The Falkirk FC Thread

1 minute ago, AL-FFC said:

We had been after him for a while i remember that much we had approached him twice and i remember him knocking us back if i mind right he was scoring for fun at Airdrie and there were a few clubs chasing him over the years, i couldnt remember the right reason why he ended up leaving Airdrie i thought it was at that time they became Airdrie United but thinking back mind now did we not take on the bulk of that Airdrie team. 

We took a number of players from Airdieonians after they went bust and saved us from relegation in 2002. Allan Ferguson, Kevin James, Craig McPherson, Stuart Taylor, Owen Coyle and I'm pretty sure their manager Ian McCall.

That was a different Airdrie Utd from the one we signed Gow from in 2005.

3 minutes ago, AL-FFC said:

According to transfer market it was a free transfer

I wouldn't pay much attention to transfer market.

FFC wouldn't disclose the fee (they never do) but the press reports at the time had it as being around 50K. So the 60K quoted earlier by 60s Bairn is quite feasible.

Had a bit of admiration for Gow when he went off to play in India for a bit. Thought he played in Iran too but according to Wiki the negotiations didn't go through for whatever reason. Most UK players get freaked out playing in Italy and come home.

10 hours ago, Marshmallo said:

He says he bought season tickets too. After trying to rally folk into boycotting. What a sell out.

Yeah the backtracking over 30 quid when the boy Simon nailed him with screenshots is pretty good viewing. 

16 minutes ago, AL-FFC said:

Change of subject and a wee bit nostalgia but just found this on ebay few of those take me back:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2047675.m570.l1313.TR12.TRC2.A0.H0.Xpanini+falkirk.TRS0&_nkw=panini+falkirk&_sacat=0

image.png.71d751719a7f0f99c8aaed5d421343b4.pngimage.png.2b669c7dfda95d827e83f591cdd190a8.png

😂 classic!

Pretty sure it was 10p for a packet of stickers back then

27 minutes ago, AL-FFC said:

Change of subject and a wee bit nostalgia but just found this on ebay few of those take me back:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2047675.m570.l1313.TR12.TRC2.A0.H0.Xpanini+falkirk.TRS0&_nkw=panini+falkirk&_sacat=0

image.png.71d751719a7f0f99c8aaed5d421343b4.pngimage.png.2b669c7dfda95d827e83f591cdd190a8.png

3 minutes ago, AL-FFC said:

image.png.31d8650a5dc14f480c6542957a815907.pngimage.png.a2330ac8c8a9aa27083bd5261d94c1a4.pngimage.png.a3f27f66ff00560936ee63979269ad1d.pngimage.png.c3ddff1d2c89a41ae74400c63887f1cd.png

Same problem back then too, nae midfield!