Orange Walk / Scottish Cricket thread

~~~

Zimbabwe finish with 6 points from 5 Games

Scotland have 6 points from 4 Games and are 2nd on Run Rate

Netherlands have 4 points from 6 Games and have a better run rate than Zimbabwe so if the win they'll over take Zimbabwe

I think there's the possibility that Scotland can lose against Netherlands and yet still go through if the margin is narrow enough that we're still ahead on run rate but that's for later

19 minutes ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

Zimbabwe finish with 6 points from 5 Games

Scotland have 6 points from 4 Games and are 2nd on Run Rate

Netherlands have 4 points from 6 Games and have a better run rate than Zimbabwe so if the win they'll over take Zimbabwe

I think there's the possibility that Scotland can lose against Netherlands and yet still go through if the margin is narrow enough that we're still ahead on run rate but that's for later

Any posts/calculations made about what sort of defeat we could afford? 

1 hour ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

The current position is 
SCO
    Run Rate: 902/193.3 = 4.661
Opp Run Rate: 873/200.0 = 4.365
Net Run Rate: 4.661 - 4.365 = 0.296

NED
    Run Rate: 1201/194.0 = 6.191
Opp Run Rate: 1152/184.5 = 6.233
Net Run Rate: 6.191 - 6.233 = -0.042

If they bat first and use all their overs then we could be all out cheaply but still go through as long as it's fast

Ned 300 (50.0) bt Sco 159(30.0)

SCO
    Run Rate: 1061/223.3 = 4.747
Opp Run Rate: 1173/250.0 = 4.692
Net Run Rate: 4.747 - 4.692 = 0.055

NED
    Run Rate: 1501/244.0 = 6.152
Opp Run Rate: 1311/214.5 = 6.102
Net Run Rate: 6.152 - 6.102 = 0.050

Be interesting to see how Scotland approach the game given the above, do they go all out from the start to score quick runs then bowl to try and keep Netherlands run rate down? Or just go for the win...

32 minutes ago, Lurkst said:

Fitter looking than ours anyway...

The-Orange-Order-in-Africa-1.jpg

Think you'll find that's actually in Ghana. Ghanaian Orangeism got quite a bit of publicity at one point after a rather bemused looking African gentleman showed up wearing a collarette on the Lower Ormeau Road in Belfast when it was the big cause celebre for Republican "concerned residents" before Drumcree and later the Ardoyne shops became their main focus. 

12 minutes ago, bairn88 said:

Netherlands have 44 overs to chase it or we're through apparently - 6.3 an over

Hopefully a few early wickets - the wicket looks like it should favour our bowlers (famous last words).

This is the first time I think i have ever watched Scotland play so many games back to back, and the team has grown on me game by game.

Edited by Wee Bully

2 minutes ago, Wee Bully said:

Hopefully a few early wickets - the wicket looks like it should favour our bowlers (famous last words).

This is the first time I think i have ever watched Scotland play so many games back to back, and the team has grown on me game by game.

Hard not to like Chris Sole. Would love seeing him bowling in the big games...

On 02/07/2023 at 09:31, The Golden God said:

See these c***s are kicking up a fuss about Drumcree again, it’s been 25 fucking years, get a grip. 

They still bang on about the Glorious Revolution 

1 hour ago, bairn88 said:

Netherlands have 44 overs to chase it or we're through apparently - 6.3 an over

That's if they win by a single run

By my calculation

If they manage to tie it up at 277 and then hit a 6 on the 5th Ball of the 45th over they qualify

Overs Runs Required

44.0    278
44.1    279
44.2    280
44.3    281
44.4    282
44.5    283