Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2023/24

1 minute ago, WeWereThePeople said:

Wish we would stop dealing with diddy Scottish teams. They clearly can't handle transfers in a professional and discrete manner. Aside from that, it's mostly overpriced shite on offer. Will some diddy player from Hamilton or Killie really improve us? Doubtful. It's sickening to see Rangers fans money going towards keeping these tin-pot outfits afloat.

The staunchest players will eventually find their way to Ibrox for no fee, assuming they are good enough.

^^^Raging that Rangers canna afford to buy players.

Edited by strichener

Sevco's flagrant disregard for Scottish fitba.
Shame he's not playing in the Mexican or Portuguese leagues and called Javier José he'd be worth at least 2mil.

That's was last transfer widow silly, they world beaters are shit now. its bench warmers, if they can get on the bench, from the championship that are the new must haves.

Wish we would stop dealing with diddy Scottish teams. They clearly can't handle transfers in a professional and discrete manner. Aside from that, it's mostly overpriced shite on offer. Will some diddy player from Hamilton or Killie really improve us? Doubtful. It's sickening to see Rangers fans money going towards keeping these tin-pot outfits afloat.
The staunchest players will eventually find their way to Ibrox for no fee, assuming they are good enough.

All because we won't let you sign c***s on tick.

Assuming this has already been covered, but I am bemused by the joy these signings seem to be generating among the hoard. 

Hearts are a mid-table Scottish team and signed Berra permanently in the summer. He's keeping Russell Martin out of the Scotland team.

Aberdeen signed Stevie May on a 4 year deal. He did more in Scotland and has done more down South than Cummings.

Jordan Jones is probably Killie's third best player?

Docherty has potential but Ali Crawford has looked a standout over longer patches at Accies.

For a fanbase that 10-15 years ago was watching Albertz, Klos, van Bronckhorst, Numan, Mols, even players like Jelavic, Buffel, Prso in more recent times, the drop off is crazy. Apparently these days getting "seethe off Hibs fans" is sufficient. 

2 minutes ago, WeWereThePeople said:

It was sevco who made their interest in Docherty known by leaking it to the press. An official from sevco then intimated to a Accies official of this interest on Friday.

Three days later still no bid has been recieved , a clear attempt by your financially strapped club to unsettle another clubs player, old habits never die the new club reverting to type and following its previous incarnations lead, a joke of a club which hopefully will meet with the same end as the old one.

5 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

Assuming this has already been covered, but I am bemused by the joy these signings seem to be generating among the hoard*. 

*Horde.  Homophone loyal.

Amazing how much less a p***k Cummings looks now he's signed for a big club and wearing the famous light blue jersey rather than some green rag:

cummings.png.061effb07fd2be0e1e8522710d71cb29.png

Edit:  Naw, he still looks like a wee p***k but at least he's our p***k.  Hopefully him and Alfie will terrorise defenses in the 2nd half of the season.

2 hours ago, The DA said:

Still, imagine the embarrassment of fielding a getting-on-for-full side of loanees. :lol:  If you went on to win the league, would you really have the brass neck to claim credit? 

Haha exactly. Build a strong side then end up with a squad of 10 or something when the season finishes.

Sounds like the Murphy deal is a contracted buy i.e. we have to pay in the summer and get him regardless while Cummings is just an option. 

Interesting if Cummings does really well then gets a lot of interest. Not sure if we have first dibs or not within the deal. Perhaps could mean that we could lose the chance to sign him if a English side come in with the offer of more money.

So, we're going the same way as Rangers (Deceased) by spending ridiculous sums of money on foreign duds, when we could be focusing on homegrown talent and spending more prudently, but we don't have any money so we're having to prudently sign loan players with a view to buy so that we don't end up in a vicious circle of having to offload players that we've wasted money that we don't have on, but that we can't afford anyway?

SEVCO! 

Just now, KnightswoodBear said:

So, we're going the same way as Rangers (Deceased) by spending ridiculous sums of money on foreign duds, when we could be focusing on homegrown talent and spending more prudently, but we don't have any money so we're having to prudently sign loan players with a view to buy so that we don't end up in a vicious circle of having to offload players that we've wasted money that we don't have on, but that we can't afford anyway?

SEVCO! 

The season ticket money will come in over the summer allowing you to sign these players that you've built in the option to buy, with a view to reaching the EL group stages to make the money back. Why aren't these players being signed permanently now?

1 minute ago, KnightswoodBear said:

SEVCO! 

These signings are more what we should have been doing rather than buying the likes of Herrera for double what Moult would have costed (for example).

The board taking so long to hire a DOF and going for the bizarre choice of Pedro set us back a long way without doubt.

2 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

The season ticket money will come in over the summer allowing you to sign these players that you've built in the option to buy, with a view to reaching the EL group stages to make the money back. Why aren't these players being signed permanently now?

Think it's pretty evident that we don't have a lot of cash to hand (primarily due to the wasteful Pedro spend) and that we are trying to spread everything we can to get the players like Docherty and Jones that couldn't be loans. 

Time will tell whether we will be able to get those players in.

4 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

I'm not letting you draw me into a Sevconfusion Spiral.  I'm still buzzing after ordering my "Cumdog 55" top.

6 minutes ago, Marshmallo said:

We've got several important players out injured, probably for a fair chunk of the season. Loan players will fill a gap and if they make the grade then permanent deals maybe made.

Edit... Murty is on a short term contract, another reason for short term player deals.

Edited by bennett