Queens v Morton | Shite meets Shite

45 minutes ago, Spider Rico said:

Both teams looked happy to stop the rot and not lose.

Probably not the worst strategy right now tbh. A QP winner would have put us in a massive hole already. We need players fit and confidence first - that result stops the rot if nothing else. 

Sounds like we missed a classic for the ages. 

While stopping the rot is okay logic on the face of it and a point does a job for both teams, if either side had any hope of doing what Morton did last season and overcoming a terrible start to escape a relegation battle and reach midtable comfort at worst, a win was probably necessary today.

We're now all having to hope at least one of Inverness, Ayr and maybe Airdrie continue being guff/get worse even if we have an upturn.

Edited by Dunning1874

Actually made it through the floods… and really wish I hadn’t.

We were clearly set up for a point and, although we defended the box pretty well, what was happening down the sides and in front meant we were lucky to get it.

Wilson is atrocious out at right-back and it was a miracle nothing came from the total freedom down that side in the second half.

Power and Gillespie without Robbie Crawford in front of them - and on a big pitch - meant QP could get up the park far too easily.

In that context, it’s a good point.

Morton supporters are justifiably worried about this season, but I’d be even more concerned if I was a QP fan: if they can’t beat us in our current state (and on that pitch), who are they going to beat?

1 hour ago, TONTROOPER said:

According to Chick Young this was a 'thoroughly entertaining' game.

F**k knows what he was watching. That was brutal viewing. Gave the ball away too much and the hoofs up the park were going everywhere.

For all the talk of McGrattan starting, in his sub appearance today he offered very little, except getting caught offside and letting their right back escort the ball out of play a lot.

That was grim. We didn't lose and we didn't lose a goal....and that's about it.

Some bizarre refereeing  - that's a stonewaller near the end, and the line up of the Ton players for the free kick just outside the box was about 7 yards away. 

But it was still grim.

15 minutes ago, AyrshireTon said:

F**k knows what he was watching. That was brutal viewing. Gave the ball away too much and the hoofs up the park were going everywhere.

For all the talk of McGrattan starting, in his sub appearance today he offered very little, except getting caught offside and letting their right back escort the ball out of play a lot.

McGratten put in more effort in his 20 mins than Muirhead did in his 70 mins and nothing said about his performance today.

4 minutes ago, montheton said:

McGratten put in more effort in his 20 mins than Muirhead did in his 70 mins and nothing said about his performance today.

McGrattan has been getting bigged up as the failsafe solution to all of our problems since January. If you're suggesting that he's getting a rough deal in terms of scrutiny on here or any other Morton forum then I couldn't disagree more tbh. 

He's a better option than Boyd or Bearne for sure but I haven't seen much impact for some time.

30 minutes ago, Hampden Diehard said:

That was grim. We didn't lose and we didn't lose a goal....and that's about it.

Some bizarre refereeing  - that's a stonewaller near the end, and the line up of the Ton players for the free kick just outside the box was about 7 yards away. 

But it was still grim.

We’d probably have found a way to pass the penalty backwards if it’d been awarded. 

Edited by an86

It really is dire, isn’t it? 

The fact that you have to bring on McCormick to try and change the game shows that we don't have the squad to actually scare anyone in the league.

They really do take us for mugs charging 20 quid for that.

Paton absolutely wasted in this team. That chance in the first half shows he’ll get goals if you get him service.

Our tactics are all about moving teams from side to side apparently… good to know we’ve got some. 

Taking Hepburn off after his most threatening moment in weeks was another tactical master-stroke. 

Falkirk away about the worst possible game for us at the moment. 

Pish. 

One look at our bench shows that we will be lucky to finish mid table. Nothing against the young boys but would it have been so difficult to have signed a couple of mid to late 20s guys with a bit of experience? 

Just now, Gall09 said:

One look at our bench shows that we will be lucky to finish mid table. Nothing against the young boys but would it have been so difficult to have signed a couple of mid to late 20s guys with a bit of experience? 

Hopefully Steven Boyd stayed after the game to agree terms then 

Didn't get there (massive HGV smash on the A77 near Ayr, 2-hour road closure), although I set out from Girvan at midday, clutching a ticket and full of hope that we'd today at least partially turn the corner. I was 100% expecting a turgid, cautious 0-0 with neither team being willing to go at it for fear of losing a goal to their opponent and making their table position worse.. Seems I was right. Under the torrid circumstances we both face at present, I'm inclined to think that both of us were happy with a point each.

It's hard to believe that the two current seaside favourites are both teams who were both so strong last season. Queens came within a whisker of being champions (I was genuinely gutted for their supporters to see their team bottle it on the home straight) - whilst we were only one ridiculous loss away from a playoff place - and in our case, with the nucleus of the same squad already signed up well in advance for this season. Queens and Morton - the two games which put the fear into every other team who played us last season.

I've been a Morton supporter since the late 70's and I've consequently witnessed ups and downs on a biblical scale. But this - the basis of a decent squad, plus a young, hungry, and obviously talented manager being bottom after such a short time - and with no clear exit route? I have absolutely no fucking clue what's going on.

It's very worrying.

Edited by Chippyminton

We operated with a very thin squad and got a wee bit lucky last season in the timing, severity and also location of injuries in different areas of the park that we could cover. That luck has completely deserted us at the start of the season and now we have a low-confidence side, scrambling to lift itself to the higher performances from before. I don't think it's a mystery at all tbh.

We need a couple of results to get on the right track - but the Championship is never the place for gimme 3 points and confidence-lifting wins. If we're lucky (yes, really) then Arbroath's campaign last season could be the path we end up following. 

23 minutes ago, virginton said:

We operated with a very thin squad and got a wee bit lucky last season in the timing, severity and also location of injuries in different areas of the park that we could cover. That luck has completely deserted us at the start of the season and now we have a low-confidence side, scrambling to lift itself to the higher performances from before. I don't think it's a mystery at all tbh.

We need a couple of results to get on the right track - but the Championship is never the place for gimme 3 points and confidence-lifting wins. If we're lucky (yes, really) then Arbroath's campaign last season could be the path we end up following. 

Aye - right enough, VT. But optimism is the eternal saviour of fitba supporters. I hope we come good.