Huw Edwards

Just now, RawB93 said:

Gimp. 

You're a Dundee fan so understandable. 

Aye in a thread about someone looking at kiddie porn, me finding c***s like Michael Stewart, Stacey Dooley, Joe Swash and Rylan Clark painful viewing for the way they b*****dize the English language is what gets you riled up.😂 

31 minutes ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

You're a Dundee fan so understandable. 

Aye in a thread about someone looking at kiddie porn, me finding c***s like Michael Stewart, Stacey Dooley, Joe Swash and Rylan Clark painful viewing for the way they b*****dize the English language is what gets you riled up.😂 

You'd prefer if everyone spoke like some little posh, Tory London c**t instead?

There's no right or wrong way to speak English, dickhead. All people from all parts of the country should feel represented by the voices they hear on the telly and radio.

7 minutes ago, Jives Miguel said:

There's no right or wrong way to speak English, dickhead. All people from all parts of the country should feel represented by the voices they hear on the telly and radio.

Nah. Weegies can do one. Or "waaaaaan"

Maybe this is how Received Pronunciation started. People from the Northern Wastelands (anything more than half an hour outside the M25) arguing about each other's accents being unacceptable until the Home Counties crew stepped in.

Oh, and they hate the Thames Estuary accent too, they've just decided to inflict it on everyone else because they can't get away from it. As revenge, maybe we should all start using the Glasgow Uni accent for anything to be broadcast across the UK.

13 minutes ago, BFTD said:

As revenge, maybe we should all start using the Glasgow Uni accent for anything to be broadcast across the UK.

On this. I mean, what the actual fvck is it? Horrific and infuriating in equal measure. Is it an amalgamation of students being ashamed of their own tones trying to sound 'better' amongst those from posher areas or privilege, mixed with a combination of students from various countries and cultures coming together and speaking in a manner which they can all understand? Or is it just some utterly contrived nonsense started by some random fandan's? Either way get it tae fvck.

I'm all for regional dialects etc, but being caught using made up shite like this should result in immediate expulsion from University and shunning by society.

28 minutes ago, BFTD said:

Oh, and they hate the Thames Estuary accent too, they've just decided to inflict it on everyone else because they can't get away from it. As revenge, maybe we should all start using the Glasgow Uni accent for anything to be broadcast across the UK.

Never knew that there was a 'Glasgow Uni accent'.  I now know better.

8 minutes ago, 'WellDel said:

On this. I mean, what the actual fvck is it? Horrific and infuriating in equal measure. Is it an amalgamation of students being ashamed of their own tones trying to sound 'better' amongst those from posher areas or privilege, mixed with a combination of students from various countries and cultures coming together and speaking in a manner which they can all understand? Or is it just some utterly contrived nonsense started by some random fandan's? Either way get it tae fvck.

I'm all for regional dialects etc, but being caught using made up shite like this should result in immediate expulsion from University and shunning by society.

Its mostly made up phenomenon IMO. Middle class uni student types are far more likely to make the effort to sound/appear more working class in my experience. 

I read a post on the Lewis Capaldi thread that summed up the effect I am talking about far better than I ever could. let me see if i can find i

On 07/07/2020 at 21:01, Marshmallo said:

Lewis Capaldi is the epitome to me of this "whit ma like" culture that seems to have crept in over the last couple of years. It is some hybrid of Fiat 500 Twitter, Gemma Collins and stereotypically Glasgow ned interests. For example, deifying McDonalds, going on about how much you drink (extra points if in "Spoons"), memes about getting out of bed at 8:58am when you've got a conference call at 9, wearing your "jammies" all day, listening to GBX. It tends to be middle class types who either live in their parents' five bed house in Dullatur if they're under 25, having 20 of their pals round into the conservatory to drink MD or Dragon Soop before they go to Sugar Cube or Kushion on a Saturday, or couples who live in Newton Mearns with the man working offshore if they're a bit older. It's essentially cultural appropriation of working class stereotypes to try and look "funny" or "mental". Capaldi ticks just about every box of this with his online presence and is pandered to for this behaviour by the Red Tops or "Glasgow Live".

Well off middle class folk glamourising the scheme lifestyle is a far wider phenomenon but Lewis Capaldi encapsulates it quite neatly for me. 

Edited by Jives Miguel

3 minutes ago, Florentine_Pogen said:

It's like the 'valley girl' but in Scottish form.

Inflections at the end of everthing they say.

Brutal.

2 minutes ago, Jives Miguel said:

Its mostly made up phenomenon IMO. Middle class uni student types are far more likely to make the effort to sound/appear more working class in my experience. 

I dunno, I'm not in Glasgow very often but I spot it pretty often in the city centre when I'm through. Quite amusing.

I've a theory it's the American influence, considering there's a bit of a drawl in there. No idea if it's deliberate, but seems to be affected by young professionals who are either embarrassed about sounding lower-class than their colleagues, or find people struggling to understand them at work; kind of like how everyone has a phone voice.

7 minutes ago, Florentine_Pogen said:

Two of my cousins (from Renfrewshire) sound just like that.

Both went to Glasgow Uni strangely enough.

24 minutes ago, BFTD said:

I dunno, I'm not in Glasgow very often but I spot it pretty often in the city centre when I'm through. Quite amusing.

I've a theory it's the American influence, considering there's a bit of a drawl in there. No idea if it's deliberate, but seems to be affected by young professionals who are either embarrassed about sounding lower-class than their colleagues, or find people struggling to understand them at work; kind of like how everyone has a phone voice.

I think I hear 1000x more of this accent from people mocking it, than the actual supposed source material.

The expansion/gentrification of Glasgow has led to more middleclass suburbs and neighbourhoods from which Glaswegians are emerging who speak with a softer accent and less slang than the stereotypical Glaswegian accent. I don't think anyone is putting on accents to sound more posh, its the opposite in my experience. Young people don't like posh people or Torys. The only folk doing it deliberately are people like Gerard Butler, and that's precisely because of attitudes like LIVIFOREVER is displaying "you'll not get on the TV with that accent, peasant. Talk normal!!!". Limmy has spoke of this before, having meetings with BBC prior to his shows where the execs tried to get him to speak softer.

Edited by Jives Miguel

3 hours ago, Musketeer Gripweed said:

To be fair, Huw's accent was the worst attempt at Welsh going.

Can we jail Lenny Henry now then?

Fair play to him for being able to do it without lapsing into a really racist Indian one after about 10 seconds tho. 

4 hours ago, Jives Miguel said:

Calm down man. This isn't a binary. Accents are great (ironically I'm defending someone from West Lothian,  which is an awful accent) but he's right that lazy English isn't great for broadcasters. And aye, pronouncing a "th" as "f" is pretty lazy, ditto the "could of" nonsense that Stewart spouts which is simply wrong.