What are the things you hate regarding fitba?

2 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

I get absolutely that guys who've played at higher levels will understand the game better (or more particularly, certain aspects of it much better), on average, than guys who haven't. That's not what I'm arguing. 

But there's plenty of examples of great players being absolutely shite managers and very mediocre players (or even people who never played professionally, being excellent managers). That alone suggests there's not some extremely neat and tight correlation between footballing ability and football understanding.

Are ex-Montrose players as a group going to understand football better than fat accountants as a group? Yes. Does every ex-Montrose player understand football better than every fat accountant? Almost certainly not.

Yeah I'd agree with that broadly.  Though there will be things every ex Montrose player would have learned that no fat accountant would.

I just thought of a cracking analogy btw, too good not to share.  If you spent years and years watching loads of porn, would you know a lot about shagging?  Would you be saying to........John Wayne Bobbit aye you might be a total shagger but I've been rippin the heid aff it furiously for twenty years so we're on the same wavelength

5 minutes ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

Yeah I'd agree with that broadly.  Though there will be things every ex Montrose player would have learned that no fat accountant would.

I just thought of a cracking analogy btw, too good not to share.  If you spent years and years watching loads of porn, would you know a lot about shagging?  Would you be saying to........John Wayne Bobbit aye you might be a total shagger but I've been rippin the heid aff it furiously for twenty years so we're on the same wavelength

Well yeah but if John Wayne Bobbit has spent all his time shagging rather than watching porn, you'd probably have a better idea of how to make a good porn film, even though you'd not going to have the shagging ability to star in it. If JWB has spent his time, watching porn, learning from the directors he's worked with and given a fair amount of headspace to the craft, then of course, he's probably going to produce a better porno than you wouldn.

Most great directors were never actors, for example.

Edited by Gordon EF

15 minutes ago, Gordon EF said:

Well yeah but if John Wayne Bobbit has spent all his time shagging rather than watching porn, you'd probably have a better idea of how to make a good porn film, even though you'd not going to have the shagging ability to star in it. If JWB has spent his time, watching porn, learning from the directors he's worked with and given a fair amount of headspace to the craft, then of course, he's probably going to produce a better porno than you wouldn.

I don't really know what JWB did I thought he was a porn star

Wouldn't know as I'm a top shagger myself obviously

52 minutes ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

Kind of, but if you didn't play to at least a half decent level you would never really get a decent understanding of the game. That's why I object to people like I can't remember their names Graham Hunter and the smarmy Spanish c**t being co-commentators.

See even someone like Robbie Savage who is a fuckin clown, five minutes on a training ground with him he could teach you an awful lot. Its their profession, they spend years doing it every day with other people who are incredibly good at it.  Its naive to think they don't learn an awful lot.

I mean if you watched ballet every day for ten years would you feel qualified to tell one of the top ballet dancers in the world all about ballet?   So why is football any different?

Even guys that play for Montrose were the best player in their school, then the best player at boys club, then had to establish themselves in the pro game.  They've seen a lot and been through a lot just to get to Montrose and they have learned a lot too. You can see why they get a bit affronted when some fat accountant that didn't get a game for their primary school starts trying to tell them about the game.

Where did you gain the insight that allows us the benefit of your wisdom?

I've turned over to BT after watching the inauguration and have come to the realisation that I pretty much never watch pre or post-match chat anymore. I'd rather spend my time watching a film or playing a game right up until kick-off. 

I used to enjoy BT's Scottish stuff, especially on Friday nights, but everything just seems to be geared towards squeezing in ads every few minutes and manufacturing "heated" social media/YouTube clips.

Guest TheJTS98
On 18/01/2021 at 16:38, topcat(The most tip top) said:

Everybody eventually grows out of saying “I could have done a better job of playing football than that professional football player did” as middle age approaches

but we’re never too old to be legendary managers in our own heads

Don't know about that. I've got a mate who has insisted regularly since Craig Nelson that he is better than whoever Hearts' current goalkeeper is.

Finally, with Pereira, he was right.

