The Queen of the South thread

Raith Rovers a club about the  same size as ours  give me hope  that one day with the right investment board and manager that we can challenge at the top end of the Championship .

They were not long ago like us  struggling in League 1 look at them now  

5 minutes ago, Greenacres said:

Raith Rovers a club about the  same size as ours  give me hope  that one day with the right investment board and manager that we can challenge at the top end of the Championship .

They were not long ago like us  struggling in League 1 look at them now  

I don't think you fully appreciate our present standing in Scottish Football. Even if there is a massive overhaul from the top down, and serious investment made, it'll take a decade to build the club back up to anything like top of Championship level. 

2 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

I don't think you fully appreciate our present standing in Scottish Football. Even if there is a massive overhaul from the top down, and serious investment made, it'll take a decade to build the club back up to anything like top of Championship level. 

All depends on how much  investment sadly not looking likely to happen .

It was around 4 years ago we beat Raith in the playoffs to stay in the Championship look at both clubs now.

We have the same potential as Raith we could treble our crowds with a decent team in the pitch but right now 900 odd at a home League game will not support full time football much longer .

On 16/12/2023 at 14:43, Nithsdale Wanderer said:

Got our own back in the replay though in which McGuire scored the only goal of the game to put us through.  Did he also get sent off in that or was it Derek Cook ?

There was a sending off for a headbutt, but Derek Cook was on the receiving end of it.

The headbutter in question? Future Queens manager Kenny Brannigan!

1 hour ago, Adamski said:

There was a sending off for a headbutt, but Derek Cook was on the receiving end of it.

The headbutter in question? Future Queens manager Kenny Brannigan!

I remember that. Had they not been teammates somewhere before, or became teammates after that, maybe at Stranraer or even Palmerston. That detail I can't recall. 

2 hours ago, Greenacres said:

All depends on how much  investment sadly not looking likely to happen .

It was around 4 years ago we beat Raith in the playoffs to stay in the Championship look at both clubs now.

We have the same potential as Raith we could treble our crowds with a decent team in the pitch but right now 900 odd at a home League game will not support full time football much longer .

I do get what you're saying there.  Likewise, I've also often viewed Queens in a similar light to the Rovers - clubs with decent potential but probably not large enough to sustain a long stay in the top league in the current 4 tier structure, should they ever manage to get there.  The old 2 tier structure was kinder to clubs of Queens and Rovers size and allowed the fans to hope and dream.  The 4 tier structure was of course introduced to keep the wee clubs firmly in their place and to ensure a regular share of the OF pound around the nation's "establishment" clubs.

I'd imagine that what has changed of course recently for the Rovers is that the money men from Kelty have moved across Fife to settle in at Starks Park, hence they'll currently be able to offer more attractive deals to players these days, which in turn improves performance, and which in turn improves attendances and hence income stream value.  This may get them to the "promised land" of the top tier cartel and if so they may be able to sustain it for as long as the "conservatory" money men sit on the board.

27 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

I do get what you're saying there.  Likewise, I've also often viewed Queens in a similar light to the Rovers - clubs with decent potential but probably not large enough to sustain a long stay in the top league in the current 4 tier structure, should they ever manage to get there.  The old 2 tier structure was kinder to clubs of Queens and Rovers size and allowed the fans to hope and dream.  The 4 tier structure was of course introduced to keep the wee clubs firmly in their place and to ensure a regular share of the OF pound around the nation's "establishment" clubs.

I'd imagine that what has changed of course recently for the Rovers is that the money men from Kelty have moved across Fife to settle in at Starks Park, hence they'll currently be able to offer more attractive deals to players these days, which in turn improves performance, and which in turn improves attendances and hence income stream value.  This may get them to the "promised land" of the top tier cartel and if so they may be able to sustain it for as long as the "conservatory" money men sit on the board.

Sad but football is principally about how much you bankroll your team. Ross County would never have been in the Premier League without McGregors cash. Ditto Kelly and Coves rise. I would love to see us in the top division once in my 52 years of supporting Queens…

5 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

I remember that. Had they not been teammates somewhere before, or became teammates after that, maybe at Stranraer or even Palmerston. That detail I can't recall. 

Cook and Brannigan had been team mates at Killie until a few weeks before it happened.

Cook ended up with a broken jaw and Brannigan got sacked by Killie for it.

Really important game at Stirling on the weekend. Feels like a potential sliding door particularly with Annan to round out the year. A potential to end the year in touching distance of play offs or set up for a relegation battle/bottom half drudgery

Very much still in the mindset of  'the Montrose game was the anomaly' particularly as that first half display was so utterly unexpected to witness. Think we might need 4 wins in a row before the optimism starts to creep in. 

58 minutes ago, DoonhamerDon said:

Really important game at Stirling on the weekend. Feels like a potential sliding door particularly with Annan to round out the year. A potential to end the year in touching distance of play offs or set up for a relegation battle/bottom half drudgery

Very much still in the mindset of  'the Montrose game was the anomaly' particularly as that first half display was so utterly unexpected to witness. Think we might need 4 wins in a row before the optimism starts to creep in. 

Yep, jury's still out.

You guy's are suffering the same way we were /are with extreme inconsistency 

we get stuffed 0-3 from EC then beat cove away and draw with hamilton  , you get stuffed 5-0 from same team , then whip montrose ,crazy results right there . mind you some things never change   🙂

2 hours ago, Vegetableman said:

You guy's are suffering the same way we were /are with extreme inconsistency 

we get stuffed 0-3 from EC then beat cove away and draw with hamilton  , you get stuffed 5-0 from same team , then whip montrose ,crazy results right there . mind you some things never change   🙂

Plus ca change mon ami, plus ca change ... aye?

1 hour ago, Vegetableman said:

Force majeure ?

Perhaps ... but I'm not sure if the likes of big Efe failing to set his alarm clock and missing the bus, or half our team gaming on Call of Duty for 8 hours pre-match would be classed as unexpected events outwith our control in our case tbf ... Marvin may beg to differ, aye?

Edited by Otis Blue

10 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

image.png.5b5e431785c910c7676aed15d16a9a0c.png

Always time for a sage observation from dahn Peckham way ...

Del: One of my most favouritist meals is Duck à l’Orange, but I don’t know how to say that in French.
Rodney: It’s canard.
Del: You can say that again bruv!

2 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

Always time for a sage observation from dahn Peckham way ...

Del: One of my most favouritist meals is Duck à l’Orange, but I don’t know how to say that in French.
Rodney: It’s canard.
Del: You can say that again bruv!

Yeah, brilliant scene.

It's on YouTube but the quality is shit.