Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

I sometimes walk into my house in the evenings and greet my flatmates with "evening motherfuckers" in a friendly sort of way. Its an offensive word in a friendly context. However, if I was to start all my posts with

"Hello Motherfuckers."

Then it could well be argued that it comes across as a bit offensive, no matter how much you explain the context. In the same way, calling people "honey" or "sweetie", which might mean nothing in a friendly context (despite them being affectionate romantic terms), comes across as a bit personal on the internet when its stripped of context.

Thats why we have "netiquette". Things aren't always the same on the internet as they are in real life, and you have to be a bit more careful about how you come across. I don't have a vandetta against you (although it might seem so), but you do come across as a bit personal, a bit woman focused, a bit sexist, and it could be argued that it might make some of the female posters a bit uncomfortable. Thats just an opinion though! One that I voice freely and frequently! :D

Edited to add, and I wish I hadn't mentioned my work to Toma. He seems to have run away. :(

WHIT?!?! So you have to adapt your persona just because you're on the internet??! That's even wierder! Oh, if I say 'honey' on a website/forum it's 'creepy' but if I say it to colleagues and acquaintances at work who answer me back 'Hiya, sweetheart', that's okay?!?! GET A FÚCKING GRIP, FFS!' <_<

Yes. Thats exactly what I'm saying. I don't think I could make it any clearer than I did in the last post, so therefore, I shall be aggressively commenting on your sexist, demeaning, patronising stone age posting. Rowan has previously asked you not to call her things like that, and Ayrgirl asked you not to call her that not long ago, a post you seem to have ignored.

You need to understand that things come across differently on the internet!

:lol::lol::lol: Do you live in Berwick?

That wasn't the point, but well done for trrying to keep up... :rolleyes:

I actually support Sauchie FC but I put St. Mirren to avoid embarrassing stereotypes.

I have a Billy Mehmet poster - any offers? ;)

1. You're constant use of the word 'honey' is sexist and unfunny.

I used it once, you dobber!

2. I'm not telling you. You don't have to stay where your team plays.

I don't stay where my team plays, if you knew anything about third divisison football you'd realise that. I went to see Blackburn United on Saturday. I like football, d'ye ken?!

3. Stop talking shite. I've lived near both Maryhill and Drumchapel, so I think I know what I'm talking about too, so stop your shitty stereotyping.

I've had a word with the Yoker Langy and the Yoker TOI. Nuff said..... :ph34r:

Yoker TOI Boys!

Yoker TOI Boys No. 2

Yoker, you've got to love it - I lived there and know half these boys....! B)

Edited by Kilt

I don't live in Yoker either. Have you? Have you really? Boys in my football team actually 'fight' for the Yoker TOI so if you really have I doubt I'll be getting done in.

What was the point in posting that btw? It had nothing to do with what I said. You could've just conceded the arguement rather than confirm peoples thoguths that your watch videos of teenage boys at the 1 o'clock in the morning.

Edited by Santana

I don't live in Yoker either. Have you? Have you really? Boys in my football team actually 'fight' for the Yoker TOI so if you really have I doubt I'll be getting done in.

What was the point in posting that btw? It had nothing to do with what I said. You could've just conceded the arguement rather than confirm peoples thoguths that your watch videos of teenage boys at the 1 o'clock in the morning.

But you're a Maryhill Jakey, he could never concede an argument to someone with such an inferior intelligence as him.

You could try spelling correctly, for a start! :P

They were my neighbours and local lads, and your boys 'fight' for the Yoker TOI? I doubt it very much, but can ask Paul, Chrissy and Beezer to check it out - oh, and are you suggesting I'm a peadophile? Are you? Go on , say it!! Paul, Bassa B, Stagey, Byron S and the rest lived by me. How could I not be inovolved if I wanted my hoose and family to stay in one piece. The Yoker TOI are no different from any other scheme.

Just hope your pants will wash and dry by tomorrow! ;)

Edited by Kilt

They were my neighbours and local lads, and your boys 'fight' for the Yoker TOI? I doubt it very much.....the rest lived by me. How could I not be inovolved if I wanted my hoose and family to stay in one piece. The Yoker TOI are no different from any other scheme.

Ye gods. And now we're back on naming other folk on the internet without their knowledge. :head desk: Please, can you not take a telling?

I'm beginning to think Burgundy was right......

What did Burgundy say?

