'We deserve better" and other such soliloquies

Kind of a reversal to the “we deserve better” is when smaller teams sack their manager and pundits say “he’s done amazingly well with them to be in the top flight, it’s shocking that he’s been sacked”, the implication being that making it into the top flight with Caley or Ross County or Accies makes a manager immune from criticism or firing.

On 10/01/2024 at 16:22, Rhys McCabe Hype Train said:

Guy on Twitter yesterday saying Falkirk “absolutely deserve” to be in an expanded 18-team Premiership. Conveniently ignoring the fact that they have been utter dross for the last however many years.

And that there are currently 22 teams ahead of them in the league?

26 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

We know we deserve to be here, we should be higher. Easy enough to understand.

Second longest tenured team in the third tier second only to the mighty Montrose. You deserve to be there and you should be there. Maths. Easy enough to understand.

16 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

Ah, our Diamond simpleton returns.

Deserve: yes.

Should: as per budgets which are by far the largest determinant in team's sporting success: no. but here we are.

Maths 😆

You're in the wrong forum not me...

There was me thinking the number of points gained and the winning games were the biggest determinant in a team's sporting success. 

Maths being quite important to that end...

Edited by cb_diamond

1 minute ago, cb_diamond said:

You're in the wrong forum not me...

There was me thinking the number of points gained and the winning games were the biggest determinant in a team's sporting success. 

Maths being quite important to that end...

Wrong forum 😄

No, the largest determinant of a team's sporting success (that means goals, wins, points btw) is budget.

Happy to be of assistance.

3 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

Wrong forum 😄

No, the largest determinant of a team's sporting success (that means goals, wins, points btw) is budget.

Happy to be of assistance.

Here's a nice metaphor for this conversation.

For our purposes, you as a person will represent Falkirk, I will represent Airdrie. (Insert generic jokes here)

We're both in a Bank of Scotland branch to pay bills. I have £100 in my possession  you have £200. It's all of our money in the world.

You've taken your top off and are swinging it round your head shouting about how you're richer than me, I am going to use my £100 to pay a bill for £98, you're going to use your £200 to pay a bill for £600. When you get to the front of the line the teller explains you're in the wrong bank to pay the bill and you couldnt afford it anyway.

You scream "Navy blue pound" at her before tripping up and being helped up by a security guard who is Montrose and escorted out.

7 hours ago, Hawkeye the Gnu said:

Players/managers saying “Listen” before answering a question.

People hate Lee Bullen enough already without having to attack his most annoying mannerism.

Anyway, really funny that people whose liability to Ayr United is basically getting angry every saturday afternoon are in more bedsheets territory than a guy who has sunk several million of his own hard-earned pounds into the club in the last couple of years.

On 12/01/2024 at 14:43, Heid_The_Baw said:

"Scottish fitbaw would die without the Old Firm"

Firstly the Old Firm died in 2012 when Rangers liquidated.

Secondly, I am willing to let them go.  Take their bile and nonsense with them.  Yes our game would lose a lot financially on TV deals etc, but then the league would be competititve with at least 4 teams able to pose a title challenge without the bigot brothers.

Also, we would get more common sense n our game, without their overbalanced voting and selfish attitudes.  We could end up with our 18 team top league and regionalising the rest.  This would breed good young players for the national side too.  And yes, the arse cheeks would probably try to get the cream of the crop from us, but the money would be coming from them INTO the league, boosting club revenues.

Bliss.

Cappielow today had over 3 and a half thousand in attendance - and about 3,000 were in our end.

Usually we're lucky to get 2,000.

Yes, it's a big game on the back of fantastic form, but it's also SPL winter break. Plenty of folks I saw there are Rangers/Celtic first, and Morton solely as the local side - who only turned up just to see some fitba.

If the OF fucked off and/or died and didn't come back this time, then virtually every club would see attendances rise. The winter break is a small glimpse into a better world.

58 minutes ago, ClydeTon said:

Cappielow today had over 3 and a half thousand in attendance - and about 3,000 were in our end.

Usually we're lucky to get 2,000.

Yes, it's a big game on the back of fantastic form, but it's also SPL winter break. Plenty of folks I saw there are Rangers/Celtic first, and Morton solely as the local side - who only turned up just to see some fitba.

If the OF fucked off and/or died and didn't come back this time, then virtually every club would see attendances rise. The winter break is a small glimpse into a better world.

They'd still be playing, just in a different league.

1 minute ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

They'd still be playing, just in a different league.

How many do you reckon will turn up once they become lower-end English Championship clubs, winning nothing, ever.

I'd say around 15-20,000.

9 minutes ago, ClydeTon said:

How many do you reckon will turn up once they become lower-end English Championship clubs, winning nothing, ever.

I'd say around 15-20,000.

Those 15-20,000 are the ones with an interest in football and are most likely the ones you seen today. Their fair weather support won't be any more attracted to watch local teams than they are now.