Scottish football without the OF

Old Firm in England or wherever  

184 members have voted

31 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

It was either least season or 18/19 I think The Caley played Alloa 6 times.  Fucking wild.

We had Partick 7 times in one season a few years ago now. 4L, 1 LC, 1SC 1SC replay.

What's the theoretical most now? (once things get back to normal)

Say ICT and Dundee. 4 in the league, LC group from which you both qualify so meet again in a QF or SF, SC + replay, Challenge Cup, twice in play off quarter/semi final.

11 ! 😄

And I say that as a supporter of smaller divisions.

Edited by Ranaldo Bairn

Once again, some knob at The Sun wakes up with a hangover after a night of heavy drinking and watching porn and remembers that his boss wanted a story on Scottish football. Will this old shit do he muses. Aye, why not, it's been a few months. Will never happen. 

4 hours ago, Merkland Red said:

Are they going to be as well supported if they win nothing?

IMO yes, they're tribes with strong identities of which football is just one part and if a club like Newcastle are filling the ground every week then the OF would surely not find it difficult to do the same. Celtic's support slipped away when they really were winning every week, without Rangers in the top flight, and I think the bigger hype around English clubs would keep them coming.

It could go the other way of course, that's just my guess.

4 hours ago, Merkland Red said:

Are they going to be as well supported if they win nothing?

10 years without anything would suggest so.

Tbh I'm not that keen English fitba,  the way that it's overhyped tends to annoy me so I hope we stay put.

Edinburgh City last played Rangers in 1928 and have only ever played Celtic in a pre-season friendly about 20 years ago so we haven't exactly been sucking at the OF test so I have no idea what would happen if the two buggered off.

I just wonder if the two would actually be that competitive. They would be joining the league of a country with 10 times the population of Scotland and with an "Old Firm" of its own now in the form of the Big 4 who could easily outspend Rangers and Celtic. Look at Newcastle- full houses every week, last domestic trophy was when the Goon Show was on the radio and last silverware was in 1969.

4 minutes ago, Jim McLean's Ghost said:

It seems simple to me. Scottish teams should play in the Scottish League.

We aren't some no mark country like Liechtenstein or Wales.

Agree. However Celtic fans claim they are Irish and The Rangers are Unionist Zombies. Get them tae feck.

48 minutes ago, GordonS said:

IMO yes, they're tribes with strong identities of which football is just one part and if a club like Newcastle are filling the ground every week then the OF would surely not find it difficult to do the same. Celtic's support slipped away when they really were winning every week, without Rangers in the top flight, and I think the bigger hype around English clubs would keep them coming.

It could go the other way of course, that's just my guess.

I'm talking about the glory hunters based all over the country.

42 minutes ago, bennett said:

10 years without anything would suggest so.

Tbh I'm not that keen English fitba,  the way that it's overhyped tends to annoy me so I hope we stay put.

You were still winning things. Just not at the higher level.

Listened to Talk Shite earlier when they were on about this, Alan Brazil is a total knob. Was discussing Celtic and Rangers moving to the EPL with McCoist and another English guy (didn’t recognize the voice) Brazil basically said Scottish football would die and become the League of Wales and when McCoist and the other guy made the point that there are other big teams in Scotland with decent supports and comparing the SPFL clubs to the LOW is laughable Brazil’s pretty much claimed it was just Rangers and Celtic fans going to watch these teams when they couldn’t see their big team. What a p***k, clearly knows very little about our game or the fanbases clubs up here have, too much time working down south.

On the idea i think it would be a good thing overall, Celtic and Rangers would do fine down south once they got access to the revenue the EPL offers, like or hate them, they’re huge clubs and bigger than a lot of English clubs, playing there would make them global brands. From the SPFL point of view the TV deal would probably be reduced although a more competitive league could generate a half decent deal with SKY that sees clubs not lose too much revenue and the prospect of teams being able to challenge would see crowds increase. I think it would be win win for both the OF and the SPFL as long as they don’t try to leave Colts behind.

Without the OF we could look at what setup suits Scotland and not how can we shoehorn as many OF games as possible, we could have a fairly run setup to distribute sponsorship money fairly, we might take a hit to begin with but Scottish football attendances out with the OF are a far cry from the LOW, we really are good at putting ourselves down at times. Our crowds are far bigger than much of Europe outside the huge countries.

