2023–24 Highland League Chat

welshbairn

14 hours ago, virginton said:

So why did both sets of players management and club officials request fully ninety minutes to apply treatment to areas of an already playable park? 

The point that you're claiming has also been missed out from the tear-drenched, joint club statement, which confirms to any rational observer that it is in fact total bollocks.

Your posts are starting to  descend to the bigoted drivel you used to spout when we were in the SPFL.. 

14 hours ago, invergowrie arab said:

Strathspey have the licensed ground, club doctor, protecting people policies and everything else a licensed club needs.

Loch Ness have some kits that speccy loser groundhoppers like which would make less sense playing out of Grantown than the Moray Firth. 

Strathspey have won one game this season, two last season and one the season before that. The manager has jacked it in and there's rumours of the players leaving on mass. Loch Ness have gone from being a pub team, Gellions, to winning the North Caley in a very brief period of time. They have ambitions of playing in the Highland League but have a near zero chance of getting their own entry level licensed ground in the area without a massive change of heart by Highland Council or a squillionaire backer. The only problem I can see with a merger is coming up with a new name, Grantown makes no less sense than Fortrose location wise.

47 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Strathspey have won one game this season, two last season and one the season before that. The manager has jacked it in and there's rumours of the players leaving on mass. Loch Ness have gone from being a pub team, Gellions, to winning the North Caley in a very brief period of time. They have ambitions of playing in the Highland League but have a near zero chance of getting their own entry level licensed ground in the area without a massive change of heart by Highland Council or a squillionaire backer. The only problem I can see with a merger is coming up with a new name, Grantown makes no less sense than Fortrose location wise.

It might be easier and cheaper to invent a whole new tourist industry around The Monster of Lochindorb than it would to get a ground in Inverness. 

Fair play to both teams if they make it work. 2 teams missing key ingredients the other one has, we can bitch about the name and "they play nowhere near Loch Ness" but to anyone who hasn't had an IV postcode they are near enough 

5 hours ago, theoriginalhedge said:

Your posts are starting to  descend to the bigoted drivel you used to spout when we were in the SPFL.. 

Answer the very straightforward question please.

It humours me that Buckie seem to avoid their Twitter feed whenever the opposition score.  Not quite as much as this though:

ETA: aye, I know it's an old post, but effectively pinned.

Edited by Hedgecutter

8 hours ago, welshbairn said:

The only problem I can see with a merger is coming up with a new name, Grantown makes no less sense than Fortrose location wise.

Badenoch And Strathspey Thistle And Ross District FC

The merchandise alone would make them a minted global sensation.  You know it makes sense.

3 hours ago, Hedgecutter said:

It humours me that Buckie seem to avoid their Twitter feed whenever the opposition score.  Not quite as much as this though:

ETA: aye, I know it's an old post, but effectively pinned.

That was the night Spurs opened their new stadium and we stole the headlines on SSN with that tweet. 😂

As for Buckie today, eight minutes effort, one moment of quality, and then a full second half of playing like rubes. 

Off the field, a Buckie blazer was caught vandalising seats in the stand, their manager refused to shake hands at full time, their squad didn’t come back to the bar for post-match hospitality, and their fans all fucked off with ten minutes to go. You can’t buy class. :lol:

On 08/03/2024 at 20:40, virginton said:

So why did both sets of players management and club officials request fully ninety minutes to apply treatment to areas of an already playable park? 

The point that you're claiming has also been missed out from the tear-drenched, joint club statement, which confirms to any rational observer that it is in fact total bollocks.

It's really quite incredible that you still can't get your head around this.

Clubs: pitch looks playable enough, everyone here's in agreement.

Ref: Naw it isnae. 

Clubs: What's the issue?

Ref: That soggy patch there [points finger]

Clubs: What if you give us an hour or so to treat it to the overly-high standard you're after, saving everybody a whole additional midweek evening & night?

Ref: I acknowledge your chronic backlog, the several thousand collective road miles the away fans/players have already made, and the extra time & considerable expense this will entail, but my tea might get cold.

Clubs: Aww come on.

VT:

bruce-almighty-comedy.gif.c6c495e8231b67d03b4463b15b55622e.gif

Edited by Hedgecutter

2 hours ago, Hedgecutter said:

Badenoch And Strathspey Thistle And Ross District FC

The merchandise alone would make them a minted global sensation.  You know it makes sense.

