The Falkirk FC Thread

26 minutes ago, MrDust said:

I hope you have a full bag of straws to clutch using Buchanan as an example, FFS he was about to drop to outside the league afore QoS came in.

You need a big bag of cash or be so out of game time at their club for them to come to the 3rd division. A possibility of good relationship between manager and player can help also but other than that it's a lottery of u20s on loan or journeymen that will come to the 3rd division.

McManus couldn't get a championship gig probably cause his record in the championship/wages , we come along with a big bag of cash and it's a done deal.

The recruitment could be better but it's not as easy as black or white and thanks for the Buchanan example, that's put a smile on my face for the day.

I think his point is that Buchanan's gash and still managed to find himself a championship club so there's not that big a jump between league one and the championship. Going up obviously gives you a bigger budget and also a bigger pull in terms of you're more likely to attract players to play with you in the championship. I think our recruitment under M&M has been gash on the whole but I'd love to see the players that turned us down last summer to play in the championship as I'd imagine there was a fair few. Holt's in there to improve the player recruitment so we can see what he comes up with this summer.

Neilson and Fotheringham for me so far have improved our team so that's 2/3 and we've not seen enough of Mclelland to make judgement yet. 

46 minutes ago, MrDust said:

I hope you have a full bag of straws to clutch using Buchanan as an example, FFS he was about to drop to outside the league afore QoS came in.

You need a big bag of cash or be so out of game time at their club for them to come to the 3rd division. A possibility of good relationship between manager and player can help also but other than that it's a lottery of u20s on loan or journeymen that will come to the 3rd division.

McManus couldn't get a championship gig probably cause his record in the championship/wages , we come along with a big bag of cash and it's a done deal.

The recruitment could be better but it's not as easy as black or white and thanks for the Buchanan example, that's put a smile on my face for the day.

The Buchanan example was simply to show the dross that championship clubs will sign. Telfer could easily have stayed in the championship as could Durnan. I'm sure someone would've picked up dixon mercer could again have stayed in the championship.  The boy Kelly again could've stayed at a higher level . Todd is now playing again in the championship somehow.  We weren't the only choice of these players no matter how pish some have been with us. They quite happily dropped to league one to get a few more quid in their pockets .

18 minutes ago, FFC 1876 said:

I think his point is that Buchanan's gash and still managed to find himself a championship club so there's not that big a jump between league one and the championship. Going up obviously gives you a bigger budget and also a bigger pull in terms of you're more likely to attract players to play with you in the championship. I think our recruitment under M&M has been gash on the whole but I'd love to see the players that turned us down last summer to play in the championship as I'd imagine there was a fair few. Holt's in there to improve the player recruitment so we can see what he comes up with this summer.

Neilson and Fotheringham for me so far have improved our team so that's 2/3 and we've not seen enough of Mclelland to make judgement yet. 

Fotheringham has done very little and wouldn't be playing if Connolly was fit. Doesn't look ready if you ask me. Much rather have seen us sign tiffoney from livi instead of Partick. He would've made a real difference.

3 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Fotheringham has done very little and wouldn't be playing if Connolly was fit. Doesn't look ready if you ask me. Much rather have seen us sign tiffoney from livi instead of Partick. He would've made a real difference.

Could be the signing that wins Partick the league. Miller and Holt can’t have possibly known about him though, oh no 

Fotheringham has improved the team but Tiffoney would've improved us even more. Fotheringham may well go on to have the better career but for this season Tiffoney would've been a better addition. Given he was at Livi I'd have thought we would have an inside track.

36 minutes ago, CC52 FFC said:

How does these play-off’s work again? 

Am I correct in thinking it’s 2nd V 3rd and 4th V 2nd bottom of the championship and then the final? 

I don't even want to start thinking about them. 6 games to make sure we don't need to bother about them. Hoping for a draw or a Montrose win in the game tonight then we need to beat Cove on Saturday.

Edited by FFC 1876

3 minutes ago, FFC 1876 said:

I don't even want to start thinking about them. 6 games to make sure we don't need to bother about them. Hoping for a draw or a Montrose win in the game tonight then we need to beat Cove on Saturday.

Me neither. I think a Montrose result tonight could change the mood a bit so long as we get a result on Saturday. 

42 minutes ago, CC52 FFC said:

How does these play-off’s work again? 