By the way Kilt, you're making a colossal arse of yourself. Might I suggest that you stop posting, and appease the offended by issuing an unreserved apology? Further I would strongly encourage you to cover your kilt in petrol and burn it, become a staunch Unionist, have your genitals surgically removed and become a nun.

They were my neighbours and local lads, and your boys 'fight' for the Yoker TOI? I doubt it very much, but can ask Paul, Chrissy and Beezer to check it out - oh, and are you suggesting I'm a peadophile? Are you? Go on , say it!! Paul, Bassa B, Stagey, Byron S and the rest lived by me. How could I not be inovolved if I wanted my hoose and family to stay in one piece. The Yoker TOI are no different from any other scheme.

Oh no, a spelling mistake!

"My boys"?! Where did I say they were my boys?

No, just implying it - it wouldn't surprise me if you were one.

Stop making up names and slebbering pish, it's neither witty or funny.

Why do you keep mentioning Yoker anyway?

Edited by Santana

Oh and a Petty thing that's getting on my nerves: I've got a sore tonsil YET AGAIN. Ever since I got my brace in about two years ago I've had constant problems with tonsillitis and what seem like ulcers in my tonsil regions. I'm beginning to wonder if the two are related.

What did Burgundy say?

He was talking about how sometimes mentally ill people reach out to internet forums for attention and only get the wrong kind of attention, which can contribute to their very obvious breakdowns. I don't know how much it actually contributes, because they're on there in the first place for attention they crave, but he might have a valid point to be honest.

I think that's an extremely valid point. The particular danger with internet forums is that they form artificial communities that some people take a lot more seriously than others. There's a danger that mentally fragile people could misinterpret the tone of the written word, and take it completely the wrong way: especially when the distinction between the "real world" and the virtual community becomes far more blurred in their mind.

When people around them in the real world won't listen or sympathise or satisfy a need for attention, people almost undoubtedly turn to the internet where somewhere, somehow, someone will react and in their own way validate themselves. Of course, when they inevitably come out with complete and utter shite and get shot down for it, they don't just laugh it off: they CAN'T just laugh it off. Others subconsciously stoke a fire that's just waiting to set the soot up the chimney alight.

Yes. Thats exactly what I'm saying. I don't think I could make it any clearer than I did in the last post, so therefore, I shall be aggressively commenting on your sexist, demeaning, patronising stone age posting. Rowan has previously asked you not to call her things like that, and Ayrgirl asked you not to call her that not long ago, a post you seem to have ignored.

You need to understand that things come across differently on the internet!

WHIT? And you know Rowan, do you? <_<

Ye gods. And now we're back on naming other folk on the internet without their knowledge. :head desk: Please, can you not take a telling?

Sanctimonious cúnt! Naming who, exactly?! <_<

What did Burgundy say?

By the way Kilt, you're making a colossal arse of yourself. Might I suggest that you stop posting, and appease the offended by issuing an unreserved apology? Further I would strongly encourage you to cover your kilt in petrol and burn it, become a staunch Unionist, have your genitals surgically removed and become a nun.

How am I making a "colossal arse" of myself? By speaking the truth? Who exactly have I offended? Have I mentioned any names? No! All I've done is have a rant at life in general. If there's a dictat on 'Kilt', then so be it - but,

"First they came for the communists, and I did not speak out-- because I was not a communist; Then they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out-- because I was not a socialist; Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out-- because I was not a trade unionist; Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out-- because I was not a Jew; Then they came for me-- and there was no one left to speak out for me."

Oh no, a spelling mistake!

"My boys"?! Where did I say they were my boys?

No, just implying it - it wouldn't surprise me if you were one.

Stop making up names and slebbering pish, it's neither witty or funny.

Why do you keep mentioning Yoker anyway?

Because I lived there for thirteen years and most of those boys were my neighbours and looked after me when I cam home pished after the football! Okay?! <_<

It has just dawned on me that the friends I had absolutely everything in common with 5 years ago are the people I have nothing in common with now, with a few exceptions, yet, we still share the same social circle.

I'm eternally grateful for my neebur Scotty. We've known each other practically all of our lives and have that almost psychic knowledge of what each other is thinking.

He's my best man in November as a result. :)

:rolleyes:

Kilt, can I ask you to try and gain some perspective of what you're posting. You are name dropping stupid fucking neds who probably couldn't/wouldn't fight unless they were tooled up and there was at least four or five of them available to jump in when they were getting a kicking for crying out loud.

Edited by Andy.C