The Falkirk FC Thread

Wow , how quickly history gets rewritten on this forum - one bad couple of months and all of a sudden Houston was as out of his depth as that all time major managerial disaster Eddie May. 
Let's conveniently forget all the play offs, beating Hibs all the time & Sevco and a Scottish Cup final - patently out of his depth obviously.  

Hiya Peter, Hiya Pal!

4 hours ago, Hank von Hell said:

Wow , how quickly history gets rewritten on this forum - one bad couple of months and all of a sudden Houston was as out of his depth as that all time major managerial disaster Eddie May. 

Let's conveniently forget all the play offs, beating Hibs all the time & Sevco and a Scottish Cup final - patently out of his depth obviously.  

Right Peter you done a good job with quality players like Leahy, Alston and Vaulks but tried to replace them with Gallagher, Harris and Rankin so settle.

25 minutes ago, gav-ffc said:

Right Peter you done a good job with quality players like Leahy, Alston and Vaulks but tried to replace them with Gallagher, Harris and Rankin so settle.

His replacements ultimately let him down in the end, but he’s largely responsible for getting the best out of the players you’ve mentioned (sure it was him who even decided to put Leahy LB to begin with).

1 minute ago, JinkyBairn said:

Really pisses me off when folk slate Houston as some diddy manager for us.

He gave us the only enjoyable spell since we got relegated almost a decade ago.

I was surprised at how well Houston did. I thought he was a bad appointment at the time. 

He did well though. I think history will judge him kindly, though he's yet another manager that bought poorly, which was his downfall. Never a fan of him being a bit of a tool in interviews either. 

25 minutes ago, JinkyBairn said:

His replacements ultimately let him down in the end, but he’s largely responsible for getting the best out of the players you’ve mentioned (sure it was him who even decided to put Leahy LB to begin with).

Holt played him there for the under 20s.

38 minutes ago, JinkyBairn said:

Really pisses me off when folk slate Houston as some diddy manager for us.

He gave us the only enjoyable spell since we got relegated almost a decade ago.

Correct.

Should’ve been shown the door after the Dundee United play off games imo.

5 minutes ago, gav-ffc said:

Correct.

Should’ve been shown the door after the Dundee United play off games imo.

In hindsight aye, but I think he deserved the chance to go for it again considering there were no Hibs or Rangers in the league this time.

Just a shame that the start of last season was an absolute bomb scare and it turned out the way it did.

14 minutes ago, JinkyBairn said:

In hindsight aye, but I think he deserved the chance to go for it again considering there were no Hibs or Rangers in the league this time.

Just a shame that the start of last season was an absolute bomb scare and it turned out the way it did.

Agree with this and actually think he was emptied at about the right time.

May, Pressley, Holt, Houston, Hartley. All failed miserably in the recruitment stakes which has resulted in us getting worse and worse over the past ten years.  If we are to eventually reach the holy grail this is the area that we must turn around completely. Jobby McCall managed to get us from relegation material to cruising the league in one summer so it is entirely possible to see a vast improvement in the short term if the right players are brought in. However, we cant continue to have our successful signings very much in the minority though as has happened since Hughes's final season in post.

Edited by Shodwall cat

11 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

May, Pressley, Holt, Houston, Hartley. All failed miserably in the recruitment stakes which has resulted in us getting worse and worse over the past ten years.  If we are to eventually reach the holy grail this is the area that we must turn around completely. Jobby McCall managed to get us from relegation material to cruising the league in one summer so it is entirely possible to see a vast improvement in the short term if the right players are brought in. However, we cant continue to have our successful signings very much in the minority though as has happened since Hughes's final season in post.

Holt certainly didn't fail miserably in his recruitment. 

9 minutes ago, Falkirk_Bairn_1983 said:

I cant remember everyone he signed but there were some bad ones.

Phil Roberts, Joe Chalmers, Olly in the middle, Rakish Bingham.

Although he did sign Peter Grant & Rory so it wasn't all bad.

17 minutes ago, Falkirk_Bairn_1983 said:

Yeah Rakish Bingham, Joe Chalmers, Ole Durojaiye and Phil Roberts were all rip roaring successes.  If he'd signed some decent players insteasd of these dumplings we'd have won the league that season. Probably our best chance to get promoted and Holt blew it big time. Peter Grant arrived the summer he left so never actually played under Holt.  His other decent signings were Loy and Millar. You could add Beck although he was a bit late in getting him in to make much more of an impact. So at best your talking a 50% success rate which is never going to get you anywhere and is symptomatic of the problems of our recruitment over the past ten years.

Edited by Shodwall cat