The New Raith Rovers Thread

42 minutes ago, Ymscorer said:

Millen at centre back a bad idea. Defending high balls is not his strength. We need an aggressive cb who will win high balls all game. Murray a big miss.

The basis of this is O’Reilly is quite strong in the air, but needs some experience around him because he hasn’t played with these guys before. It’s part of the same reason that Corr and O’Reilly seems an unlikely pairing tomorrow.

We’re in a tight spot here, with a lack of resources to deploy effectively. This game is going to be a real managerial challenge for IM…will he resort to a 4-4-2…try to stay in his 4-2-3-1 or circle back to a 4-1-3-2?

I see from Social Media the away shirts are now not available until at least January! Pretty shocking considering they sold out within days of initial release.  Not sure if Rovers failed to order enough or Joma supply is just bad but that’s extremely poor commercial business somewhere in the chain.  You’re also expecting people to pay full price for a shirt that’s already halfway through the season. 

Edited by San Starko Rover

17 minutes ago, San Starko Rover said:

I see from Social Media the away shirts are now not available until at least January! Pretty shocking considering they sold out within days of initial release.  Not sure if Rovers failed to order enough or Joma supply is just bad but that’s extremely poor commercial business somewhere in the chain.  You’re also expecting people to pay full price for a shirt that’s already halfway through the season. 

Taken from Official Website.

IMG_20231123_173428.jpg

15 minutes ago, San Starko Rover said:

20231123_173510.thumb.jpg.e5bd807271b832e3478d41aef120bb62.jpg

It's pretty clear it's an unavoidable situation based on what's been said. Joma have been excellent so far from what I've heard. It would've been better for both parties to have it out for Christmas so it's not for want of trying. 

The away kit has been a resounding success so I don't see why we'd reduce it half way through a season when it's clear there's still demand. 

5 hours ago, TxRover said:

The basis of this is O’Reilly is quite strong in the air, but needs some experience around him because he hasn’t played with these guys before. It’s part of the same reason that Corr and O’Reilly seems an unlikely pairing tomorrow.

We’re in a tight spot here, with a lack of resources to deploy effectively. This game is going to be a real managerial challenge for IM…will he resort to a 4-4-2…try to stay in his 4-2-3-1 or circle back to a 4-1-3-2?

Would rather play Corr than Millen at Cb. Millen at right back getting in crosses a better option.

19 hours ago, TxRover said:

I don’t think Corr is ready and able to play the full 90. He only returned to practice fully AFTER the Accies game and his cameo. Also, pairing a returning young player with a new teammate is not a good plan. Much as I’d like Brown in the middle to cover Byrnes absence, it’s more important to play him at CB. If Masson is healthy, he’s more likely to start than Corr, and I don’t think IM would do that either. O’Reilly needs a veteran player teamed with him because he new to the team/players, and Dick and O’Reilly both prefer LCB, hence are an unlikely pair too.

Now, there is something I hadn’t considered…Millen has, on occasion, played at CB. If Millen played at RCB, with O’Reilly at LCB and Dick at LB, then we possibly have Masson or McGill at RB…or perhaps even Mullin, who has played at RB a few times (and once at LB). That gives O’Reilly stability and experience for his introduction.

He has to go with Corr and O’Reilly imo there’s literally no one else because brown has to play in sole MF position again there’s no one else that knows/does what a specialist in that position does… O’Reilly does have experience Dick, Millen and Brown in front of him communicating, none of this square pegs round holes pish like this guy could fill in here and there just play them in a natural position….

Like when have you ever seen Mullin play at FB? When have you ever seen Millen play at CB apart from a 3 where it was forced? Like literally doesn’t make sense at all plus he’s not great in the air and sometimes caught sleeping and could be got at defensively 

12 hours ago, RRFC_Liam said:

He has to go with Corr and O’Reilly imo there’s literally no one else because brown has to play in sole MF position again there’s no one else that knows/does what a specialist in that position does… O’Reilly does have experience Dick, Millen and Brown in front of him communicating, none of this square pegs round holes pish like this guy could fill in here and there just play them in a natural position….

Like when have you ever seen Mullin play at FB? When have you ever seen Millen play at CB apart from a 3 where it was forced? Like literally doesn’t make sense at all plus he’s not great in the air and sometimes caught sleeping and could be got at defensively 

I’d love to say play Corr at CB with O’Reilly, but I don’t think Corr is fit enough for more than about 45 minutes or so. He only returned to full practice AFTER the Accies game after being out for three and a half months…there is no way he’s ready for a full match.if Masson is healthy, he’ll start with O’Reilly at CB is my thought, but either is very much risky…however, the need for Brown at DM is serious with Byrne out.

