Gordon Strachan

Elixir

4 minutes ago, Günther said:

Got to add, all good and well punting Strachan, but one more is constantly forgotten here, Stewart Regan... This man has been a complete and utter failure, every single part of the Scottish Football game has regressed under him with the exception of the woman's game. His tenure has been unacceptable and that's forgetting his poor handling of the Rangers episode 4 1/2 years ago. 

Regan out, Strachan out and don't forget that other p***k Doncaster as well. Bye bye lads

Of course, you're absolutely right. But part of the problem concerning not just sacking a manager, but a whole structure, is that a large percentage of people live under a cloud of shit-stirring fear.....we had it during both referendii, and are now witnessing it overseas with Trump and the emergence of basically Parties of the Seriously Pissed Off getting majorities in important places. My point here, is that even centrist non combatants who can plainly see that the present just does not fucking work, by definition, are never wanting to be seen to be radical.....but that's exactly what is needed. 

We moaned for years about Walker and Farry.....both will be spinning in their graves at this shite. Even David Taylor and, for a time Roger Mitchell advertised the Scottish game to the wider world, and despite all their faults, were never found wanting. 

Barry Hearn must be bored of the darts, the snooker and the boxing, surely??

• Replies 3.3k
Of course, you're absolutely right. But part of the problem concerning not just sacking a manager, but a whole structure, is that a large percentage of people live under a cloud of shit-stirring fear.....we had it during both referendii, and are now witnessing it overseas with Trump and the emergence of basically Parties of the Seriously Pissed Off getting majorities in important places. My point here, is that even centrist non combatants who can plainly see that the present just does not fucking work, by definition, are never wanting to be seen to be radical.....but that's exactly what is needed. 

We moaned for years about Walker and Farry.....both will be spinning in their graves at this shite. Even David Taylor and, for a time Roger Mitchell advertised the Scottish game to the wider world, and despite all their faults, were never found wanting. 

Barry Hearn must be bored of the darts, the snooker and the boxing, surely??

Post of the night. Trump and brexit to blame for Scottish football's mentality.

Away defeats in the arsehole of the back of beyond of the USSR, draws in the North Atlantic, and the many, many new ways we find to humiliate ourselves i can handle. But now discounting the final quarter of matches as 'the game's finished'?? 

Lowest point has been reached. Ever. This literally cannot get worse. 

If you don't think that the last 25 minutes of that game was done then you have no clue how football works.

They big team had their comfortable lead and held the ball. They were confident and just knocked it about.

I genuinely believe the media and SFA are shite scared of the ginger runt.

Not sure about the SFA, but the media are definitely terrified about being on the receiving end of one of his quirky, wee-man-syndrome fanny answers in front of all their media counterpart reporters and the cameras. That's why they positively swoon over him, tiptoe around him and fail to criticise him.

Embarrassing diddy country media behaviour, and the ginger cheeky chappy gets an easy ride.

It pains me to agree with Mastermind, who is undoubtedly absolutely loving this, but the football media in Scotland do seem like perfect representatives of our diddy game.

An incestuous wee gang of back-patting shitebag without an original thought or idea between them. Hearing MacAllister butter up wee Gords' character before the game sums it up. Calling it like it is might make things a bit awkward at an after dinner speaking gig or golf tournament, can't be having that.

The same folk will be lining up the excuses about poor squads, lack of youth talent etc when Strachan goes - without mentioning that we have one decent prospect to our name and Strachan already managed to throw him under a bus.

We'll get someone like McInnes next. Seems like a decent guy and definitely preferable to Strachan but almost certainly not the answer.

It pains me to agree with Mastermind, who is undoubtedly absolutely loving this, but the football media in Scotland do seem like perfect representatives of our diddy game.

An incestuous wee gang of back-patting shitebag without an original thought or idea between them. Hearing MacAllister butter up wee Gords' character before the game sums it up. Calling it like it is might make things a bit awkward at an after dinner speaking gig or golf tournament, can't be having that.

The same folk will be lining up the excuses about poor squads, lack of youth talent etc when Strachan goes - without mentioning that we have one decent prospect to our name and Strachan already managed to throw him under a bus.

We'll get someone like McInnes next. Seems like a decent guy and definitely preferable to Strachan but almost certainly not the answer.

In last two games Strachan has afforded more game time to an spfl championship midfielder than a guy who is contributing to the side joint top of bundesliga n we have lost both games 3 nil....

2 hours ago, pandarilla said:

If you don't think that the last 25 minutes of that game was done then you have no clue how football works.

They big team had their comfortable lead and held the ball. They were confident and just knocked it about.

That's ok then, we'll just not bother about it. 

Belgium put a lot of work into youth development. They had a 10 year plan or something like that I think. They're doing pretty well out of it. I'd like to see us try something like that.

I agree but it wouldn't work. We're an impatient bunch who think we have a divine right to beat all in front of us thanks to the morons in the Scottish media. We really are about a 4th tier European nation alongside the lithuanias of this world. Until we do a wales and become a 1man team (step forward mr Burke) that's where we will remain

6 hours ago, pandarilla said:

Roger Mitchell's sincerely held opinion, IMO.

When Strachan surely, surely goes at some point over the next week, Regan should follow him out the door for his total abdication of responsibility. Insisted Levein was the right man for the job after a failed campaign, refused to act when Levein as good as eliminated us after two games of the next, waiting for another two defeats before finally sacking him a year later than he should have. Let Strachan decide his future himself after a failed campaign when Strachan shouldn't have had the choice as there should have been no offer of a new contract, then refused to act after Strachan as good as eliminated us from the next after three games, instead waiting for another defeat, which will now see Strachan leaving a year later than he should have.

We should look at all the realistic candidates for the job, and when doing so we'll see that none of the Scottish candidates are good enough, leaving a foreigner as the only option. Of course, the SFA have been in that position before and ignored Lars Lagerback in favour of Craig Levein as a foreign manager did a bad job once.

7 hours ago, pandarilla said:

You're a fucking simpleton, if thats what you take from that. The seemingly widely-held belief among the 'elite' of Scottish football (no players, small population, etc) is peddled on here and in the Press in much the same way that the worldwide establishment spends its time threatening the electorate of the big bad bogeymen, but my interest is only in how bad our fitba is frankly. There are people in suits raking in six figure salaries on the back of the pathetic showings recently, in any other job they'd be fired without hesitation. The lack of demand for this, is down to the crap mentality the majority seem to hold. And thats why we deserve such a shite team. 

A 10,000 ish crowd for the next home game is the only way the establishment will realise that something is wrong.  Money is their only interest, not internet opinion, not awful team performances and certainly not terrible management decisions. 

When the gullible punter stops handing over his or her hard earned cash will be the only time this incompetent set of sheisters will take action.