Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

25 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

It's more just a case that she was pished on Saturday.

She ordered a Lego grand piano (£270!!) the same night, and it arrived on Sunday. 

We've all been there.

(The ill-advised online purchase, not your wife). 

20 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

If it's anything serious they'll get back to you a lot quicker than that.

I had a x-ray one morning - "Results in a week, Mr Jacksgranda" - got a phone call from my doctor that evening, "Nothing to worry about, but..." Aye right.

Turned out it was nothing to worry about, but they were just makking siccar.

Not heard anything back so will take that as a good sign!

23 minutes ago, Molotov said:

Where's the fun in that? 

33 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

It's more just a case that she was pished on Saturday.

She ordered a Lego grand piano (£270!!) the same night, and it arrived on Sunday. 

Again, things could have been worse.

Collie.JPG

2 hours ago, BTFD said:

Washed my bedding yesterday and it's come out of the machine covered in some fairly large (and deep) purple ink stains. They weren't there before the wash, and there's no trace of anything that could've been responsible (purple pen being the obvious culprit).

WTF is that all about?

Had a machine years ago that used to do this randomly to light coloured cotton fabrics, most often bed sheets, and never ever got to the bottom of it either. 

2 hours ago, BTFD said:

Washed my bedding yesterday and it's come out of the machine covered in some fairly large (and deep) purple ink stains. They weren't there before the wash, and there's no trace of anything that could've been responsible (purple pen being the obvious culprit).

WTF is that all about?

Maybe something stuck in the filter?

4 hours ago, scottsdad said:

Last week, I told Scott that we would go and see Oppenheimer. I had today pencilled in for this.

On Saturday, the wife (after a couple of glasses of wine) said it would be great of all 4 of us went to see Barbie instead. My daughter didn't fancy Oppenheimer and isn't all that keen on Barbie, but she went along with it on the promise of a big bag of popcorn and a slush. 

No worries. I told Scott we'd see Oppenheimer next week instead, and the wife booked the tickets. I could endure Barbie, I thought, as it was a family night out.

This morning... "I really don't fancy the cinema tonight. Why don't you just take the kids?"

So a 43 year old guy, his 18 year old son and 13 year old daughter - none of whom actually chose this movie - will be going. 

Just hope it turns out to be a pleasant surprise...

Most theatres will offer to refund ticket purchases until a certain point, still time to change movies…or go rogue and go to theatre four instead of theatre one!

4 hours ago, BTFD said:

WTF is that all about?

Do you wash your gear using the stuff swimming pools use to show up people who pish in the pool?

3 hours ago, hk blues said:

We've all been there.

(The ill-advised online purchase, not your wife). 

Mibbes aye, mibbes naw 😉

26 minutes ago, Boghead ranter said:

Do you wash your gear using the stuff swimming pools use to show up people who pish in the pool?

Nah, it's more like big drips, like you'd expect to see everywhere if Thanos made a porn film.

Watching the cycling earlier. (I like seeing Glasgow on the telly.) Between action it's showing various landmarks with descriptions of them, and Glasgow University was one of them. "Founded in 1451." "4th oldest university in the English speaking world." "Alumni including James Watt and Adam Smith." "Architecture has stunning Harry Potter vibes and is a must visit Insta-spot." How easily you can chart the decline of civilisation in a paragraph.

Being Edinburgh resident I pretty much feel like I live in a Harry Potter movie set now. 

If anyone has seen the Potter walking tours, with the idiot waving the wand at traffic lights and so on, I doubt you'll be at all surprised to learn that an acquaintance was once walking past the National Museum on Chambers Street, only to overhear one of these wizarding p***ks confidently announce to the tour party that the magnificent building in  front of them, i.e. the 1866 Royal Scottish Museum building, was once Edinburgh's main train station. I don't know whether or not it was claimed the Hogwarts Express also passed through there, but it wouldn't surprise me.

Tourism for bellends, by bellends.

25 minutes ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

Watching the cycling earlier. (I like seeing Glasgow on the telly.) Between action it's showing various landmarks with descriptions of them, and Glasgow University was one of them. "Founded in 1451." "4th oldest university in the English speaking world." "Alumni including James Watt and Adam Smith." "Architecture has stunning Harry Potter vibes and is a must visit Insta-spot." How easily you can chart the decline of civilisation in a paragraph.

I was thinking along the same lines when I was looking at his sign in the window of student accommodation.

Halls.thumb.jpg.e0caf7e8e567938977c61fc2ccaa7725.jpg

6 hours ago, Boo Khaki said:

Being Edinburgh resident I pretty much feel like I live in a Harry Potter movie set now. 

If anyone has seen the Potter walking tours, with the idiot waving the wand at traffic lights and so on, I doubt you'll be at all surprised to learn that an acquaintance was once walking past the National Museum on Chambers Street, only to overhear one of these wizarding p***ks confidently announce to the tour party that the magnificent building in  front of them, i.e. the 1866 Royal Scottish Museum building, was once Edinburgh's main train station. I don't know whether or not it was claimed the Hogwarts Express also passed through there, but it wouldn't surprise me.

Tourism for bellends, by bellends.

F*ck me ragged, at least get the facts right if you're going to fleece people. (One fact being Harry Potter isn't as good as Tiffany Aching and JK Rowling is a boot) 

And I'm off to wire Greyfriars Bobby up to a car battery. Rub the nose now you cnuts.

10 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

And I'm off to wire Greyfriars Bobby up to a car battery. Rub the nose now you cnuts.

Dunno if I shared this brainwave on here before, but, if the cooncil are genuinely keen to prevent people touching it but don't want to create a pedestrian hazard by gating it off or something, then all they need to do is get a wee guy to go around at 5:30am and smear cooncil approved dug shite aw over it. Might no stop certain people, right enough, but 🤷‍♂️

Edited by Boo Khaki

15 hours ago, BTFD said:

Nah, it's more like big drips, like you'd expect to see everywhere if Thanos made a porn film.

Your drum's f****d. 

If it's not rotating enough, the washing liquid or whatever else you put in will not be getting dispersed enough and will stain the sheets.

Either get a new machine or open the door from time-to-time during the wash and give the drum a wee spin.