The Falkirk FC Thread

Kerr, Baird, Miller and Hippo.
I like Taiwo but I think his injury record over the last few years has me questioning his worth. 
Kidd, Austin, Luca, Craigen, Rankin, boy they have improved us this season
I think it speaks volumes that we are nearly in February and player of the season is well up for grabs. 

Just picking they 4 is incredibly harsh imo. Yes his signings have been very hit and miss (I'd say probably more miss tbh) but he's had more than 4 successful signings. Taiwo had more than proved his worth after a difficult start, and the likes of Bob McHugh, Aaron Muirhead and Paul Watson all proved their worth last season. And no mention of Danny Rogers?

His signings this season have been dogshite though and there's no getting away from that. He had a couple of poor signings last season Kevin McCann and Ryan Sinnamon but both would've been fairly cheap back ups I would have imagined. Look at some of the utter shite we signed when he first came in though Jamie Macdonald (even cup final aside he was gash), Owain Tudor Jones, Alan Maybury, Alex Cooper, David Smith, Taylor Morgan and worst of all Rory Boulding. Horrific.

As for our PotY so far for me it's Hippolyte and by quite a distance. The only other players who would even deserve to be in the discussion would be Sibbald, Taiwo, Rogers and possibly Miller imo.

I watched StMirren grow as a team over 90 mins against us, and seen their potential. They are improving all the time. I'm glad we played them when we did because they could well have beaten us if they had time to gel a bit more. 

Ffc will have their hands full with this one I think. 

DU will be in this league again next season. Their bang average and are nowhere near as good as the Hibs team we beat to second place last season. Ross County gave them a doing as they did us last season and that proved to be a warning for the playoffs game against killie. Whether they invest or not next season isn't the problem as far as I see it. It's the fact that they are in the league gives our clueless directors another chance to use them as an excuse not to invest on promotion. 

I don't think it is as much clueless merely it doesn't really matter one way or another. For that reason they should do the honourable thing and move on and let people come in with the drive and passion to deliver what most of the supporters want. By all means if one or two still want to hang around do so but FFS I just wish the rest would move on.

I spoke to our former MD when he left. He made many many mistakes but he was right on one thing. In his view The owners are quite happy for us to be a Dumbarton.

1 hour ago, The Grass Is Greener. said:

Bit harsh on Dumbarton tbh, they are striving to be the best they can be and are the top part-time team in the country. Same can't be said for Falkirk.

Or Hibs for that matter. With the crowds you guys are getting you should be top 4 or 5 in the top flight.

Edited by Shadwell Dog

10 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Or Hibs for that matter. With the crowds you guys are getting you should be top 4 or 5 in the top flight.

It's not the same though is it, at least there is a genuine effort to improve things at ER. There is ambition to win this league and win trophies, that was my point. When we came down the club were too happy to just survive in the Prem, that came back to bite us on the arse. The same can't be said now.

Bravo to Hibs.

I don't think it is as much clueless merely it doesn't really matter one way or another. For that reason they should do the honourable thing and move on and let people come in with the drive and passion to deliver what most of the supporters want. By all means if one or two still want to hang around do so but FFS I just wish the rest would move on.

I spoke to our former MD when he left. He made many many mistakes but he was right on one thing. In his view The owners are quite happy for us to be a Dumbarton.

Can't be a Dumbarton if you can only fund 2 signings compared to our 6.

Bit harsh on Dumbarton tbh, they are striving to be the best they can be and are the top part-time team in the country. Same can't be said for Falkirk.

Your first bit is clearly looking for a bite but you are spot on with our lack of ambition

14 hours ago, bairnabeau said:

There's little point in the BoD throwing money at this season though.....

Personally, I'd like a bit of clarity as to what the board are up to. If, as I suspect they are, saving up for next season providing United and Hibs leave then say so; they have the Season Ticket money from this season, and with a statement as such would for next season likely garner a similar volume as this season?

Was this not the same patter last season ? There is no reason that I know of why we couldn't have gave it a good go this season without sevco. We clearly competed with hibs last year and are now nowhere near them despite my opinion that I don't think they are as good as last season yet they have still produced the goods to be top of the table and more than likely nailed on to win the league.

Just now, Believe The Hype said:

Was this not the same patter last season ? There is no reason that I know of why we couldn't have gave it a good go this season without sevco. We clearly competed with hibs last year and are now nowhere near them despite my opinion that I don't think they are as good as last season yet they have still produced the goods to be top of the table and more than likely nailed on to win the league.

Agree exactly Believe the hype. If we'd kept Vaulks and made a couple of decent signings we'd at worst have come 2nd again and would be pushing Hibs all the way for the title as I agree they arent as good a footballing side as last season and DU are no great shakes and certainly nowhere near the sevco side we beat twice. There is no reason we couldnt have been far more competitive without busting the bank to do it.

We are "having a good go" this season - we will easily have the third biggest budget in the league and will make an even bigger loss than we did last season. We have two first team players for every position in the team. Houston wasting the budget on mid-lower Championship dross like Craigen, Gasparotto, Kidd, Thomson and Rankin is not a lack of ambition from the board. Signing midcard talent from Raith, Morton and Queens is going to turn you into a team on a par with Raith, Morton and Queens.

The sole blame for the way this season is panning out is on Houston and his complete failure to give us a midfield which can compete and drive us on to wins. The key difference for us since we came down has been whether we've had a quality energetic player or two in the centre of the park.  Say what you want about the quality of football in the Championship but the midfield is a dog fight and you need players who can go box to box and throw themselves into tackles as well as lifting the tempo. I keep coming back to it but signing a plodding Rankin was mental. Mark Millar when he wasn't obese or Vaulks last season made us better teams. Alston took years to get it right but his delivery from corners last season made a big difference as well. Sign a specialist to do that, look at Forbes at Morton.

We cannot pump in more money when we are making a loss every year as it is, particularly this January with this shambles of a season. We need to spend what we have more wisely. A substitute keeper getting signed to take up a wage just because he has an FK postcode about sums up how well we've spent this season.

3 hours ago, Shadwell Dog said:

I agree Marsh but if the bod don't actually act and change the manager then they have to take some of the blame if we continue to struggle.

Jesus, you do know we won today. You are a miserable c**t at times. 

Aye, we've been pish and it's horrible, but enjoy it when we win and played well. 

Better performance today, good to see Leahy back at LB, thought the team had a more familiar look and seemed to have a wee bit more fight and spirit about them.

Nice touch by Loy, never really celebrated his goal, came over and applauded the Falkirk fans and gave each of our players a good friendly hug at the final whistle

Would have been a nice addition to our squad for the run in but not to be.

Fair play to Houston after last week's demise, was man enough to reinstate the players that were frozen out last week