2 minutes ago, San Starko Rover said:

Listened to Talk Shite earlier when they were on about this, Alan Brazil is a total knob. Was discussing Celtic and Rangers moving to the EPL with McCoist and another English guy (didn’t recognize the voice) Brazil basically said Scottish football would die and become the League of Wales and when McCoist and the other guy made the point that there are other big teams in Scotland with decent supports and comparing the SPFL clubs to the LOW is laughable Brazil’s pretty much claimed it was just Rangers and Celtic fans going to watch these teams when they couldn’t see their big team. What a p***k, clearly knows very little about our game or the fanbases clubs up here have, too much time working down south.

On the Mattering it would be a goo pd thing overall, Celtic and Rangers would do fine down south once they got access to the revenue the EPL offers, like or hate them, they’re huge clubs and bigger than a lot of English clubs, playing there would make them global brands. From the SPFL point of view the TV deal would probably be reduced although a more competitive league could generate a half decent deal with SKY that sees clubs not lose too much revenue and the prospect of teams being able to challenge would see crowds increase. I think it would be win win for both the OF and the SPFL as long as they don’t try to leave Colts behind.

Without the OF we could look at what setup suits Scotland and not how can we shoehorn as many OF games as possible, we could have a fairly run setup to distribute sponsorship money fairly, we might take a hit to begin with but Scottish football attendances out with the OF are a far cry from the LOW, we TrueType are good at putting ourselves down at times. Our crowds are far bigger than much of Europe outside the huge countries.

I’m sure Scotland has the highest average attendance per population in Europe and quite consistently 

3 minutes ago, San Starko Rover said:

On the idea i think it would be a good thing overall, Celtic and Rangers would do fine down south once they got access to the revenue the EPL offers, like or hate them, they’re huge clubs and bigger than a lot of English clubs, playing there would make them global brands. From the SPFL point of view the TV deal would probably be reduced although a more competitive league could generate a half decent deal with SKY that sees clubs not lose too much revenue and the prospect of teams being able to challenge would see crowds increase. I think it would be win win for both the OF and the SPFL as long as they don’t try to leave Colts behind.

Without the OF we could look at what setup suits Scotland and not how can we shoehorn as many OF games as possible, we could have a fairly run setup to distribute sponsorship money fairly, we might take a hit to begin with but Scottish football attendances out with the OF are a far cry from the LOW, we really are good at putting ourselves down at times. Our crowds are far bigger than much of Europe outside the huge countries.

I mean, talk sport basically lives off dropping in nonsense so someone will take to the internet in a rage about it. They’ll probably stick it on Twitter/YouTube for that very reason. 

19 minutes ago, Forever_blueco said:

I’m sure Scotland has the highest average attendance per population in Europe and quite consistently 

I think we’re 2nd. There’s a quite small European nation who is 1st I believe. Possibly Iceland.

I actually don't think I'd want the Old Firm to leave the Scottish system. Don't get me wrong, I hate them. However I think ultimately the league would be poorer without them. Not like that time Rangers went down - that was hilarious but they were always going to return at some point. Historically the OF are the most successful clubs and it's always a joy when a diddy side beats them. What I don't like is the OF's continued success since the mid 80s. Something is clearly wrong in the set-up that no other team can win the league, it's almost impossible. I don't like our countries obsession with the OF, I don't like how the SPFL have a massive hard on for them and I don't like OF fans because they behave like utter scum. Too much of Scottish football is geared towards them and it's clear to see by the league standings. They stand in the way of progress because they want to protect their own interests, remain stronger than everyone else and not give a f**k about other clubs. It's only natural then that many people would be pleased if they fucked off for good. I'd rather we fixed these issues surrounding the OF dominance of our game and make Scottish football more competitive. 

1 hour ago, Merkland Red said:

I'm talking about the glory hunters based all over the country.

You were still winning things. Just not at the higher level.

That has go be the most pedantic post I've ever seen on PnB, congratulations. 

6 minutes ago, Raidernation said:

There is no OF, Rangers fans walked away and let their club die!

Hiya Romeo.