Round pegs in square holes is a fitba specialty…see Connolly at LB, McGill all over, etc.

Edited by TxRover

Not a dig as I genuinely can't remember, but did Dylan Corr perform well across the last three League Cup group games? Folk saying he should be chucked straight back in suggest he did, and to be fair, I only managed the home game against Dunfermline, but I thought he was pretty poor that day, and didn't look quite ready for that level. 

I think Murray's in a bit of a rock and a hard place with this one, but I'd probably lean towards having as many experienced players as possible, which would mean Scott Brown and Daniel O'Reilly as centre halves, maybe dropping Sam Stanton and Dylan Easton a bit deeper, and that allows Callum Smith, Lewis Vaughan and Aidan Connolly to play behind Jack Hamilton. 

I mean, it might end up 4-3 to someone, but it'll be a laugh at least. 

Edited by McGuigan1978

Suspect this game may be one too far in terms of injuries and suspensions.

The three options I can see are:

1. An entirely unfamiliar and untested CB pairing of O'Reilly and Corr, with Brown moving into midfield

2. Keep Brown at CB and O'Reilly beside him, creating a gap in midfield.

3. Move Brown into midfield, move Dick in beside O'Reilly and McGill to makeshift left back.

I think option 2 is most likely, but would prefer we didn't keep the 4-1-3-2 shape as we were badly over run using Stanton in that role. With Jack Hamilton back fit, going 4-2-3-1 and moving McGill in besides Easton or Stanton would be my preference.

6 hours ago, McGuigan1978 said:

Not a dig as I genuinely can't remember, but did Dylan Corr perform well across the last three League Cup group games? Folk saying he should be chucked straight back in suggest he did, and to be fair, I only managed the home game against Dunfermline, but I thought he was pretty poor that day, and didn't look quite ready for that level. 

I think I'd probably best categorise him as "had a mistake in him", from pre-season and the League Cup. What you'd expect from a teenage defender, really. If I remember rightly, he was specifically at fault for a goal down at Annan. He did look much more comfortable with the ball at his feet than Adam Masson, though. 

It'd certainly be a big ask to throw Dylan Corr into a Fife derby, again, but he would at least benefit from Scott Brown's protection in front of the defence. I think Murray will stick with Brown in the back line, but it's asking a lot of Sam Stanton to hold that midfield together by himself. 

Edited by Raith Against The Machine

1 hour ago, Raith Against The Machine said:

I think I'd probably best categorise him as "had a mistake in him", from pre-season and the League Cup. What you'd expect from a teenage defender, really. If I remember rightly, he was specifically at fault for a goal down at Annan. He did look much more comfortable with the ball at his feet than Adam Mason, though. 

It'd certainly be a big ask to throw Dylan Corr into a Fife derby, again, but he would at least benefit from Scott Brown's protection in front of the defence. I think Murray will stick with Brown in the back line, but it's asking a lot of Sam Stanton to hold that midfield together by himself. 

Most defenders “have a mistake in them”. It’s funny how we always blame the younger players but not the more experienced ones. 

According to reports this is the game the laddie broke his foot in so he was playing with an injury. 

If o’reilly was a decent player why has he not had a club before now? He’s not played for 6 months. Quite concerning 

28 minutes ago, mrraith71 said:

Most defenders “have a mistake in them”. It’s funny how we always blame the younger players but not the more experienced ones. 

Aye, show me a defender that doesn't have a mistake in them especially at this level. 

Corr showed a lot of promise pre-season and in fairness, I'd say the Dunfermline game was his most promising. He had that moment where he'd ducked under the ball to allow it back to the keeper and it hit him but he recovered it before it got dangerous very well regardless. Post match it was Watson that looked more concerning when he was being burnt for pace by McCann. 

I'd say it's too early for him to come back in for 90 mins tonight, Renton's "option 2" is probably the most likely with McGill at left back and two left footed centre halves in O'Reilly and Dick. 

Edited by CountryBumpkin

I think it will be Brown in midfield and Corr/new lad. Would probably prefer the option of Brown remaining with Oreilly and Stanton/Easton central.

That aside fair play to the club for trying to drum up interest with what seems like constant emails. I'm just completely Meh about the fixture. Pub it is and in figuring out why I'm not that excited its either the 4th derby of 6 that doesnt inspire, ticket price isnt great but on reflection not crazy or because we're facing big league based opps. 

Disappointed about the away strips as it's a missed opp. Doesnt sound like the clubs fault but christmas kits need to be sent to santa as a "pre-order" voucher doesn't cut it. Expect to end up in JD sports Hell giving into PSG type guff instead. 

Have Rovers ever done Christmas jumpers?