The Falkirk FC Thread

Posted (edited)
16 minutes ago, JS_FFC said:

If we were to go up either this coming season or next season, we'd either need to install a grass pitch for season 2 if we weren't relegated straight back down in the former case, or straight away in the latter case.

How much does that mean the club have fluttered away on three years of the new pitch?

Not to mention the costs of ripping up the pitch and laying a grass one.

Would the financial benefits of being in the Premiership even cover the cost of this?

Or we call their bluff, get promoted and do nothing at all by season 3. Could they vote to expel us (?) if that’s even possible.

Edited by GunnerBairn

6 minutes ago, GunnerBairn said:

Or we call their bluff, get promoted and do nothing at all by season 3. Could they vote to expel us (?) if that’s even possible.

I'm not sure we really want to go down the route of having all of home games postponed because we failed to provide a legal playing surface. The rule is ridiculous but I don't think they are bluffing.

Posted (edited)

We will have no option but to suck it up. Let’s not forget all the Scottish clubs had a once in a lifetime opportunity to break the duopoly when Rangers liquidated and we along with a few others shat it and took the short term dollar. 
We will sadly just have to get on with it. 

Edited by BPM

1 hour ago, BPM said:

We will have no option but to suck it up. ...

Aye. Will be interesting if passed and implemented what recourse will be if the UEFA pitch specialists they are apparently engaging fail to improve surfaces in the winter months. 

Livingston, Raith et al will hopefully be seeking damages if their park is playable and someone else's isn't seeing as they should all be the same!

1 hour ago, BPM said:

We will have no option but to suck it up. Let’s not forget all the Scottish clubs had a once in a lifetime opportunity to break the duopoly when Rangers liquidated and we along with a few others shat it and took the short term dollar. 
We will sadly just have to get on with it. 

The vote for this is 9-3 anyway isn’t it? So in theory the other clubs could vote this down (but won’t).

45 minutes ago, Blame Me said:

Aye. Will be interesting if passed and implemented what recourse will be if the UEFA pitch specialists they are apparently engaging fail to improve surfaces in the winter months. 

Livingston, Raith et al will hopefully be seeking damages if their park is playable and someone else's isn't seeing as they should all be the same!

This problem has come about because of clubs installing inferior synthetic surfaces. Livingston and Kilmarnock specifically. The irony will be Kilmarnock will vote to kick them out after installing a disgraceful pitch and being front and centre of causing this. 

1 hour ago, Hughsie said:

The vote for this is 9-3 anyway isn’t it? So in theory the other clubs could vote this down (but won’t).

With the vote there should be an obligation to assist clubs ,who will be financially damaged by this vote, install a pitch that meets standards. Perhaps a grant for replacement?

From the Lancet.

The overall incidence of football injuries is lower on artificial turf than on grass. Based on these findings, the risk of injury can't be used as an argument against artificial turf when considering the optimal playing surface for football.

9 minutes ago, Springfield said:

This vote is only going one way. If we want top flight football within two seasons, a grass pitch will be required. 

Two years down the line our pitch will have deteriorated but not to the level of requiring replacement.

Yet another boot in the nuts from the buffoons who run our game.

When we do install a grass pitch let’s do it properly with adequate undersoil heating and a groundsman who is up to the job.

There are so many other community benefits for our current artificial pitch, that’ll be ripped away when we need to replace for a grass surface.

Does anyone know how much revenue we generate with pitch leases / ground sharing with the shire? Surely this will have a negative impact to our model going forward.

4 minutes ago, Bairns1994 said:

There are so many other community benefits for our current artificial pitch, that’ll be ripped away when we need to replace for a grass surface.

Does anyone know how much revenue we generate with pitch leases / ground sharing with the shire? Surely this will have a negative impact to our model going forward.

The artificial pitch has also allowed us to host gigs, which I assume wouldn’t be possible with grass. 

This is Scottish football all over though. Clubs are struggling financially so let’s implement a rule, which will affect some clubs generating extra income

11 minutes ago, Reggie Perrin said:

Two years down the line our pitch will have deteriorated but not to the level of requiring replacement.

Yet another boot in the nuts from the buffoons who run our game.

When we do install a grass pitch let’s do it properly with adequate undersoil heating and a groundsman who is up to the job.

Couldn’t agree more. After the brilliant past few weeks, looks like the club will need to find another option of funding. 

59 minutes ago, Bigbrbairn said:

From the Lancet.

The overall incidence of football injuries is lower on artificial turf than on grass. Based on these findings, the risk of injury can't be used as an argument against artificial turf when considering the optimal playing surface for football.

For future reference, can you give us the, er, reference?

Well done for finding that. It’s neither reasonable nor proportionate to ban artificial pitches. I’m all for high standards but without a solid argument, it can only be seen as protectionism. Fcking fk these people. 

I mean, it doesn’t make Scottish football better. If Dundee had a good artificial pitch like ours, none of that silliness would have happened. Money is tight as fk and the weather is getting wilder. I get some of the dewy-eyed pish about playing on quagmires in the 70s but football has changed greatly since then. 

16 minutes ago, StuartA said:

Well done for finding that. It’s neither reasonable nor proportionate to ban artificial pitches. I’m all for high standards but without a solid argument, it can only be seen as protectionism. Fcking fk these people. 

The problem is not artificial surfaces it is really bad ones. Why couldn’t the SPFL do a deal with a manufacturer that is best of class, bring down the unit cost and probably make something centrally too? 
The pitches at Airdire, Palmerston and ours are superb. Compare those to Jan/Feb/March early April grass pitches like Dundee, Dingwall, Perth and even Parkhead and they are miles better