What Was The Last Movie You Watched?

Rugster

Saving Silverman 2/10

Following on from some Kevin Smith films Netflix has pointed me in the direction of Jason Biggs films. A pair of buddies conspire to save their best friend from marrying the wrong woman. Terrible film.

Remember renting that years ago but it was titled 'Evil Woman'. But aye, pure pish.

Screwed - 7/10

Flim about a solider who, 6 months after coming back from Afghanistan where he witnessed his mate being shot, takes a job as a prison warden. The stuff he sees in the prison, along with trying to deal with prison politics, sees him end up on a downward spiral where he's drinking every night and a cokeheed.

Road

"towards the end I was actually shaking with emotion. I needed to cry uncontrollably and was I fighting to hold on to some degree of composure" the first review I seen on amazon about this amazing film - please read the rest for yourself. it is about the Dunlop racing family from northern Ireland. if you can get the chance to catch this grab it even if you don't care for motorcycles. the last 15mins is to far fetched for a Hollywood movie. it is the most unbelievable story in sporting history. it will leave you stunned and heartbroken at what happened that day

9/10

Incredible Burt Wonderstone 6/10

Not a great fan of Carrel, but one of the girls wanted to watch this so I did as well. Pretty predictable, and whoever told Carrey he could act should be shot as, Man in the Moon apart, he's always the same OTT shite ham! Could see the end coming a mile off, but not the worst film I've seen by any way. Would I watch again, bored at 1am, skimming the cable channels? Probably not, but it was ok in it's own way.

Tin cup 7/10

Been meaning to watch this for years being a big golf fan.

Its a decent watch and a few good laughs plus Rene russo back in the day was :wub: .

Was quite funny to see all the players from the 80s/90s and how young they looked. Phil Mickelson in particular. Big Craig "the Walrus" Stadler got quite a few lines aswell.

As far as golf films go its different to Happy Gilmore, Legend of Bagger Vance or the greatest game ever played.

All good in their own way.

Death Line - or Raw Meat, as our copy calls it. Early Seventies Donald Pleasance flick about a cannibal in the London Underground tunnels. The film's plot is very straightforward, preferring to show a lot of Don acting like a proper old-school knobhead copper, and our flesh-eating hero moping around his dank straw-covered abode. Really quite staggeringly dull considering the premise and star. Even a totally unnecessary cameo from Christopher Lee, present for literally one minute so his name could be included in the cast list, does nothing to hide the fact that practically nothing happens. A massive disappointment.

Flightplan - after her husband's death, Jodie Foster flies home with her daughter, only for the kid to go missing during the flight. When nobody remembers the kid being on the plane, does that mean that Jodie's lost her mind, or is some kind of conspiracy keeping them apart?

It's an entertaining thriller, marred only by the plot flying off the rails and stretching credibility beyond breaking point, which can be annoying. Definitely get the impression that the script could've used more work.

Mars Attacks!

Can Tim Burton not go back to stuff like this instead of the turgid shite he churns out constantly these days? This movie is a total joy from start to finish, with the stupid looking aliens, the poor effects and some terrific performances, especially from Jack Nicholson in every role he does. Of course, those so called negatives I mentioned are very much deliberate and add to the feel of the movie in fine fashion. The celebrity cameo that comes in the final act is magnificent as well, started with a brilliant reaction to the aliens when he turns around.

It's almost a total anti-Burton movie. Good humoured, light hearted all of the way and quite bloody good.

8/10

Paranormal Entity 2 - sequel (in name only) to the straight-to-video knock-off of Paranormal Activity. A team of ghost hunters set up shop in the house built on land formerly occupied by the house that John Wayne Gacy did his torturin' in. Who will survive and what will be left of them? Well, nobody, as the opening captions helpfully point out.

This is one of those turgid found-footage flicks where nothing happens for 98% of the running time, and you'll be utterly underwhelmed by the other 2%. Of special note is the risible psychic, who looks like she'd be more at home on a porn shoot and is staggeringly annoying. Her shirt unsurprisingly finds various methods of escaping from her torso - heaven, if you're a fan of bad implants. There are some mystifying Big Brother-style diary room shots peppered throughout too. It's just awful, with no redeeming features, and I feel that my own personal worth as a human being has dropped due to watching it.

The ABCs of Death 6/10

A 26-chapter anthology that showcases death in all its vicious wonder and brutal beauty.

