Unpopular opinions.

1 minute ago, Day of the Lords said:

You're doing an absolutely stand up job of convincing everyone you have "no interest" in women's football 😂

I don't get into a frothing mess over women's football, mainly because I am capable of accessing a webpage and clicking on the stories I want to read. Seemingly this is beyond you. I appreciate one must make allowances for junior thickos, but christ it really isn't that difficult. 

You didn’t read my initial point due to your desire to white knight. I was reading a transfer thread on the app which I assumed was about premiership clubs but most were on women’s football. I’d have been annoyed about it if it was filled with League 1 or 2 clubs.

44 minutes ago, BFTD said:

Genuinely delighted to see so many younger posters who refuse to slap on a three-piece cage just for a job. Hopefully it'll go the way of the dodo as a result.

Or a new generation of scabs will screw you all over, but let's try not to think about that.

They’re still trying to enforce wearing ‘shoes’ (as in some type of ‘traditional’ sort of shoe) in my work. I’ve been wearing trainers in the office since before the pandemic and, now that I have to be in 2 days a week, still wear trainers in the office. We’re supposed to wear a shirt too. I’ve been wearing polo shirts for years. I just don’t get the thinking of some folk. My work isn’t selling shit and we don’t have ‘customers’ in the traditional sense.

I mind when working in Spar a new supervisor came in and was a total moron, the type who tried to make silly rules to show who was boss but ended up driving folk away. I wore (black) trainers as I was on my feet all the time during shifts. When this idiot arrived he insisted I wore ‘formal’ shoes. I refused. I quit shortly after because he was being a knob. He said I needed to clock out on time. Sometimes I was a few minutes over due to finishing putting some stock out or speaking with a customer etc. He said that just meant I wasn’t working hard enough to finish what I was doing in the time needed. I pulled a sickie and claimed my train was cancelled due to ice. He asked me for the ‘train number’ (the fucking what?!) and claimed he was going to phone Scotrail (aye phone, and not just jump online to check the website or Twitter; this was in 2011). I didn’t bother going back in. Heard every other staff member quit within a month due to this tosser. Who has ever refused to shop somewhere because a worker didn’t wear the ‘right kind’ of shoes?! I’ve worked in Sainsburys, Iceland and Asda (Asda for one day!) and they were fine with you wearing trainers (as long as they were black). Same with Pizza Hut. And Dobbies.

The worst was the Bank of Scotland call centre. They insisted on shirts, ‘formal’ trousers and ‘formal’ shoes, even though it was a fucking call centre and the customers couldn’t see you. A total nonsense. Despised that job more than any other. Sadly worked in a few other call centres (three more) and they were all fine with you wearing what you want. Hated them all mind. Call centres are the worst sort of job. Last one I worked at was in 2008/09. Quit that one because I was 10 minutes late to a shift due to heavy snow. The trains and buses were all off so I walked 2 hours in the snow. Hardly anyone else had made an effort to turn up. They had a go at me for being late. I realised what an absolute mug I was so promptly turned around and left and never spoke to them again.

Phew! Ranting over (for now).

42 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

Nice wee story and good for you and the young women. The quality is still poor however.

You could just not watch it/read about it?

Edited by DA Baracus

4 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

I was reading a transfer thread on the app which I assumed was about premiership clubs but most were on women’s football. I’d have been annoyed about it if it was filled with League 1 or 2 clubs.

So you have poor reading comprehension and jump to conclusions so it's women's football's fault?

21 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

And your point is? The quality is light years ahead of women’s football even at Tier 6. Fact.

I think you need to check the definitions of fact and opinion. 

21 minutes ago, BFTD said:

Genuinely delighted to see so many younger posters who refuse to slap on a three-piece cage just for a job. Hopefully it'll go the way of the dodo as a result.

Or a new generation of scabs will screw you all over, but let's try not to think about that.

Thanks for that but actually I am not so young anymore.

I recall my parents insisting I get a new suit for going on a business trip to Houston, which was later cancelled.  When I eventually went to Houston I realised it would always be too hot to wear a suit.

I get amused with old episodes of Hawaii Five O where they all wear suits at all times of year.  Must have been unbearable.

