Golfers Thread

Gaz

10 minutes ago, Bring Back Paddy Flannery said:

The chat when he left for LIV was that he was staying with Callaway but I’ve nae idea if that included a clothing deal.

Tee times being released today. I hope Tiger is playing with someone different for a change.

He will be paired with JT

1 hour ago, lichtie23 said:

He will be paired with JT

He is not!

Day and Homa for Tiger. 

Rory, Scottie and Xander is a belter of a 3 ball

Edited by lichtie23

8 hours ago, Claudia Gentile said:

I don't think Olesen is a LIV player is he?  Immediately ruling out Aberg and Clark for being debuts seems a bit odd - but not as odd as filtering out McIlroy, Spieth, Homa and Day for "poor play from 175-225 yards" then having Keegan f8cking Bradley as one of the 10 picks. That made me chuckle.

I love the Masters but have a serious dislike for the Augusta National committee. They really are a bunch of racist/sexist old farts who are stuck in their ways. I understand they’ve softened in the last decade but there still plenty of the old guard still floating about. Just my opinion of course.  

12 minutes ago, lichtie23 said:

I love the Masters but have a serious dislike for every golf committee. They really are a bunch of racist/sexist old farts who are stuck in their ways. I understand they’ve softened in the last decade but there still plenty of the old guard still floating about. Just my opinion of course.  

FTFY

12 hours ago, lichtie23 said:

I love the Masters but have a serious dislike for the Augusta National committee. They really are a bunch of racist/sexist old farts who are stuck in their ways. I understand they’ve softened in the last decade but there still plenty of the old guard still floating about. Just my opinion of course.  

I hate the elitism they've built and I'm amazed folk think that's what makes them cool. Oh wow a course that lets naecunt in to watch and naecunt in to play, what a place. That said, I am absolutely buzzing for it.

I managed to get out and play 14 holes at my course on Monday and I'm delighted with how my game was. Something seems to have clicked with my short game, I felt I was banging my head against the wall the last two years but I only duffed one and that was because I never committed. Putting is still absolute dog shite but we'll get there. 

11 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

I hate the elitism they've built and I'm amazed folk think that's what makes them cool. Oh wow a course that lets naecunt in to watch and naecunt in to play, what a place. That said, I am absolutely buzzing for it.

I managed to get out and play 14 holes at my course on Monday and I'm delighted with how my game was. Something seems to have clicked with my short game, I felt I was banging my head against the wall the last two years but I only duffed one and that was because I never committed. Putting is still absolute dog shite but we'll get there. 

Aye they pretty much have the final say on everything including how much coverage is shown. Then there’s the nonsense like no cameras, no running and calling the fans “patrons”. Get in the bin 

1 minute ago, The Moonster said:

No running :lol:

Apparantly if you are caught running you are chucked out instantly,

But don’t worry, at least the sandwiches are only 2 dollars 

Tommy Fleetwoods caddy Finno unable to make it due to chest infection so Tommy will have a local caddie on his bag this week.Finno also missed the Valero last week because of the same illness 

24 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

They also don't let you near the place out with the Masters.Theres a shop in town with the stuff that doesn't get bought during Masters week to add to the $70 mill that gets spent there during the Masters .The security don't even let you take a picture down Magnolia Lane theres no stopping signs everywhere and even the shops close by if you try and park there all the signs say "no parking unless it's for the shops etc" It has it's own private security and they are zealous about stopping folk 

24 minutes ago, doulikefish said:

They also don't let you near the place out with the Masters.Theres a shop in town with the stuff that doesn't get bought during Masters week to add to the $70 mill that gets spent there during the Masters .The security don't even let you take a picture down Magnolia Lane theres no stopping signs everywhere and even the shops close by if you try and park there all the signs say "no parking unless it's for the shops etc" It has it's own private security and they are zealous about stopping folk 

Yeah, this is a golf course not Area 51. Bunch of wanks.

31 minutes ago, doulikefish said:

Did I not read that the town of Augusta in general is a bit of a shit hole?

Just now, lichtie23 said:

Did I not read that the town of Augusta in general is a bit of a shit hole?

It is ,the actual course is about 20 mins outside of town,on the bright side because of the security and the town being a dump I ended up discovering Savannah as I was on a road trip from New Orleans to Orlando via Atalanta so apart from the cities I was just staying in random towns for overnighters but Savannah was tremendous ended up 3 days there during a German beer festival that they have every year

1 hour ago, lichtie23 said:

Aye they pretty much have the final say on everything including how much coverage is shown. Then there’s the nonsense like no cameras, no running and calling the fans “patrons”. Get in the bin 

I dislike the political views most of these auld duffers have, but i like the no cameras rule, i go to a lot of concerts and stuff and really dislike the phones out all the time, in America going to concerts and sporting events is a very trying experience, they simply cannot behave like normal people, so maybe they feel the need to go to this extreme. Im all for the no running and no cameras. 

51 minutes ago, doulikefish said:

It is ,the actual course is about 20 mins outside of town,on the bright side because of the security and the town being a dump I ended up discovering Savannah as I was on a road trip from New Orleans to Orlando via Atalanta so apart from the cities I was just staying in random towns for overnighters but Savannah was tremendous ended up 3 days there during a German beer festival that they have every year

Was going to say my wife and I were talking about doing a couple of trips over the years we both turn 40, she wants to go back to Alaska and I mentioned Augusta etc she really fancies going, if i could tie it in with a game at Tobacco road and maybe pinehurst i totally would but id try and stay maybe an hour or two outside of Augusta because ive heard its pretty shitty. How did you like Savannah? 

Just now, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

I dislike the political views most of these auld duffers have, but i like the no cameras rule, i go to a lot of concerts and stuff and really dislike the phones out all the time, in America going to concerts and sporting events is a very trying experience, they simply cannot behave like normal people, so maybe they feel the need to go to this extreme. Im all for the no running and no cameras. 

Was going to say my wife and I were talking about doing a couple of trips over the years we both turn 40, she wants to go back to Alaska and I mentioned Augusta etc she really fancies going, if i could tie it in with a game at Tobacco road and maybe pinehurst i totally would but id try and stay maybe an hour or two outside of Augusta because ive heard its pretty shitty. How did you like Savannah? 

Brilliant wee city highly recommend it .Harbour Town  isn't that far away from there ( next event after the masters,) if you fancy a round there and also Sawgrass