"The ABC's OF DEATH is an ambitious anthology film featuring segments directed by over two dozen of the world's leading talents in contemporary genre film. Inspired by children's educational ABC books, the motion picture is comprised of 26 individual chapters, each helmed by a different director assigned a letter of the alphabet. The directors were then given free reign in choosing a word to create a story involving death. Provocative, shocking, funny and ultimately confrontational; THE ABC's OF DEATH is the definitive snapshot of the diversity of modern horror. Drafthouse Films, Magnet Pictures and Timpson Films are proud to present this alphabetical arsenal of destruction orchestrated by what Fangoria calls "a stunning roll call of some of the most exciting names in horror across the world."

I thought this was not bad. Funny in places and visually striking.

Fish Tank 4/10

Mia, an aggressive fifteen-year-old girl, lives on an Essex estate with her tarty mother, Joanne, and little sister Tyler.

She has been thrown out of school and is awaiting admission to a referrals unit and spends her days aimlessly.

She begins an uneasy friendship with Joanne's boyfriend, Connor, who encourages her one interest, dancing.

It's interesting enough

The Last Picture Show 8/10

American Pie for the Korean War generation. A young Cybil Shepherd gets her rack out (twice!).

The Edge of Tomorrow 4/10

More CGI bollocks as Tom Cruise tries to save the world from metallic spiders. At least we get to gaze at Emily Blunt's beautiful face.

Seen three films the last couple of days. (The perks of the Unlimited Card)

22 Jump Street - the first film in this series was one of my favourite comedies and this never disappointed. It'll never go down as a great but if you want a film with a lot of laughs I'd highly recommend it. First film I've seen in a long time that has managed to sustain laughter throughout from the audience - 7/10

How To Train Your Dragon 2 - Went to see it in IMAX 3D and as such, the visuals were the only redeeming features about it. The story was very 'meh' and bland and all a bit pointless as the original never really needed a sequel. - 4/10 (only for the great visual experience, seeing it in 2D would probably have it down at 2/3 /10)

Chef - A story telling film where there's nothing of note really happens to make you remember it* but it is a very enjoyable watch and has a couple of feel good scenes mixed in with some humour. Robert Downey Jr and Dustin Hoffman are both great in their minor roles and I would recommend a watch to anyone. - 8/10

* ETA - this is probably the wrong phrase. I meant there's no film defining scenes in it.

Edited by ListerRRFC

How To Train Your Dragon 2 - 9/10

Went to see this in IMAX 3D, first time ive seen anything there, glad that i did really. I have to disagree with Lister here, i thought the film was outstanding, i really enjoyed the first film and was really looking forward to this one. Very entertaining, amazing visuals, really just a brilliant sequel. My only problem with the plot was

After Hiccups father is killed and Drago leaves with his Alpha to go attack Berk, why does he leave his entire army behind?

Edited by EdgarusQPFC

That Awkward Moment 4 out of 10

On the one hand, thinking positive thoughts, Immogen Poots is in this film and therefore an extra 2 points gets added.

On the other hand, it is tedious, boring, poorly written, and deeply unfunny.

Chef - Had been looking forward to this film for a good while and built it up far too much so thought it was going to disappoint me hugely. In the end, I was only a wee bit disappointed, only because I felt the pacing was a bit off. Went on for too long due to some needless wee scenes but in the grand scheme of things it is forgiven. Good to see Favreau back doing what he does best after making big studio films for too long.

7/10

Mars Attacks!

Can Tim Burton not go back to stuff like this instead of the turgid shite he churns out constantly these days? This movie is a total joy from start to finish, with the stupid looking aliens, the poor effects and some terrific performances, especially from Jack Nicholson in every role he does. Of course, those so called negatives I mentioned are very much deliberate and add to the feel of the movie in fine fashion. The celebrity cameo that comes in the final act is magnificent as well, started with a brilliant reaction to the aliens when he turns around.

It's almost a total anti-Burton movie. Good humoured, light hearted all of the way and quite bloody good.

8/10

It's got to be 15 years since I saw that film and I still end myself every time I think of that accent saying "There's a Martian right behind me!".

Gone - caught this on the telly the other night; one of the movies obviously inspired by the Australian backpacker murderer case, although they made the loony an American for some reason. It's about as straightforward a story as you can get, made less interesting by the changes from the original story. Weak sauce in comparison to Wolf Creek, which only suffers from the usual horror movie problem of characters making poor decisions.

Her - Joaquim Pheonix has a w**k with an IPad then it leaves him for an IPad. Hipster nonsense.

4/10.

Edited by DAFC