Things you want to share with P&B

Ad Lib

1 hour ago, DA Baracus said:

That's called 'Headers and volleys'.

It not, irt s some Malayan sport that is also played here. 4 a team on a badminton size court. Some amazing skills to keep it on game.

Give them a football, no,no.

Give a pro foitballer their we wooden/plastic ball again, nono.

58 minutes ago, Newbornbairn said:

Surviving a Methil childhood wasn't easy. We had a game called "chuck ma heid".  A length of washing line was tied around your head whilst a brick was tied to the other. You had to walk along a 20ft high brick wall while your mates threw the brick over in an attempt to either detach your head or make you fall off. 

Is that not the final testing phase for the Fife Centre Half Factory?

Respect for surviving that!

1 hour ago, btb said:

Mary Poppins is now rated PG due to discriminatory language, namely the term Hottentot  which is used twice in the fillum.

Edit 

Had to Google the slur, and then had to Google the proper word for which the slur represented. Every day is a school day.

1 minute ago, mathematics said:

Had to Google the slur, and then had to Google the proper word for which the slur represented. Every day is a school day.

You'll be top of the class in P&b quiz league with googling like that.

On the different sports trend, Kabaddi…kinda like violent tag. Wandered into the butcher and they’re watching it on ESPN. Yea, it’s interesting, but it made me think back to the “Ocho” references in Dodgeball.

Edited by TxRover

3 hours ago, Newbornbairn said:

Surviving a Methil childhood wasn't easy. We had a game called "chuck ma heid".  A length of washing line was tied around your head whilst a brick was tied to the other. You had to walk along a 20ft high brick wall while your mates threw the brick over in an attempt to either detach your head or make you fall off. 

whit.gif.47cd49132506698f74de14ec9525ade3.gif

47 minutes ago, TxRover said:

On the different sports trend, Kabaddi…kinda like violent tag. Wandered into the butcher and they’re watching it on ESPn. Yea, it’s interesting, but it made me think back to the “Ocho” references in Dodgeball.

I remember kabaddi on Channel 4 decades ago, played on dusty courts in bare feet. Looked it up on YouTube when they added it to Flashscore, to discover they've Barry Hearned the shite out of it.

4 hours ago, Newbornbairn said:

Did anyone else get a turn of being tied to the brick or did the rules insist it was always you?

4 hours ago, Newbornbairn said:

Mike Tyson training for a Methil childhood. 

3 hours ago, btb said:

Mary Poppins is now rated PG due to discriminatory language, namely the term Hottentot  which is used twice in the fillum.

Edit 

I could imagine a wean googling 'hottentot connotations of savagery' coming in just after 'can penguins really dance' and 'what accent does the sweep have'.

2 hours ago, tamthebam said:

Tom Hendrie got the nickname "Dusty" when he played for Meadowbank because he'd appeared on 3-2-1. 

The same Tom Hendrie who went on to manage Cowden? And was a bit of a loose cannon to put it mildly?

33 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

The same Tom Hendrie who went on to manage Cowden? And was a bit of a loose cannon to put it mildly?

Berwick, Alloa and St Mirren for Tom Hendrie. 

You must be thinking of a different loose cannon Cowdenbeath manager (perm 1 from about 20)

4 hours ago, tamthebam said:

Tom Hendrie got the nickname "Dusty" when he played for Meadowbank because he'd appeared on 3-2-1. 

Not only appeared, but won it. But his real claim to fame was that one of the guest stars on the show was BOB CAROLGEES with SPIT THE DOG, then regulars on TISWAS.