3 hours ago, Mr. Alli said:

I'll never wear a suit to an interview much in the same way I'll never wear one to court. 

The world has moved on since such archaic nonsense. Judge people on their personalities and their actions, not their appearance.

Irrelevant to anything but greenie for your pic. 

34 minutes ago, Empty It said:

Suits are for court and funerals.

I'll wear formal trousers, formal shoes and a black knit jumper to a funeral.

Weddings I'll wear a suit. I won't wear a kilt get up - try to make it compulsory, you can ram your wedding.

14 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said:

This might be an unpopular opinion, but the quality of football is not dictated by the gender of the players.

Tied to this, but how entertaining a game of football is isn’t necessarily tied to the quality of player on display either.

Or the gender of the players, obviously. 

I much prefer a game with plenty of defensive mistakes from both sides and big boots up the park playing for percentages opposed to a team aiming to keep 90% of the possession and play the 'beautiful game'.

On 07/07/2022 at 11:40, jimbaxters said:

Scrolling the transfer news on BBC Sport app to find 70% of the posts are about women's football. Aye, I know they're a public service broadcasting company (when it suits them) but I have no interest in it yet have to endure it been inextricably amalgamated with the football I want to read about.

How it started ^^^

Aaaaaaand How it's going: 

On 07/07/2022 at 11:42, jimbaxters said:

Further to my post on PTTGOYN, women's football is awful and has no place on mainstream TV or media.

31 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

And your point is? The quality is light years ahead of women’s football even at Tier 6. Fact.

30 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

Nice wee story and good for you and the young women. The quality is still poor however.

17 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

You didn’t read my initial point due to your desire to white knight. I was reading a transfer thread on the app which I assumed was about premiership clubs but most were on women’s football. I’d have been annoyed about it if it was filled with League 1 or 2 clubs.

16 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

Correct but in this case, coincidentally the gulf is huge.

Yup, definitely NOT interested AT ALL. 

Re: the shoe thing, when my son started at high school, I was pleased to discover that they couldn't have given less of a shit about footwear.

I was a size 14 shoe by the time I was fourteen - for anyone unaware, if your feet are above a size 12, you can't shop for shoes in the high street. They literally don't sell them. Back when I was at school, that meant a trip into London from Kent to a specialist shoe shop, as you didn't have the blessed option of the internet back then. On one occasion, I got bawled out in public by one of the teachers for wearing black trainers for a day because the sole had started coming off my dress shoes. The c**t then had the headmaster give me the same treatment during assembly, despite being made aware of the situation.

Thinking about it, I really didn't take advantage of being a boy in a man's body. The punishment for sticking the heid on the pair of them would've been virtually non-existent.

It was bad enough first time round without you repeating it.
You can enjoy women's football for its own sake and on its own terms.  Plus with Rangers, Celtic and G City being professional teams and with Hibs and Hearts going semi-pro from this season we now have opportunities for young lassies to aim for a career in sport.  This is a good thing. 
As a little example...Broughton Academy in Embra is - delightfully - an SFA Performance School.  Here's a photo of this year's 'graduates'.  Only one of them has a league-winning medal for playing for their team at the highest level in Scottish Football:
1076377401_broughtonperformance.thumb.jpeg.cf1b14b93f1d91dbee9bc5950c3d9423.jpeg

I taught there many moons ago

9 minutes ago, oneteaminglasgow said:

Tied to this, but how entertaining a game of football is isn’t necessarily tied to the quality of player on display either.

Or the gender of the players, obviously. 

Most of the games at World Cups and European Championships are gash, and tend to get worse as the tournament continues and the poorer teams are eliminated.

8 minutes ago, Ludo*1 said:

I much prefer a game with plenty of defensive mistakes from both sides and big boots up the park playing for percentages opposed to a team aiming to keep 90% of the possession and play the 'beautiful game'.

As satisfying as a well-timed tackle is, I'd trade that for clownshoes defending and plenty of attacking chances. Most of the time, at least.

Make defenders sink a few pints before each game again.

2 minutes ago, coprolite said:

Bunch of scruffs on this thread. The country started going to the dogs when the banks let people come in with a single windsor knot in their tie and plastic buttons on their cuffs. 

They won't even let you in a cinema these days if you are wearing a suit, shirt and tie.