Evil Neighbours Thread

14 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

Was that the shop next to the Queen's Hall that had an impressive display of blades in the window?

Our Scout troop were as tooled up as any Possil neds back in the day thanks to that shop

I know the one you mean, but no. I just remember, it was Simpsons, about where Los Argentinos steakhouse is (down from the cask and barrel). But the place you mention was amazing!

3 hours ago, Leith Green said:

I know the one you mean, but no. I just remember, it was Simpsons, about where Los Argentinos steakhouse is (down from the cask and barrel). But the place you mention was amazing!

That was Burnets the Cutlers.

Run by a rather feisty woman who once opined on the selling of lock knives "Ah'll stoap sellin' thum when the polis make thum illegal......."

• 8 months later...

Mother in Law (80) stays below an arsehole in a 4 in a block. They have shared areas of land and before he moved in the all bins were kept on a strip of land(his) nearest the gate and furthest from either doors and mot convenient for both houses. He seemed decent when he first moved in but he constructed a monstrosity of a set of steps to his front door that prevented the Mother in law accessing her front garden (she has limited mobility). He was forced to remove this and since then has become a complete arsehole. He has moved his bins to common ground which is in front of her door and moved her plant pots that were previously there. Whilst it doesn't sound like the most heinious of behaviour M in law is of nervous disposition and totally stressed by all this and it is really affecting her quality of life. Wife has been trying to deal with it as best she can but is getting nowhere with the p***k who doesn't seem to care about the stress he is causing. Any suggestions, without resorting to underhand tactics? For context arsehole is in his 30's with a wife (not approachable due to being treated as subservient by p***k)and 2 young kids.

6 hours ago, Joe Terrapin said:

Mother in Law (80) stays below an arsehole in a 4 in a block. They have shared areas of land and before he moved in the all bins were kept on a strip of land(his) nearest the gate and furthest from either doors and mot convenient for both houses. He seemed decent when he first moved in but he constructed a monstrosity of a set of steps to his front door that prevented the Mother in law accessing her front garden (she has limited mobility). He was forced to remove this and since then has become a complete arsehole. He has moved his bins to common ground which is in front of her door and moved her plant pots that were previously there. Whilst it doesn't sound like the most heinious of behaviour M in law is of nervous disposition and totally stressed by all this and it is really affecting her quality of life. Wife has been trying to deal with it as best she can but is getting nowhere with the p***k who doesn't seem to care about the stress he is causing. Any suggestions, without resorting to underhand tactics? For context arsehole is in his 30's with a wife (not approachable due to being treated as subservient by p***k)and 2 young kids.

You and three or four other lads go over to MiL’s for a little lunch Sunday. The four/five of you wander out and replace everything where it was. When said p***k steps out or says jack, explain in a quiet voice that this is the way the garden is and is how it will remain. Then explain that should things move, you and your mates will be back over to “discuss” it with him. Then remind him the “Protection from Abuse (Scotland) Act 2001” has defined abuse as including harassment and actions which give rise to fear, intimidation or distress. It would be a real shame if he were to face a magistrate over this behavior, as it seems very unlikely to be looked upon favorably. Bonus points if at least one of you is over 6’ 2” and 20+ stone, double bonus if one is an off duty polis.

3 hours ago, TxRover said:

You and three or four other lads go over to MiL’s for a little lunch Sunday. The four/five of you wander out and replace everything where it was. When said p***k steps out or says jack, explain in a quiet voice that this is the way the garden is and is how it will remain. Then explain that should things move, you and your mates will be back over to “discuss” it with him. Then remind him the “Protection from Abuse (Scotland) Act 2001” has defined abuse as including harassment and actions which give rise to fear, intimidation or distress. It would be a real shame if he were to face a magistrate over this behavior, as it seems very unlikely to be looked upon favorably. Bonus points if at least one of you is over 6’ 2” and 20+ stone, double bonus if one is an off duty polis.

I'm not sure citing a law about intimidation is a wise idea after you've taken 4 burly lads round to intimidate him. 

42 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

I'm not sure citing a law about intimidation is a wise idea after you've taken 4 burly lads round to intimidate him. 

And then leaving her alone with a likely raging, brooding and not necessarily rational neighbour.

5 hours ago, The Moonster said:

4 hours ago, welshbairn said:

And then leaving her alone with a likely raging, brooding and not necessarily rational neighbour.

Everything in the description screams bully. He’ll turn to other pursuits…the other option is literally involve the polis, which has the same trajectory.

3 minutes ago, TxRover said:

Everything in the description screams bully. He’ll turn to other pursuits…the other option is literally involve the polis, which has the same trajectory.

You can't really phone 999 about somebody moving your plant pots on common ground.

6 minutes ago, TxRover said:

I'm not saying this guy isn't an arsehole but the options are either go in there and threaten him with violence or go down the legal route. You can't knock his door and explain to him the law on intimidating neighbours whilst simultaneously waving a baseball bat at him. 

17 hours ago, Joe Terrapin said:

A jobby on the doorstep days more than words ever could.

2 hours ago, The Moonster said:

I'm not saying this guy isn't an arsehole but the options are either go in there and threaten him with violence or go down the legal route. You can't knock his door and explain to him the law on intimidating neighbours whilst simultaneously waving a baseball bat at him. 

Understand, but “explaining” it to him with a few mates and offering to “discuss” further isn’t likely to fall afoul of that statute, unlike his placement of the bins and such. On the whole, it’s a shitty situation with an arsehole.

19 hours ago, Joe Terrapin said:

Shitty situation for the auld one.  Maybe an initial conversation with a solicitor to see what the options are followed by a polite letter from him/her saying, "Be a  good neighbour and give the woman peace.  We should resolve this between us rather than take it further" is worth considering?

14 hours ago, TxRover said:

A pedant writes:

It would be a real shame if he was to face a Magistrate in regard to contravention of a Scots Law.

3 hours ago, TxRover said:

Understand, but “explaining” it to him with a few mates and offering to “discuss” further isn’t likely to fall afoul of that statute, unlike his placement of the bins and such. On the whole, it’s a shitty situation with an arsehole.

He is clearly a bit deranged and the elderly woman is of a nervous disposition. You are only going to exacerbate their already awkward relationship. 

5 hours ago, The Moonster said:

Why not? It's the only thing these morons understand.

13 minutes ago, Bigmouth Strikes Again said:

Why not? It's the only thing these morons understand.

By all means go and intimidate the guy, just dont inform him of the laws around intimidation while you do it. Not sure why that is difficult to understand. 

3 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

By all means go and intimidate the guy, just dont inform him of the laws around intimidation while you do it. Not sure why that is difficult to understand. 

It’s not difficult to understand for normal people mate. 

12 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

In case he used 'said laws' against you? If you 'reasoned' with him properly, it wouldn't come to that. IMO.