Watching Cheltenham v Man City and the commentator says "it's not going according to the script." Similarly, you hear phrases like "you couldn't write this" any time an upset looks like it's on the cards.

I don't believe a Hollywood scriptwriter will be making a movie about an FA Cup game any time soon, but if they were then I'd imagine 'lower-league team beats mega-rich favourites in upset' would, in fact, be exactly the kind of script that they'd write.

Just now, AMMjag said:

Watching Cheltenham v Man City and the commentator says "it's not going according to the script." Similarly, you hear phrases like "you couldn't write this" any time an upset looks like it's on the cards.

I don't believe a Hollywood scriptwriter will be making a movie about an FA Cup game any time soon, but if they were then I'd imagine 'lower-league team beats mega-rich favourites in upset' would, in fact, be exactly the kind of script that they'd write.

the correct term is the mAgIc Of ThE CuP

The domestic cups this season are largely a waste of time and should've been binned. I appreciate genuine elite level football trundling along to let league competitions and European competitions play out, but a domestic cup tournament taking place minus any meaningful fan involvement is just pointless IMO. 

The English FA Cup has been devalued property for some time but this is the first time in which I couldn't give a toss about the Scottish Cup either. 

Edited by vikingTON

10 minutes ago, virginton said:

The domestic cups this season are largely a waste of time and should've been binned. I appreciate genuine elite level football trundling along to let league competitions and European competitions play out, but a domestic cup tournament taking place minus any meaningful fan involvement is just pointless IMO. 

The English FA Cup has been devalued property for some time but this is the first time in which I couldn't give a toss about the Scottish Cup either. 

Me neither. I'm struggling to care too much about league matches given the attitude of a large part of the footballing community, but I am verging on complete indifference about our match with Keith given that it's not even going to be streamed, if it is ever played. That has a status which is only above closed-door friendly in terms of pointlessness.

On 20/01/2021 at 14:18, Gordon EF said:

TBH, you could probably make a decent list of top directors who either were actors (Ron Howard, Ben Affleck, Clint Eastwood), or really wish they could have been (Tarantino, Hitchcock, Uwe Boll).

John Wayne Bobbitt was never a top shagger, before or after his overenthusiastic circumcision.

7 minutes ago, BFTD said:

TBH, you could probably make a decent list of top directors who either were actors (Ron Howard, Ben Affleck, Clint Eastwood), or really wish they could have been (Tarantino, Hitchcock, Uwe Boll).

John Wayne Bobbitt was never a top shagger, before or after his overenthusiastic circumcision.

Aye, was going to say he probably wasn't the best example to choose there.

11 hours ago, BFTD said:

As I say I wouldn't know, as I'm a top shagger myself, so dinnae watch much porn

Guest TheJTS98

This probably extends way past football, but the fitba is a strong example of this.

We hear that footballers' salaries are high at certain levels of the game because of market forces and 'that's what they're worth'.

Now, I don't really understand economics. Finance is a mystery to me. But let's take the English Championship. Most clubs in that division (even pre-covid) are financial basket-cases who lose a fortune every week. If your employer is losing a fortune every week because of your wages, then surely you're not worth the wages?

Championship clubs lost more than 300 million quid pre-tax in 2017-18. Let that sink in. Surely, in any financial atmosphere run by sentient human beings,  that leads to a drop in salaries, since salaries are what's causing this?

Yet some magical force exists to push Championship clubs to pay their players an average of one and a half million quid per year, despite most of the players being thoroughly average and there being no financial reward to most of the clubs to doing so. What's happened to capitalism?

Does anyone understand this? Why are these people so ludicrously over-rewarded for a job they're not very good at?

Edited by TheJTS98

9 minutes ago, Mark Connolly said:

The "draught excluder" at free kicks. And while I'm on that subject, the entire idea of defensive walls, especially when the attacking team is stopped from playing to allow the team who committed the foul to get organised.

I still remember hearing "build a wa'" in primary school for the first time at a free kick and thinking we were supposed to lie on top of one another to build an actual wall.