Am I correct in thinking it’s 2nd V 3rd and 4th V 2nd bottom of the championship and then the final? 

I thought it was 9th in championship v 4th and 2nd  v 3rd. I seem to recall QoS playing Montrose then Raith one season.

1 hour ago, Shadwell Dog said:

The Buchanan example was simply to show the dross that championship clubs will sign. Telfer could easily have stayed in the championship as could Durnan. I'm sure someone would've picked up dixon mercer could again have stayed in the championship.  The boy Kelly again could've stayed at a higher level . Todd is now playing again in the championship somehow.  We weren't the only choice of these players no matter how pish some have been with us. They quite happily dropped to league one to get a few more quid in their pockets .

Leading with Buchanan is hilarious no matter how you try to escape it. A player even Morton fans were quick to slate, whilst a lot of our fans were suggesting he looked good against us for Morton yet forgetting how pish we were.

There is not one player in league one that's worth the admission fee on his own, the standard is woeful but I also don't think it's much better a step up. 

I think both us and Partick have pretty much taken to this point in the season to work out what our best starting 11s are.

They do look like they've improved but I'd still be confident we can match their results (along with Coves) over the next 6 matches to get over the line 

3 hours ago, Numbers_One_To_Eleven said:

A wee time out....

I’ve been trawling through some of our early 90s teams and we all know the big names of that era but there’s some names in there who played quite a bit but seem forgotten about. I was starting to go along to games at this point but my memories are of an early nature.

I know Scott Sloan was pacy but erratic but what about Paul Smith and Gary Lennox who both seemed to play quite a bit? Mr Consistency Tommy McQueen lost his place to a young Forbes Johnston. Paul Rutherford even came bit late 91/92!

Also, Alex Taylor....he seemed to lose his place after being such a regular and never got a look-in for the run-in of 91/92.

Any thoughts?(30 years after)

Quite unexpectedly, I met the father of Forbes Johnston a few years ago, and he told me about the trauma which his family went through regarding the death of his son. Won’t go in to all the details but what was interesting was how grateful he was to FFC for all the support afforded to him after his sons death. He was regularly invited and accepted invitations to join the directors at games. Bear in mind that Forbes had already left to join Dundee United and then emigrated to Australia, I think.
Good to hear a good story about our club.

22 minutes ago, MrDust said:

I thought it was 9th in championship v 4th and 2nd  v 3rd. I seem to recall QoS playing Montrose then Raith one season.

Leading with Buchanan is hilarious no matter how you try to escape it. A player even Morton fans were quick to slate, whilst a lot of our fans were suggesting he looked good against us for Morton yet forgetting how pish we were.

There is not one player in league one that's worth the admission fee on his own, the standard is woeful but I also don't think it's much better a step up. 

I never said he was any good I was simply pointing out that a lot of our players had options to play in the championship even the shite ones like Buchanan  but came to us instead.

I’d be majorly surprised if our player recruitment which has been ongoing since Holts arrival has anything meaningful to do with the current managers. 
I’m sure this will be under Holts JD and like the new developments and the appointment which will undoubtedly be down to Holt and the BOD.

Rumours a RB signed a pre-contract

14 minutes ago, NavyBlueArmy1876 said:

I think both us and Partick have pretty much taken to this point in the season to work out what our best starting 11s are.

They do look like they've improved but I'd still be confident we can match their results (along with Coves) over the next 6 matches to get over the line 

Reading about Partick on P&B have a good few suggesting McCall chop and changes game to game when there is no reason to.

We started the restart with 4-5-1(not buying 4-3-3) and our last game 4-4-2, god help us if we go 4-5-1 again on Saturday but that suggests neither have a clue to our best starting 11. Our last Saturday line up was not our best 11 for me, I doubt many will disagree

1 minute ago, MrDust said:

Reading about Partick on P&B have a good few suggesting McCall chop and changes game to game when there is no reason to.

We started the restart with 4-5-1(not buying 4-3-3) and our last game 4-4-2, god help us if we go 4-5-1 again on Saturday but that suggests neither have a clue to our best starting 11. Our last Saturday line up was not our best 11 for me, I doubt many will disagree

I reckon the two numpties are just making it up as they go along. They fancy a formation and try it for a few weeks even if it's a disaster. Only when the pressure really hits do they change it and even though it worked on Saturday there's no guarantee they won't change to something else.