Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

I got a letter a couple of days ago as well. Not impressed.

Never been asked to do jury duty but have been told there is a selection process prior to officially sitting in court.

Does the letter say you have to look as respectable as possible or can you turn up dressed like a jakey or a pimp in the hope you get out of doing it?

It was just the initial letter asking me to confirm my details, and asking if there's any dates I can't due to holidays booked or whatever. There was also a letter giving the various criteria that makes you ineligible, but I'm afraid that what with me not being an MP or a man of the cloth, and due to being of sound mind, I appear to be stuck with it.

Hardly anyone I know has ever subsequently ended up being selected at the end of the whole rigmarole.

Never been asked to do jury duty but have been told there is a selection process prior to officially sitting in court.

Does the letter say you have to look as respectable as possible or can you turn up dressed like a jakey or a pimp in the hope you get out of doing it?

It's done at random from the 30-odd folk that go.

To some (definitely me) this will be more than than a PTTGOYN but I can't find the dog thread.......

I had to take my dog to get get put down today.

Raise a glass to the The Mighty GUSS.

To some (definitely me) this will be more than than a PTTGOYN but I can't find the dog thread.......

I had to take my dog to get get put down today.

Raise a glass to the The Mighty GUSS.

Sorry to hear that. They become such a big part of the family.

Think the brakes on my car are fucked :( , approaching a corner on the way to work this morning I tapped the brakes lightly only to hear some awful screeching noise coming from the front right hand wheel area. After hitting the brakes another 2 or 3 times it stopped but its got me worried.

A trip to the garage beckons tomorrow i think.

So many people seem to think that seeking medical attention at the time dictates the success of your claim later on. In truth you'd have to see a doctor/specialist for a medical appointment/examination as part of a personal injury claim anyway and thier opinion would be used as the basis for negotiation with the third party insurers/solicitor. It's not at all based on whether you visited your GP or A&E and got a diagnosis at the time.

Yes. And normally that happens a few months after the event rendering a useless waste of time.

Whiplash is not detectable through any medical tests, only by symptom. So if you go to your GP within a few days of the bump with a list of symptoms it goes on your record and it aids your claim.

I did it on the advice of my brother in law(a doctor) <_<

:(Hope it's not that bad tomorrow and she recovers quickly!

I thought I was recovering ok from the accident I had back in March when someone ran into the back of my car at a roundabout. Then I went to Alloa last week and boy did I know about it after getting cold standing watching the match. :(

She is not well at all and is in great pain,She is not going to work on Monday which is a pain as she is the manager

Yes. And normally that happens a few months after the event rendering a useless waste of time.

Whiplash is not detectable through any medical tests, only by symptom. So if you go to your GP within a few days of the bump with a list of symptoms it goes on your record and it aids your claim.

I did it on the advice of my brother in law(a doctor) <_<

Fair enough. It certainly does no harm to go. I can't see how it would aid a claim though. I worked for various personal injury solicitors dealing with cases and it wouldn't hinder your claim if you hadn't sought medical advice. There are plenty of legitimate reasons for not doing so and the number of people making successful claims without the details on their medical records backs that up.

The medical report (even if several months later) isn't useless. The doctor should recognise the symptoms from the claimant's description and will be educated and experienced enough to know what the injury is/was and whether it is attributable to the accident. Often at the time someone sees a medico-legal expert they are still suffering symptoms in any event.

I wasn't criticising in any way, btw, just saying things as I understand them. :)

It was just the initial letter asking me to confirm my details, and asking if there's any dates I can't due to holidays booked or whatever. There was also a letter giving the various criteria that makes you ineligible, but I'm afraid that what with me not being an MP or a man of the cloth, and due to being of sound mind, I appear to be stuck with it.

Hardly anyone I know has ever subsequently ended up being selected at the end of the whole rigmarole.

Here's a tip. Turn up in your sharpest suit, creases ironed in, hitler style hairdoo and moustache.

When your name is called, stand, do an Airdrie salute and shout "Zeig Heil, kill the neds."

The defence agent will object to you in a split second, seeing you as a daily mail reading member of the hang em high brigade and you are off scot free.

Seriously though I done a watered down version of this yonks ago. When my name was called I stood up sharply, shouted 'HERE!' and clicked my heels. Needless to say it set off the looney alarm and I was happily walking my way back to the Train station 5 mins later. :)

Fair enough. It certainly does no harm to go. I can't see how it would aid a claim though. I worked for various personal injury solicitors dealing with cases and it wouldn't hinder your claim if you hadn't sought medical advice. There are plenty of legitimate reasons for not doing so and the number of people making successful claims without the details on their medical records backs that up.

The medical report (even if several months later) isn't useless. The doctor should recognise the symptoms from the claimant's description and will be educated and experienced enough to know what the injury is/was and whether it is attributable to the accident. Often at the time someone sees a medico-legal expert they are still suffering symptoms in any event.

I wasn't criticising in any way, btw, just saying things as I understand them. :)

I wasn't being defensive. But it just looks better if you go to the medical profession with a whiplash injury first rather than an ambulance chasing w**k of a lawyer I suppose. It's more gentlemanly. :lol:

Here's a tip. Turn up Seriously though I done a watered down version of this yonks ago. When my name was called I stood up sharply, shouted 'HERE!' and clicked my heels. Needless to say it set off the looney alarm and I was happily walking my way back to the Train station 5 mins later. :)

Surely you shouldn't be allowed to be called anyway? Why do I appear to be the only one who'd love to be called. Just for the sake of doing it. It intrigues me to see what actually happens.

I wasn't being defensive. But it just looks better if you go to the medical profession with a whiplash injury first rather than an ambulance chasing w**k of a lawyer I suppose. It's more gentlemanly. :lol:

Case law doesn't care what it looks like. Having said that, I did see the doctor after my own accident earlier this year, although I wished I hadn't bothered! I then had to get balshy with my parents to stop them trying to send me to A&E the following day *as well* because "it'll look better for a claim love". Aye, because if I've complained bitterly instead of taking painkillers, being sensible and getting on with looking after my children my claim will be worth more and my injury will look worse to the doctor who's seen it all before. :blink: People in general do tend to feel it looks less put on and feel better themselves about claiming if they've seen a doctor at the time - as though it legitimises the injury somehow.

Edited by HGG