They'd be the big name of Scottish football.

1 hour ago, Hedgecutter said:

It's really quite incredible that you still can't get your head around this.

Clubs: pitch looks playable enough, everyone here's in agreement.

Ref: Naw it isnae. 

Clubs: What's the issue?

Ref: That soggy patch there [points finger]

Clubs: What if you give us an hour or so to treat it to the overly-high standard you're after, saving everybody a whole additional midweek evening & night?

Ref: I acknowledge your chronic backlog, the several thousand collective road miles the away fans/players have already made, and the extra time & considerable expense this will entail, but my tea might get cold.

Clubs: Aww come on.

Reveal hidden contents

VT:

bruce-almighty-comedy.gif.c6c495e8231b67d03b4463b15b55622e.gif

Nice try, but your loveably crafted dialogue betrays the reality that an area of the pitch was indeed waterlogged - hence the need to  'treat' it as confirmed by the joint club statement. And if both clubs were so confident that the 'soggy' area of the pitch was playable, then requesting a fully 90 minute delay to anyone with better things to do with the remainder of their weekend than placating a bunch of braying club blazers was an utterly moronic strategy. 

The more generous interpretation is that both clubs knew fine well that the pitch was not in fact playable at 3pm, hence 1) the need for treatment 2) the extensive delay requested and 3) the otherwise non-sequitur reference to the weather forecast (which if the pitch was already playable, would be irrelevant). 

Very straightforward stuff tbh. 

53 minutes ago, virginton said:

Nice try, but your loveably crafted dialogue betrays the reality that an area of the pitch was indeed waterlogged - hence the need to  'treat' it as confirmed by the joint club statement. And if both clubs were so confident that the 'soggy' area of the pitch was playable, then requesting a fully 90 minute delay to anyone with better things to do with the remainder of their weekend than placating a bunch of braying club blazers was an utterly moronic strategy. 

The more generous interpretation is that both clubs knew fine well that the pitch was not in fact playable at 3pm, hence 1) the need for treatment 2) the extensive delay requested and 3) the otherwise non-sequitur reference to the weather forecast (which if the pitch was already playable, would be irrelevant). 

Very straightforward stuff tbh. 

Here's another scenario .

1. The ref only bothered to turn up at 2.pm. 

2. The ref then called the game off at 2.15pm. 

3. The ref was nowhere to be seen at 3.00pm 

4. The ref just wasn't interested and should be handed his arse on a plate. 

Edited by theoriginalhedge

9 hours ago, virginton said:

Answer the very straightforward question please.

It’s only the referee who thought it was unplayable.  Everybody else thought it was ok.  The extra hour and a half was  to satisfy him and him only.

3 hours ago, tamthebam said:

Doh! Fancy not spotting that! 

Hmmm.  Too discrete, huh.  Well fear not, for I have passed 10 mins of nightshift boredom by tastefully designing a prototype club crest for any near-future club merger:

image.png.ff13a3d19926ce827633dffdb66ba947.png

In it is the Kessock Bridge; the critical piece of infrastructure that links the Fortrose & Strathspey areas.  This crosses some wavy waters which ingeniously doubles as an outline for Nessie. The latter pays homage to the Loch Ness FC heritage, whilst the thistle-turned-football reflects the Strathy Jags legacy.  The acronym represents the club's ambition by preparing for the arrival OF fans who may struggle to read the surrounding text.

9 hours ago, Hedgecutter said:

Hmmm.  Too discrete, huh.  Well fear not, for I have passed 10 mins of nightshift boredom by tastefully designing a prototype club crest for any near-future club merger:

image.png.ff13a3d19926ce827633dffdb66ba947.png

In it is the Kessock Bridge; the critical piece of infrastructure that links the Fortrose & Strathspey areas.  This crosses some wavy waters which ingeniously doubles as an outline for Nessie. The latter pays homage to the Loch Ness FC heritage, whilst the thistle-turned-football reflects the Strathy Jags legacy.  The acronym represents the club's ambition by preparing for the arrival OF fans who may struggle to read the surrounding text.

can you do a badge for Culloden, Urquhart, Ness and Tain FC?