's brothers.

There's a currently active poster who is doing a half reasonable job of hiding which player's parent he is too. A few have hinted at it though so some have worked it out.

Ehhh, I don't think so, but I could be wrong. 

Lee Robinson did do us a decent enough turn really, he came in and a few fans, including myself were quite dismayed, he was mostly fine really. 

I presume he's given up playing for his coaching? Brentford signed David Raya from Blackburn just a few months after he'd appeared in a video with Robinson, he'll be moving to a top six side next season, is it all down to Lee Robinson? Not for me to say but yes IMO. 

18 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

Aye I remember that! Never knew she was Japanese right enough. I assumed she was a relation. Mental stuff. 

Aye, the story is absolutely wild. I sort of understood her though after she explained it a million times. I think the Hardest thing for me to grasp was her having the whole of Scottish football as a choice, and rather than going for some mercurial talent, she went for the big clumsy target man, at the end of his career. 

Imagine rocking up to what is possibly one of the saddest grounds in Scottish football (central park) just to watch Colin Nish. Amazing. 

Edited by Grant228

41 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

Ehhh, I don't think so, but I could be wrong. 

Lee Robinson did do us a decent enough turn really, he came in and a few fans, including myself were quite dismayed, he was mostly fine really. 

I presume he's given up playing for his coaching? Brentford signed David Raya from Blackburn just a few months after he'd appeared in a video with Robinson, he'll be moving to a top six side next season, is it all down to Lee Robinson? Not for me to say but yes IMO.

Didn't know that about Raya. As far as I know Lee's only coaching. He's certainly still doing the coaching. As far as I know or can see, he never played for anyone else, certainly not at any serious level, after playing that year or so for you.

He was pretty much retired from playing at 29 or so and coaching in the US when Jim Thomson lured him back to sign for us. It was his 4th spell with us. Hadn't played all that much in the first two loan spells but his 3rd spell was an outstanding success. Best gk in the league when we won the old Division 2 of the SFL in 2013 and the biggest single reason we won the Challenge Cup too beating Rangers and Partick Thistle in penalty shoot outs. I think we'd have settled better into the Championship if we'd managed to keep him then but he wanted to go abroad and went off to Ostersund while we landed Calum Antell. We did eventually fix the issue by signing Zander Clark on loan but Robinson would have let us hit the ground running.

4th spell was never as good though and characterised by some bizarre on field decisions, and a tendency to be beaten by every direct free kick that went near him. Then there was THAT Nicky Clark header against you last game of the season. Naysmith who had inherited him had seen enough and went out to get Alan Martin. Even then Lee wanted to coach more than play and was living in Sunderland and traveling up for training 2 or 3 days a week I think. I believe he did the same when he went back to Dunfermline as a favour to Allan Johnston when you needed a keeper. That's no use to managers though. It's maybe ok for him personally but its such a specialist position that in a small squad, if you have your gk only training half the week its hard to work on set pieces and small sided games etc. It's just amateur to have an outfield player in goal for those or an u18 keeper. If I remember rightly it's why Stevie Crawford very quickly binned him out of the squad when he took over from AJ at you.

A pity. Notwithstanding his last season with us which was a mixed bag, he could have played at a much higher level than he did if he'd really concentrated on it full time. Ally McCoist said he was the best goalkeeper he'd ever seen with the ball at his feet and his kicking from hand was magnificent at times.

7 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Didn't know that about Raya. As far as I know Lee's only coaching. He's certainly still doing the coaching. As far as I know or can see, he never played for anyone else, certainly not at any serious level, after playing that year or so for you.

He was pretty much retired from playing at 29 or so and coaching in the US when Jim Thomson lured him back to sign for us. It was his 4th spell with us. Hadn't played all that much in the first two loan spells but his 3rd spell was an outstanding success. Best gk in the league when we won the old Division 2 of the SFL in 2013 and the biggest single reason we won the Challenge Cup too beating Rangers and Partick Thistle in penalty shoot outs. I think we'd have settled better into the Championship if we'd managed to keep him then but he wanted to go abroad and went off to Ostersund while we landed Calum Antell. We did eventually fix the issue by signing Zander Clark on loan but Robinson would have let us hit the ground running.

4th spell was never as good though and characterised by some bizarre on field decisions, and a tendency to be beaten by every direct free kick that went near him. Then there was THAT Nicky Clark header against you last game of the season. Naysmith who had inherited him had seen enough and went out to get Alan Martin. Even then Lee wanted to coach more than play and was living in Sunderland and traveling up for training 2 or 3 days a week I think. I believe he did the same when he went back to Dunfermline as a favour to Allan Johnston when you needed a keeper. That's no use to managers though. It's maybe ok for him personally but its such a specialist position that in a small squad, if you have your gk only training half the week its hard to work on set pieces and small sided games etc. It's just amateur to have an outfield player in goal for those or an u18 keeper. If I remember rightly it's why Stevie Crawford very quickly binned him out of the squad when he took over from AJ at you.

