Next UK Labour Leader

FlyerTon

Next UK Labour Leader  

243 members have voted

Invergowrie that's some effin' post.

I've picked out two bits.

Tony Blair built a £25m property empire within two years of his departure from Number 10, including a country house in Buckinghamshire, a town house in Connaught Square, a London mews house and a block of flats in Manchester. You wonder how anyone could have amassed such wealth so quickly. As former PM, Tony Blair received a pension of only £63,468.

And this was a fucking so called socialist, champion of the poor and downtrodden, defender of the working man and all round good guy.

Sleekit springs tae mind.

Nor will any dedicated reader of the UK press fail to recognise the picture painted of Cherie Blair: a grasping, weak and vain woman who constantly complains of not being allowed a private jet…
…must have some positive qualities. But according to Bower she seems only interested in holidays and buying expensive houses – a kind of Islington Imelda Marcos.

If the cap fits....

• Replies 2.7k

The bit about him regretting the good things he did rings true. He has voiced regret at offering Scots devolution, as he apparently believes it has served to strengthen the confidence of the Scots in their nation rather than undermining it.

Naturally, he appears to have no interest in whether it was the right thing to do, or whether Scots actually endorse their devolved parliament; his statements of regret hinge entirely on the fact that he doesn't like what's since come to pass and the democratic desire for it be fucked.

The bit about him regretting the good things he did rings true. He has voiced regret at offering Scots devolution, as he apparently believes it has served to strengthen the confidence of the Scots in their nation rather than undermining it.

Naturally, he appears to have no interest in whether it was the right thing to do, or whether Scots actually endorse their devolved parliament; his statements of regret hinge entirely on the fact that he doesn't like what's since come to pass and the democratic desire for it be fucked.

Aye, and him and his successor were baith Scots.

The way I see Tony Blair is this. Before the 2005 general election, he was accountable to the next election and after it, he wasn't (even when he was still leader, he was planning on stepping down).

In opposition - he fuelled the anti-Tory feeling that was sweeping the country at the time (something Labour failed to do after talks with the Lib Dems broke down in 2010, and in the run-up to 2015 when an alliance with the SNP was (according to the polls) on the cards. He benefited from Indie, Brit Pop and Cool Britannia. Some might say he was elected by people who got drunk, smoke weed, took e and ate what they liked and how much they liked. Now consider this comparison to his stance after 2005.

1st term - devolution, human rights act, etc.

2nd term - hunting act, equality legislation. These things saw him through despite the Iraq invasion and tuition/top up fees.

3rd term - constant anti binge drinking whining. HIPs. The scrapping of the 10p tax band, possibly the last thing to ever happen under Blair.

Knowing that he wouldn't be in charge in 2010, he in my view abandoned everything that made him electable and set about in a campaign of deliberate sabotage against his own party. Although he has slagged off every leader since, he is responsible for the Party's unpopularity. The deficit? That happened under Blair, but he is too vain to accept that his very rich-friendly policies that made it as big as it was (it still wasn't as bad as the Tory's was before the crash, not that you'll hear Blair talk about that). Instead, he's insisting that more of the same would restore the Party's electability. He has nothing to say about the support he had from the press (which would never have been enough if social media was around then). I don't like to see people expelled but others have been expelled for far less than his constant slagging off of every leader since.

Mind Tony Blair?

I clicked on Amazon for this but noticed Tom Bower's also done a job on Richard Branson, another cnut very high up on my vilest cnut list, and you can get it second hand for a penny plus postage (£2.80), so I'll check out Bower as a writer before investing in the Blair hardback. I doubt there will be much in it that I don't already know or suspect, but it would be nice to have all his cuntishness confirmed so I know I didn't just imagine it.

Tom Bower on Matthew Wright show tomorrow morning at 9.15 channel 5

Those are absolutely glorious :lol:

Ooft.

oooooft.

:o :o

Breakdown... imminent.

:(

No coherent argument offered. 

Just childish quote mining. But you are a nationalist just like the BNP, Pegida and Trump, reliant on appals to the group rather than coherent logic.

This is the intellectual level of nationalism.

The brain dead that are desperate for validation of their low IQ peers.

Did you learn this during the years when the old Rangers existed and Ibrox was populated by your fellow British nationalists?

No coherent argument offered.

Just childish quote mining. But you are a nationalist just like the BNP, Pegida and Trump, reliant on appals to the group rather than coherent logic.

I can't wait to see your slavering meltdown when we vote yes next time round.