Unpopular opinions.

I like dogs or I used to like dogs, but in the estate I live in it's like it's become compulsory to own at least one little fucking yappy dog and then do absolutely zero obedience training with it. Every neighbour on the section I live in now has two of these yappy dogs, one guy (a good c**t) has managed to train his wee dogs not to bark at every other dog or little thing that happens but the rest, once one starts they all go mental many times a day and almost always around the time the weans go to bed, which is really useful and also coincides with the daily 'who can open and slam their car door the loudest and as many times as possible' contest. 

I know the world doesn't revolve around my weans going to bed, but when you've had fuckall sleep for the majority of the year and you want one night of peace, these things start to get to you a little. "Pregnancy and parenting thread" for this pish etc... The parent thing aside, it's fucking annoying anyway. 

18 hours ago, thistledo said:

I like dogs or I used to like dogs, but in the estate I live in it's like it's become compulsory to own at least one little fucking yappy dog and then do absolutely zero obedience training with it. Every neighbour on the section I live in now has two of these yappy dogs, one guy (a good c**t) has managed to train his wee dogs not to bark at every other dog or little thing that happens but the rest, once one starts they all go mental many times a day and almost always around the time the weans go to bed, which is really useful and also coincides with the daily 'who can open and slam their car door the loudest and as many times as possible' contest. 

I know the world doesn't revolve around my weans going to bed, but when you've had fuckall sleep for the majority of the year and you want one night of peace, these things start to get to you a little. "Pregnancy and parenting thread" for this pish etc... The parent thing aside, it's fucking annoying anyway. 

I have always had dogs as pets, and I trained my own ones as my parents did when I was young. But since my springer died 2 years ago, then I  moved house & changed job, I've not had another pet.

I still like dogs but I'm growing to hate (irresponsible) dog owners. There's dog shit all over the pavement & regular continuous barking competitions in the morning & evening, it's just not necessarily imo.

On 01/09/2023 at 07:04, Cosmic Joe said:

Apostrophes are important. 

^^^ fan of Look and Read

21 hours ago, thistledo said:

Every estate seems to have a house that punts their dug out in the morning to wander the streets until the evening, apparently not caring that they're responsible if it eats the face off a toddler.

Presumably they think they live with a really odd looking cat.

22 hours ago, thistledo said:

I like dogs or I used to like dogs, but in the estate I live in it's like it's become compulsory to own at least one little fucking yappy dog and then do absolutely zero obedience training with it. Every neighbour on the section I live in now has two of these yappy dogs, one guy (a good c**t) has managed to train his wee dogs not to bark at every other dog or little thing that happens but the rest, once one starts they all go mental many times a day

After getting ours ~6 months ago, the next door neighbours' dog has started frantically barking through the fence whenever ours dares to venture out to the garden.  Sometimes it'll just start barking when ours hasn't left the house, which it never did before.  

Naturally ours will bark when the postie rattles the letterbox, and just that sets next door off.

Issue is that I've heard the neighbour two doors along (that I don't see very often) shouting towards our dog by name over the fence/hedge on the (understandable) assumption that its ours causing the problem.  Trouble is that our next door neighbours seem incapable of shutting theirs up once it starts.  Could easily keep barking for 20 minutes at a time.

On 02/09/2023 at 07:20, Sensible Soccer🏴 said:

I have always had dogs as pets, and I trained my own ones as my parents did when I was young. But since my springer died 2 years ago, then I  moved house & changed job, I've not had another pet.

I still like dogs but I'm growing to hate (irresponsible) dog owners. There's dog shit all over the pavement & regular continuous barking competitions in the morning & evening, it's just not necessarily imo.

On 02/09/2023 at 10:48, BTFD said:

^^^ fan of Look and Read

Reveal hidden contents

Every estate seems to have a house that punts their dug out in the morning to wander the streets until the evening, apparently not caring that they're responsible if it eats the face off a toddler.

Presumably they think they live with a really odd looking cat.

On 02/09/2023 at 11:28, Hedgecutter said:

After getting ours ~6 months ago, the next door neighbours' dog has started frantically barking through the fence whenever ours dares to venture out to the garden.  Sometimes it'll just start barking when ours hasn't left the house, which it never did before.  

Naturally ours will bark when the postie rattles the letterbox, and just that sets next door off.

Issue is that I've heard the neighbour two doors along (that I don't see very often) shouting towards our dog by name over the fence/hedge on the (understandable) assumption that its ours causing the problem.  Trouble is that our next door neighbours seem incapable of shutting theirs up once it starts.  Could easily keep barking for 20 minutes at a time.

This is a lot of the problem, dogs fired into the back garden at various times during the day and lack of socialising just results in barking contests. I don't even see most of these dogs getting out for big walks, the token walk around the estate and then back, wow, stimulating other than the aforementioned good c**t who I see out all the time with his dogs and funnily enough his dogs don't bark at everything.  

I should have stated before, I actually do like dogs and I don't like the irresponsible owners, I hate the lazy approach to owning a dog and not training or giving them proper exercise. 

1 hour ago, scottsdad said:

Heard my neighbours at the weekend talking to their dogs, and referring to themselves as "Mum" and "Dad". 

Is this normal?

53 minutes ago, oldbitterandgrumpy said:

Sadly nowadays, yes. 

No, it’ll never be normal. It is depressingly common, though. 

3 hours ago, ICTChris said:

Lots of people getting dogs during the pandemic without any real idea of how to train, own, look after them maybe?

Could be that, there's a couple along at the end, who seem like absolute oddballs got two dogs towards the end of lockdown, I've never seen someone look so awkward walking a dog in all my life. Like an alien taking a dog for a walk not understanding what on Earth is going on. 

1 hour ago, scottsdad said:

Heard my neighbours at the weekend talking to their dogs, and referring to themselves as "Mum" and "Dad". 

Is this normal?

Hard drive check required for them I think. Same for people that have social media accounts for their dog and post as if it's the dog posting. f**k me man. 

1 minute ago, thistledo said:

Could be that, there's a couple along at the end, who seem like absolute oddballs got two dogs towards the end of lockdown, I've never seen someone look so awkward walking a dog in all my life. Like an alien taking a dog for a walk not understanding what on Earth is going on. 

Hard drive check required for them I think. Same for people that have social media accounts for their dog and post as if it's the dog posting. f**k me man. 

I used to work with a guy who was one day having a conversation with his wife about ‘the wee man’ in a way that made me assume it was their son.  I found out later it was their dog.  Strange folk.

1 hour ago, Granny Danger said:

I used to work with a guy who was one day having a conversation with his wife about ‘the wee man’ in a way that made me assume it was their son.  I found out later it was their dog.  Strange folk.

Are you sure they weren't discussing his lad? 

9 hours ago, ICTChris said:

Lots of people getting dogs during the pandemic without any real idea of how to train, own, look after them maybe?

People wanting to get a dog should have to live as a dog for five years before they are allowed to get one. That'll separate the impulse buyers from the serious ones.

9 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said:

People wanting to get a dog should have to live as a dog for five years before they are allowed to get one. That'll separate the impulse buyers from the serious ones.

It'll seperate their knackers from themselves anyway