The Terrible Journalism & Tom English Thread

BBC "gossip" today:- 17/22 stories (that's 77%) are about celtgers. And most of them are the same transfer rumour repeated several times. 

BTW, where are sevco getting these millions to spend on players?

3 hours ago, Raidernation said:

BBC "gossip" today:- 17/22 stories (that's 77%) are about celtgers. And most of them are the same transfer rumour repeated several times. 

The BBC just lift stuff out of the tabloids, so that isn't a surprise - it's just like the "Front page review" type stuff that you get on the news side in that it's at the mercy of the bias/commercial position of the papers that you (explicitly choose to) feature.

You could argue that BBC Scotland wholesale lifting stuff from OF-obsessed sports pages or overwhelmingly right wing papers is a pish excuse for "balance" but that's the way it works.

8 minutes ago, Swello said:

The BBC just lift stuff out of the tabloids, so that isn't a surprise - it's just like the "Front page review" type stuff that you get on the news side in that it's at the mercy of the bias/commercial position of the papers that you (explicitly choose to) feature.

You could argue that BBC Scotland wholesale lifting stuff from OF-obsessed sports pages or overwhelmingly right wing papers is a pish excuse for "balance" but that's the way it works.

Yes, tbh my petty anger with it is that it’s called a gossip column. 

It’s just a paper round up of the back pages. Like when one of the ‘gossip’ items is a direct quote from a press conference. 

4 hours ago, Raidernation said:

BTW, where are sevco getting these millions to spend on players?

In fairness, we have brought in 3 free transfers this window thus far while 5 high earners departed at the end of their contract.

We’re linked with Lammers for around £3m and Dessiers for around the same which would only be about half of what we spent last summer.

Edited by AJF

11 hours ago, Sherrif John Bunnell said:

The former uni lecturer and left-wing man of the people punching down against minorities, yet again.

"more equality for some groups now than others."

What a c*nt.

16 hours ago, AJF said:

In fairness, we have brought in 3 free transfers this window thus far while 5 high earners departed at the end of their contract.

We’re linked with Lammers for around £3m and Dessiers for around the same which would only be about half of what we spent last summer.

Plus the VAT on season tickets doesn’t need paid until the end of the quarter…

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65911091

More quality stuff here from your friendly local gonks. No, not the ones throwing the toys out the pram in a hilarious yet threatening statement, but the "writer" of this "article" who thinks that if a team leaves a 19-team league, in order to make it an 18-team league, another team must be added. 🤡

20 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/65911091

More quality stuff here from your friendly local gonks. No, not the ones throwing the toys out the pram in a hilarious yet threatening statement, but the "writer" of this "article" who thinks that if a team leaves a 19-team league, in order to make it an 18-team league, another team must be added. 🤡

Promote EOSL runners up Sauchie. They have a licence.... :whistle

On 13/06/2023 at 22:08, Sherrif John Bunnell said:

The former uni lecturer and left-wing man of the people punching down against minorities, yet again.

If he wasn't get paid for it, you can easily imagine him sitting on his own at the bar all day absolutely boring the tits off the unfortunate bar staff with these slevers. "You cannae even tell what a wummin is now, mate. Country's gone."  

1 hour ago, Swello said:

"You cannae even tell what a wummin is now, mate. Country's gone."  

🤣 Sounds like my Grandad's generation about 'longhairs' in the 60's...

I don't get the general wasp opprobrium over Pride month etc...does Pride and it's attending nonsense actually bother anyone that much?

Are the participants turning up at selected gammons front doors and demanding they 'become involved' (Gary Jeffries moment)

If ye cannae be erkied wi' Pride, Jim...guess what? Go and dae something else, Min...

45 minutes ago, Jimmain said:

🤣 Sounds like my Grandad's generation about 'longhairs' in the 60's...

I don't get the general wasp opprobrium over Pride month etc...does Pride and it's attending nonsense actually bother anyone that much?

Are the participants turning up at selected gammons front doors and demanding they 'become involved' (Gary Jeffries moment)

If ye cannae be erkied wi' Pride, Jim...guess what? Go and dae something else, Min...

My philosophy, too.