When will indyref2 happen?

Colkitto

Indyref2  

819 members have voted

4 minutes ago, Mr Heliums said:

And access to the single market.

Lol. Apple, Medtronic etc would only require a CE mark and not a relocation to do business. Their products were already on sale long before Ireland tinkered with  tax laws. 

25 minutes ago, Deanburn Dave said:

Indy 1 was a total clusterfcuk of deceit and misinformation.............

Indy 2 will be a hell of a lot worse.            Main factor is the SNP will never be able to get a guarantee that Scotland can stay/join the EU if they win Indy 2 and that will be enough to swing the vote to a NO.    

Good luck convincing people that we wouldn't be able to join the EU when we already meet all of the requirements to do so.

1 hour ago, topcat(The most tip top) said:

Nicola Sturgeon's announcement was for a referendum if we're going to be taken out of the single market.

So if we're discussing a future where the referendum happens then we're discussing a future where hard Brexit happened.

If we manage to retain all the most important privileges of EU membership then the SNP's draft can remain a draft.

Which is fair enough.

The rationale for Indyref2 so soon after the first one is that the question will be being asked in a fundamentally different context from Indyref1

So has the listening campaign come to an early finish? Would have thought an important exercise be allowed to conclude before drawing up any drafts. But then again we both know this is about independence at all costs and finding any excuse to proceed. Unfortunately furthering ones personal ambitions will also come before the good of the nation. 

3 minutes ago, AyrExile said:

So has the listening campaign come to an early finish? Would have thought an important exercise be allowed to conclude before drawing up any drafts. But then again we both know this is about independence at all costs and finding any excuse to proceed. Unfortunately furthering ones personal ambitions will also come before the good of the nation. 

80k jobs and people being 2k worse off a year when leaving the eu is what the bbc forecast,yip thats really furthering ones personal ambition

Up next shipbuilding and the euro

44 minutes ago, Cream Cheese said:

Good luck convincing people that we wouldn't be able to join the EU when we already meet all of the requirements to do so.

Remember the flip flopping uncertainty from various EU sources that occurred during Indy 1.  For every expert that says a massive Aye there's another expert that will say Naw.....

Things will only be worse when Indy 2 happens.    

20 minutes ago, doulikefish said:

80k jobs and people being 2k worse off a year when leaving the eu is what the bbc forecast,yip thats really furthering ones personal ambition

Up next shipbuilding and the euro

Ah the bbc are back in favour as a source of news. Let's put that into a Scottish context if we win independence from Uk. With 60% of our trade in ruk what will the initial pain look like before we can go and negotiate our own deals? 

7 minutes ago, AyrExile said:

Ah the bbc are back in favour as a source of news. Let's put that into a Scottish context if we win independence from Uk. With 60% of our trade in ruk what will the initial pain look like before we can go and negotiate our own deals? 

Not really i was just using one your "impartial" news sources.A indy scotland will be in a much better position in the eu than an isolated ruk,they are already arguing over the price of a jar of marmite ffs

Edited by doulikefish

33 minutes ago, Deanburn Dave said:

Remember the flip flopping uncertainty from various EU sources that occurred during Indy 1.  For every expert that says a massive Aye there's another expert that will say Naw.....

Things will only be worse when Indy 2 happens.    

There was "flip flopping uncertainty" because they didn't want the UK to split up. But then again, they never predicted that the UK was packing it's bags....

Their attitude will be somewhat different this time around.

7 minutes ago, doulikefish said:

Not really i was just using one your "impartial" news sources.A indy scotland will be in a much better position in the eu than an isolated ruk,they are already arguing over the price of a jar of marmite ffs

You were putting the boot into the effects of  brexit process when it will be similar in the event of scottish independence. Scotland would be tied to a dodgy currency with only 6 of 750 representatives to make the will of the Scottish people heard. Ruk which is already a very wealthy country can now negotiate deals freely with whoever without having to fund the weaker countries. You might not like the Ruk option but Eu one is very bad route for Scotland. 

I think you're being a little simplistic.

If the Tories play there hand so badly that the big win is there for the taking then she'll obviously take it.

If they don't then she and her Government will be entitled to claim to have saved our economy, and for that matter the rest of the UK's, from hard Brexit while Labour were incapable of action.

What's more the harder Scotland stands up and fights in the rear guard action against Brexit the harder it will be to object to our EU membership should we apply at some future point.

6 minutes ago, AyrExile said:

You were putting the boot into the effects of  brexit process when it will be similar in the event of scottish independence. Scotland would be tied to a dodgy currency with only 6 of 750 representatives to make the will of the Scottish people heard. Ruk which is already a very wealthy country can now negotiate deals freely with whoever without having to fund the weaker countries. You might not like the Ruk option but Eu one is very bad route for Scotland. 

Dodgy currency lol The pound is an utter basket case and is only going one way when article 50 is invoked.The eu is a much bigger trading block than ruk and wont be getting anything like the deals the brexiters think we are getting just because somebody bought a mercedes

4 minutes ago, AyrExile said:

Have we got twenty-seven bilateral deals lined up with the same terms as before? If so, great. But that's not gonna happen. We do seem to have Australia sniffing about mainly because they also have a loony right wing lot back in charge and their economy is falling on its arse due to  a collapse in mining.

Kindred spirits they are. Fucking hate "foreigners" as well. Australian points system? That was a fucking belter, naw?

2 hours ago, Mr Heliums said:

And access to the single market.

It has nothing to do with the single market.  Most of the American companies have their headquarters there but perform little (or none) of their business in Ireland. I think you would struggle to find a single American company that is headquartered in Ireland that does not have operations in other EU countries.

1 hour ago, AyrExile said:

I don't know why some no voters get so worried about the prospect of a 2nd referendum. The only circumstances in which one will be held is if wee burnie can be certain she will win it. The polls are miles away from that situation. 

32 minutes ago, doulikefish said:

Dodgy currency lol The pound is an utter basket case and is only going one way when article 50 is invoked.The eu is a much bigger trading block than ruk and wont be getting anything like the deals the brexiters think we are getting just because somebody bought a mercedes

Yeah it will head north as it's the current uncertainty markets don't like. Euro is dodgy as it may not survive longterm and you're also left at mercy of the Germans. At least the last referendum did involve independence whereas now it's seems we sign up to any old shite as long as it gets us away from the English.