Unpopular opinions.

9 hours ago, ICTChris said:

Saughton Park in Edinburgh has been repeatedly vandalised since it was refurbished, bins and play equipment set on fire and a couple of months ago windows on the botanical gardens were smashed. The pork was previously rundown and has been restored in recent years. The historic bandstand was taken into storage in the 80s after being extensively vandalised. I’ve had to move broken glass, discarded cans and on one occasion a knife from the kids play park when I’ve been there with my son. Litter is endemic in less salubrious parts of Edinburgh. In our old house I used to take my boy to Hailes Quarry park and it was frequently strewn with rubbish. 

I’m sure there are a myriad of reasons behind this.  The idea of taking violent redress is appealing on a base level.  I often wonder why people do these things or more pertinently why some people don’t do them.

Me and my mates weren't really neds being lower middle class boys but we got up to the odd bit of daftness.

Thing is, smashing up a play park would have been seen as "Shan" in the unwritten moral code we had. So that's why we didn't do it.

I once smashed up the windows of a portakabin in my youth then hid in the bushes when while  the police threatened to set an alsation on me. I'm not proud of this but it does go to show it takes minimal effort to evade the long arm of the law.

The Netflix docuseries format is tedious as f**k. They take pretty much any subject and stretch it out to at least four times the length the material can support.

Seriously, they could make a series about Liz Hurley's first porn shoot and you'd nod off before any skin was shown.

17 minutes ago, BFTD said:

The Netflix docuseries format is tedious as f**k. They take pretty much any subject and stretch it out to at least four times the length the material can support.

Seriously, they could make a series about Liz Hurley's first porn shoot and you'd nod off before any skin was shown.

Netflix is quite bad in general and relies more on everyone having it and hence being the watercooler service rather than actually offering generally great programming. Lost count of the amount of must see shite I've been recommended aff there.

3 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

Netflix is quite bad in general and relies more on everyone having it and hence being the watercooler service rather than actually offering generally great programming. Lost count of the amount of must see shite I've been recommended aff there.

I re-subscribed recently so the wean could watch Always Sunny, which seems to be quite hard/expensive to get on DVD. I've been disappointed to discover that their selection is, if anything, worse than when I cancelled.

The quality of these services is likely to get worse too. In America, I see some of them have started charging extra for things that people actually want to see.

1 minute ago, 19QOS19 said:

Netflix is great you couple of curmudgeons.

It certainly seems to inspire Apple-like loyalty from some of its users.

It's as good as its content; I rarely find anything I'm interested in, and if I'm after something specific, there's a 99% chance they won't have it. YMMV.

7 minutes ago, BFTD said:

I re-subscribed recently so the wean could watch Always Sunny, which seems to be quite hard/expensive to get on DVD. I've been disappointed to discover that their selection is, if anything, worse than when I cancelled.

The quality of these services is likely to get worse too. In America, I see some of them have started charging extra for things that people actually want to see.

Amazon do this here too

Just now, Todd_is_God said:

Amazon do this here too

Aye, with new films and suchlike - I was meaning that they've started putting old TV shows into separate tiers that you need to pay extra for. So they'll likely all end up moving to a model where you pay the basic fee for shite nobody wants, an extra tenner to be able to see Frasier for a month, an extra fiver for David Fincher's films, etc.

Amazon are shite too, but still better than when they started - brilliant for awful VHS rips of black & white films, or amateur films made in somebody's shed  :lol:

If you ever find a reliable place that sells them all on DVD PM me please. I've only been able to find a few seasons. I did find one website that had the lot but it was a ridiculously good price so I did a website check and it unsurprisingly turned out to be a dodgy site.
It certainly seems to inspire Apple-like loyalty from some of its users.
It's as good as its content; I rarely find anything I'm interested in, and if I'm after something specific, there's a 99% chance they won't have it. YMMV.
I'm definitely a fanboy (though please don't put me in with the Apple sheep) but I've never been stuck for something to watch. I am a heavy re-watcher though and can go through my favourite sitcoms from start to finish several times a year. My only gripe with Netflix is not being able to see their full catalogue. I've seen myself type something in and they have it but it's not on any of the scroll menus.

IIRC, they stopped releasing Always Sunny on DVD here after a while - you can get the first ten seasons or so, but that's it. I think they've all been released in America, and they even started releasing some of them on Blu-Ray, but then gave up.

It's more lucrative to go straight to streaming now. A lot of folk will only ever watch shows once anyway, so a physical purchase is overkill. I miss the extras, commentaries, and all that jazz, but studios have been cutting back on that shit pretty much since Blu-Ray came out, so the only incentive to buy now is often just the knowledge that you don't need to worry about it disappearing from the streaming services.

Netflix originals are broadly bad and the stuff that goes viral is usually pretty poor. I will give them credit for Evangelion though, it was cool that that was even brought over and redubbed. And the Ghibli stuff. I think it's just that Netflix has stuff that's fine but all the best stuff I've watched this year has been on Amazon or Sky. 

Plus Amazon has Justified. If Netlix had more content with Walton Goggins then maybe my opinion would change.

Edited by NotThePars

2 hours ago, BFTD said:

You've became a right miserable c**t of late. Hope you're ok x

5 minutes ago, Bert Raccoon said:

You've became a right miserable c**t of late. Hope you're ok x

You should try it, it's more fun.

Just now, Bert Raccoon said:

Anyway, the Dodgems are shite 

There you go!

10 hours ago, NotThePars said:

Netflix originals are broadly bad and the stuff that goes viral is usually pretty poor. I will give them credit for Evangelion though, it was cool that that was even brought over and redubbed. And the Ghibli stuff. I think it's just that Netflix has stuff that's fine but all the best stuff I've watched this year has been on Amazon or Sky. 

Plus Amazon has Justified. If Netlix had more content with Walton Goggins then maybe my opinion would change.

Aye NowTV blows netflix out the water on both tv and films imo, bit dearer though