Recommend A Dog

Another vote for a rescue greyhound. The rescue centres usually try to match one of the dogs they have available with your specific requirements. 

They do like to have company though, so you may end up having two at a time...

2018 Anwoth (252).JPG

Should he rent one?
Best picked up for free from previous owners who thought it would be a "good idea" and then quickly found out that even a very small quadroped mammal can be a handful for a dim witted bipedal one.

1 hour ago, Enigma said:

What kind of dog breeds do people think they could beat in a fight?

Anything south of Cujo.

Plus, he seemed like a good c**t before the rabies, so I reckon I'd have been able to strangle him before he would do anything about it. I could have saved so many lives.

12 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

Good call on not getting a wee yappy dog. Hate those things. Little rats like you say and they tend to be annoying fucks who yelp all the time. Pish dogs.

if a dog's the right size to fit in a microwave, that's where it belongs

otherwise - something to go for a jog with - a brindled lurcher, wonderful creatures...

image.thumb.png.09a7c73dc52f635613207f1947b6218e.png

13 minutes ago, Herman Hessian said:

if a dog's the right size to fit in a microwave, that's where it belongs

otherwise - something to go for a jog with - a brindled lurcher, wonderful creatures...

image.thumb.png.09a7c73dc52f635613207f1947b6218e.png

Two good points.

Only thing I can advise is no matter what pup you get, take it puppy socialising classes. Did that with our doodle when he was a pup and never looked back. Basic training and getting  used to other dogs is really important. Our next door neighbours didn't socialise their labrador pup and they rarely take it out walking because it wants to go fighting with every dog it meets. Shame because it's a beautiful dog. 

41 minutes ago, Forest_Fifer said:

I watched the "Dogs Behaving Badly" series a while back, and pretty much every problem that the dogs had was being caused or made worse by the owners.

This.  Far too many people aren't willing to put in the work required to keep a dog happy, healthy and friendly. A large reason why our shelters are overflowing and thousands of dogs are euthanized ever day. 

4 hours ago, Shandon Par said:

Quite even matchup with the whippet. I’ve got a 70kg weight advantage but he has speed and sharp teeth.

2BF5E373-7477-402F-954B-F44DA2BE1546.jpeg

Surely the pecking order is;

Muffy

Rents

Mrs Par

Shandon.

Stop kidding us on and know your place, ya lightweight!

4 hours ago, Enigma said:

What kind of dog breeds do people think they could beat in a fight?

I reckon I could take Huckleberry Hound and Oggy Doggy. Scooby Doo would shit it and run away. On the other hand Muttley is well hard and sneaky and Deputy Dawg has a gun.

1 hour ago, tamthebam said:

Surely the pecking order is;

Muffy

Rents

Mrs Par

Shandon.

Stop kidding us on and know your place, ya lightweight!

Don't forget, his wean beat him up (at least) once too.

7 hours ago, Big Gus said:

Best advice to the OP is "never buy or own a dog".

"Want a big 'manly' one that's bred to hunt lions, don't want anything small, fluffy... I have children..."

Just don't bother you don't have the right temperament.

Apart from this pissed up nonsense, there have been some cracking posts on here. 

After reading all the posts and everything considered, we've made our minds up on a Labrador. We'll be doing our homework and getting in touch with breeders next week. 

As much as we'd love to rescue a dog, it's just not practical given we've got the daughter and two cats and as it's impossible to know the dog's complete history, we've no idea how it would settle in our environment and we'd be wary of how it might be triggered in certain situations that we can't predict until they arise. 

Thanks for all the advice. 

@Shandon Par, Jocky is high on the list of potential names. Tremendous suggestion. 

3 hours ago, tamthebam said:

I reckon I could take Huckleberry Hound and Oggy Doggy. Scooby Doo would shit it and run away. On the other hand Muttley is well hard and sneaky and Deputy Dawg has a gun.

Mutley would rip your foot off. Best avoided in a scrap. Keep away from Dogtanian too.

You should be able to give Lassie a good kicking though. 

2 hours ago, Dee Man said:

After reading all the posts and everything considered, we've made our minds up on a Labrador. We'll be doing our homework and getting in touch with breeders next week. 

Only one thing to add (and I don’t know a lot of the variables involved so do take this with a large pinch of salt) is I’d suggest a yellow one over a black one. 

I suspect you are in much warmer climes and also suspect Oz-bred labs will have evolved to the climate but black ones ain’t great fans of the heat. Our big chap really didn’t want to do too much at all through that last hot spell we had. 

Yellow ones are of course an absolute b*****d for dog hair everywhere (same as every other one tbf but it’s just far more noticeable) but ye pays yer money and makes yer choice. 

And I know there’s also the choice of a chocolate one too but I’ve yet to meet one that is properly wired up.  Again, make of that what you will.

Keep us posted! 

1 hour ago, alta-pete said:

Only one thing to add (and I don’t know a lot of the variables involved so do take this with a large pinch of salt) is I’d suggest a yellow one over a black one. 

I suspect you are in much warmer climes and also suspect Oz-bred labs will have evolved to the climate but black ones ain’t great fans of the heat. Our big chap really didn’t want to do too much at all through that last hot spell we had. 

Yellow ones are of course an absolute b*****d for dog hair everywhere (same as every other one tbf but it’s just far more noticeable) but ye pays yer money and makes yer choice. 

And I know there’s also the choice of a chocolate one too but I’ve yet to meet one that is properly wired up.  Again, make of that what you will.

Keep us posted! 

Yeah it's going to be a yellow one although the wife was on about wanting a white one but I'm not sure how easy that would be to get a hold of. I've emailed every licensed breeder in WA and most that have got back to me have said their current waiting lists are full and I'd probably be looking at having to wait until 2021 to get one from them, however we have got an appointment with a breeder tomorrow. I spoke to the guy earlier and he said he meets potential buyers before deciding which households he wants the pups to go to. His next litter is due in Sept/Oct so hopefully we can get our dog then, if not, it could be next year. 

Eta: Regarding the brown labs, I'd heard they were nuts but had never interacted with one until relatively recently. Before our next door neighbours moved away a couple of months ago (just disappeared, guy from the bank was at my door this week asking how long the house had been unoccupied), they had a brown lab called Toby (snigger) and I used to take it for a walk over the dog park across the road and I can confirm it was as daft as a brush - absolutely mental.

57 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

Previous form would suggest Dee Man will get knocked out in some disagreement with the breeder. 

The guy I'm meeting tomorrow sounded like an older gentleman so I should  be alright if it comes to a physical confrontation. I've been watching the American riots with interest and if I employ American polis assault techniques it looks as if a simple shove should see me victorious. 

Edited by Dee Man

Labs need plenty exercise or they get fat very easily and quickly. They’ve become a household favourite but they are a working breed.  

I had a chocolate in the past and you're right in regards to exercise. It's also the case that owners simply overfeed them. I was initially shocked at just how little feeding they need to maintain a healthy weight, a cup full of good quality dried food 2 x a day was the ideal amount for our one. The problem with labs is that they don't have an off button when it comes to food and are terrible scavengers. They will literally eat until they throw up and then do it all over again given the chance