Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Will I unfollow them? No, because many of them are wee darlings. But my point stands.

An inspiration, brother.

Japanese government: stop going to pubs and such

Japanese people: OK

UK government: stop going to pubs and such

Great British Public: I'LL GO WHERE I LIKE TWO WORLD WARS AND ONE WORLD CUP

Maybe if we had a more relaxed attitude to tentacle porn, people wouldn’t feel the need to go out and blitzed all the time.

2 minutes ago, Terry Singh said:

If the Govt go to lockdown, how long do you give it before a certain percentage get bored and go f*ck it and do what they want.

Has anyone got a moron percentage ratio to compare to Italy or China?

We could ask Granny to do the maths and then divide his prediction by 100.

13 minutes ago, Moomintroll said:
1 hour ago, DA Baracus said:
People just are not taking a telling.
The government has to help here, and most likely they're already discussing this issue.

I hate to be that person but we really do need the Army to get involved to bring it home to these idiots how serious this is.

There aren't anything like enough soldiers or police to enforce a nationwide lockdown, you need cooperation and trust from the public, and shaming for those who ignore the advice.

Guest JTS98
2 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

There aren't anything like enough soldiers or police to enforce a nationwide lockdown, you need cooperation and trust from the public, and shaming for those who ignore the advice.

You don't need enough to enforce it. You just need a presence to get the message to your average diddy that this is serious.

There's army on the streets in Malaysia now, and apparently it has done wonders for compliance levels.

They're not there to shoot people. They're there because their presence gives people a shock.

3 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

An inspiration, brother.

Maybe if we had a more relaxed attitude to tentacle porn, people wouldn’t feel the need to go out and blitzed all the time.

I'm sure there's an Alex Salmond court case joke hidden in there somewhere.

4 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Shaming them isn't going to cut it. They don't feel any shame.

Guest bernardblack

It’s really not difficult. Left house...walked to clear the head....collected beer from shop....walk home....wash hands....drink beer

1 minute ago, Romeo said:

Having read the comments on here and on the web in general today I am absolutely staggered at the % of the population utterly devoid of any kind of critical thinking skills. 

Everybody thinks they're the lord of critical thinking, including yourself.

Back at home in the borders and it's frightening how many folk are still carrying on as normal. Folk down here have a bit of an outsider, cut-off mentality at the best of times and tend to think that all that stuff on the tele doesn't apply to them and isn't aimed at them, but f**k me the amount of old folk just ignoring everything and going on as normal is going to have serious consequences soon. 

My own grandad who's 88 is still hellbent on going out and doing his shopping this week. He's generally still very bright and switched on too so it's not like he's a numpty, i just think folk from that generation don't really like being told what to do from younger family, friends etc. 

Although pictures of heaving markets in London today full of young middle class types maybe show that we're just in a country full of thickos regardless of age. Could bite us on the arse big time. 

21 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Sneaked in ok then?

41l9R+wycQL._AC_.jpg

@Alert MongooseHelp erase this from my memory.

Flawed.application of logic applied at the local Tesco. Customer 1 picks up a few cans of beer and is told sorry sir only 3 items of each allowed. Customer 1 points to customer 2 with 3 crates of lager.I

Is this fair?

4 hours ago, Gordon EF said:

I've dusted off the old scientific calculator and have just estimated that there will be 8 million cases of coronavirus in Scotland by next month.

With 7,999,999 of them being Londoners in campervans stuck on the M9 near Luncarty.

The problem with this is that people respond to seeing other people out and about. It's a domino effect. I can go for a walk. He's going for a walk, so I can go for a walk with my pal. He's going for a walk with his pal, I'll pop in and visit my mate. I'm visiting my mate, do you want to come along?
You should just stay home. Being at home should be the default position.
There's a balance though.

We need to be outdoors for our sanity. But while we're there we need to follow the social distancing guidelines.

I called my mum and she was telling me my kids shouldn't be out for a walk with their mum - she thought the official advice was to stay indoors. But that's for those self-isolating.

For the rest of us it's about being very sensible about where we go, and keeping our distances and touching as few surfaces as possible when we get there.

1 minute ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

@Alert MongooseHelp erase this from my memory.

Flawed.application of logic applied at the local Tesco. Customer 1 picks up a few cans of beer and is told sorry sir only 3 items of each allowed. Customer 1 points to customer 2 with 3 crates of lager.I

Is this fair?

It's easier to program a 3 item limit on all duplicate barcodes regardless of the item or item packs. It would take them too much time to go through each type of item individually to determine whether it should have a purchase limit or not.

So after being told that S4-6 pupils should come in to complete coursework and repeating that message on Microsoft Teams, the school website and via texts to Parents, we've now been told that kids shouldn't be coming into school to do this and to minimise the number of pupils in schools. Not great timing and also makes no sense in Fife as - despite the council telling us we've to go into school this week to be there for the children of key workers (and to prepare online lessons), Fife council have told key workers that they'll have to make their own childcare arrangements this week until the new "hubs" are open! So there will be schools open, teachers and catering staff in and we'll be expecting children to arrive if their parents are key workers but they might not now due to the council message. At the same time we might have to turn away pupils who are in to finish coursework despite being told on Friday that they were to do so. I know it's a difficult situation and that it's an ever changing picture but the amount of mixed messages, poor timings of press releases and the like is causing even more stress at the moment.