A pity. Notwithstanding his last season with us which was a mixed bag, he could have played at a much higher level than he did if he'd really concentrated on it full time. Ally McCoist said he was the best goalkeeper he'd ever seen with the ball at his feet and his kicking from hand was magnificent at times.

Some very good points SD.

Have to say the mention of Calum Antell and Alan Martin in two almost back to back posts has reawakened some barely suppressed trauma in me. 😂😳

Edited by Distant Doonhamer

15 minutes ago, Distant Doonhamer said:

Some very good points SD.

Have to say the mention of Calum Antell and Alan Martin in two almost back to back posts has reawakened some barely suppressed trauma in me. 😂😳

Calum Antell unfortunately was a signing that just didn't work out. We were in a horrible position timing wise despite coming off a record breaking season. Lee had been humming and hawing for months on whether he would be willing to extend his contract or would take up the chance to go abroad,. Allan Johnston, understandibly given his heroics that season, wanted to give him every chance to decide to stay and wouldn't put a deadline on it. In the end by the time he did decide he was leaving for sure a lot of potentially better gk signings had gone elsewhere. AJ brought Grant Adam in for training and he played a closed door friendly at Queen's Park but then AJ himself was lured to Kilmarnock and we were managerless too. By the time McIntyre came in, and very quickly decided Grant Adam wasn't the answer (he wasn't) there wasn't an awful lot of options out there. Billy Dodds had worked with Antell briefly at East Fife and thought he was decent so we ended up with him. He looked shaky from the start though and supporters quickly lost patience. Like BJ Corr before him and probably Max Currie (and maybe even Alan Martin) since once you go down that road it's hard to come back from it. At least McIntyre did address the issue very well by bringing in Zander Clark but by then we were 2 or 3 months into the season and hadn't started particularly well. To be fair to him Calum Antell kept his head up and remained at the club mostly (he had a brief loan spell at Brechin which wasn't particularly successful either), he came on as a sub at least once for the sent off Jim Atkinson when Clark was injured and did nothing wrong in that game.

I've a lot of sympathy for Naysmith on Martin. He inherited a Lee Robinson who was nowhere near the consistent top quality keeper he had been in his previous spell and there was friction between them over Lee's desire to train only part of the week. It couldn't even really come to a natural end because Lee had a 2 year contract. It was always going to end badly. Alan Martin SHOULD have been a very good signing. Fans were delighted with it and he had been one of the Players of the Year at Dumbarton previously but he wasn't really fit for most of his first 6 months at least and never played as well as the guy we thought we were getting. In the end he wasn't any better than Lee had been. I think his second season was a bit better even if it did appear to have ended in shame with falling out with home fans and making a 'gesture' at them at half time in a game. Looked to have ended his time with us and Deniz Mehmet came in but neither he nor Jack Leighfield really seized the position either and when AJ returned for the playoffs he immediately restored Martin to the team. To be fair he did nothing wrong in the playoffs and saw us through them as a parting gift.

1 hour ago, HighlandQueen said:

Nonsense. Can we just stick to football please. Instead of this dull trolling of our fans. 

Think that's a wee whoosh there HQ.

The Pars poster was just on a wee wind up there, hence my reply in kind. Nothing wrong with a wee wind up between opposing fans now and again (as long as it's not unpleasant stuff). Being able to have a laugh is a good thing ... especially if we can laugh at ourselves too. 

25 minutes ago, HighlandQueen said:

We will see. I’ve lasted since 1971/72 as a Queens fan so don’t bet on it…I just prefer to debate about Queens and football instead of juvenile and xenophobic blind alleys into politics, religion and terroir. 

Definite Tory

7 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

Think that's a wee whoosh there HQ.

The Pars poster was just on a wee wind up there, hence my reply in kind. Nothing wrong with a wee wind up between opposing fans now and again (as long as it's not unpleasant stuff). Being able to have a laugh is a good thing ... especially if we can laugh at ourselves too. 

Luckily for me there is absolutely nothing troll worthy about Fife in any way, shape or form. 

3 hours ago, Grant228 said:

Absolutely amazing. 

She's still kicking about the tranent thread to this day

53 minutes ago, HighlandQueen said:

We will see. I’ve lasted since 1971/72 as a Queens fan so don’t bet on it…I just prefer to debate about Queens and football instead of juvenile and xenophobic blind alleys into politics, religion and terroir. 

You're lucky we're not sharing a division with Morton, Vkington's obsession with labelling  us Tory, Border bumpkins would really flip you over the edge. 

P & B would be a dull place without such "banter" as long as it doesn't go too far. 

On the subject of posters following a player, we've also had Topfitter supporting every team that Wullie Gibson has been at, from Peterhead to Crawley and all points in between. His loyalties will be a bit split now with Wullie at Annan and Lewis at Queens.