The All New Occasionally Aussie P+B Quiz League and ☕ Occasional Cup ☕

Cheers for the input lads. Sticks in my craw to say that A. Lang wins it, but you can't argue with the numbers. 

Position Team Trophy Cabinet Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Total
1 A. Lang 1993 6x© 3x② 1xBZ 10 7 6 9 9 41
2 Audaces Fortuna Juvat 1x② 10 7 8 6 9 40
3 WhiteRoseKillie 10x© 3x② 9 7 5 9 9 39
4 Deej 1x© 4x② 1xBZ 10 6 7 6 9 38
5 Frankie S 1x© 1x② 9 8 6 7 7 37
6 Scotfree   8 8 5 8 6 35
7 WILLIEA 1x© 9 7 6 6 6 34
8 The_Kincardine   8 6 5 7 7 33
9 Edmund 4x② 1xBZ 9 6 7 6 4 32
10 Leeds Saint 1x© 2x② 7 7 7 4 6 31
11 Bully Wee Villa 1x© 7 7 5 5 6 30
12 Tynieness 1x② 1xBZ 7 6 4 4 5 26
13 Arabdownunder 3x© 1x② 6 6 4 5 4 25
14 Eckthearab 6x② 1xBZ 8 1 7 4 4 24

Downstairs, a million congrats to Cowden0! The only league table they've seen the top of in a number of years. 

1 Cowden0 1xBZ 8 6 5 8 7 34
2 Cardinal Richelieu 1xBZ 9 6 5 3 8 31
3 Ross.   8 5 5 5 8 31
4 Blackislekillie 2xBZ 7 8 4 5 6 30
5 Welshbairn   6 7 5 6 5 29
6 Jagfox99 1xBZ 8 4 5 7 5 29
7 Peasy23   7 8 3 7 3 28
8 Livi Lion   7 4 6 6 5 28
9 Marr1   6 5 5 3 8 27
10 Supermik   9 4 3 8 1 25
11 Swarley   6 4 3 5 7 25
12 Gman_1985   5 3 3 6 6 23
13 Dee_62   8 3 1 3 7 22
14 gkneil   6 3 4 5 4 22
15 SlipperyP   5 3 6 5 2 21
16 BigBo10   7 4 3 2 5 21
17 Dee Man   6 3 2 5 4 20
18 Jacksgranda Some carpet 6 3 4 3 1 17
19 Die Hard Doonhamer   2 2 2 1 4 11
Edited by Cardinal Richelieu

7 minutes ago, Cardinal Richelieu said:

Cheers for the input lads. Sticks in my craw to say that A. Lang wins it, but you can't argue with the numbers. 

Downstairs, a million congrats to Cowden0! The only league table they've seen the top of in a number of years. 

1 Cowden0   8 6 5 8 7 34
3 Ross.   8 5 5 5 8 31
7 Peasy23   7 8 3 7 3 28
9 Supermik   9 4 3 8 1 25
10 Swarley   6 4 3 5 7 25
11 Gman_1985   5 3 3 6 6 23
12 Dee_62   8 3 1 3 7 22
13 SlipperyP   5 3 6 5 2 21
14 BigBo10   7 4 3 2 5 21
15 Dee Man   6 3 2 5 4 20
16 Marr1   6 5 5 3   19
17 gkneil   6 3 4 5   18

You can, and I will. You said you were deducting him two points for some strange arbitrary reasons, and I still think you should, and I can back that up with absolutely no evidence whatsoever.

1 minute ago, welshbairn said:

I'd be happy with the Cardinal doing it for a week so long as it doesn't mean unconfessed Catholics marauding the streets whipping themselves because he didn't let them off with a few Hail Marys.

A few altar boys might feel less uncomfortable though.

1 hour ago, Cardinal Richelieu said:

1 Cowden0   8 6 5 8 7 34
3 Ross.   8 5 5 5 8 31
7 Peasy23   7 8 3 7 3 28
9 Supermik   9 4 3 8 1 25
10 Swarley   6 4 3 5 7 25
11 Gman_1985   5 3 3 6 6 23
12 Dee_62   8 3 1 3 7 22
13 SlipperyP   5 3 6 5 2 21
14 BigBo10   7 4 3 2 5 21
15 Dee Man   6 3 2 5 4 20
16 Marr1   6 5 5 3   19
17 gkneil   6 3 4 5   18

2 hours ago, Marr1 said:

Sorry for the late post, but I got 8/10 in Friday's League Quiz. Am I anywhere near contention for promotion? @Cardinal Richelieu

ETA: Stick to the Aussie Quiz League 

Maybe have a weekend league for the other quiz that can be done over a month.

You wot m8? @Cardinal Richelieu I had already posted my Friday Score

I suppose those that want to continue completing the Aussie quiz and publishing their scores can still do so, only it won't attract league points, or be sanctioned under league rules.

Excitingly, this is sounding almost identical to the darts situation a few years ago. Crafty Cockney hated all things Aussie related and before you knew it....Sky came along!

6 hours ago, Audaces Fortuna Juvat said:

Might I suggest the following categories?

The history of Irish League football.

Marillion with Fish era.

Things that dwell in my underwear.

Tynieness's favourite perversions.

Baldy half-inchers thread for this pish.

:thumbsdown stick to the same or change to another dail y quiz online. I can see many problems. CR, what happens when you can't post the quiz? or/when you retire we have to get someone else go back?

I was only joking when I said he was the Neil Doncaster of P&B:rolleyes:

Nice of AFJ posting the answers. These new boys....

I don't really care what happens as long as:

1) It's easy to find the quiz when I click this thread in work in the morning.

2) The quiz link is not blocked by the work firewall.

3) Something something something really good point something.

Anyway, my best weekly score in months and I finished 3rd. Does that win me promotion or a play off place? I'll be relegation fodder and back in my place soon enough but the fans will love the first few trips before settling back into a depressed and drunken slump for the remainder.

First, I've updated the Beazer Homes League to include Marr's and GKNeil's scores. Apologies for missing them!

Re: the shakeup of the quiz. Opinion is very much divided... here's a summary of opinions...

• Deej greenied me, which I'm taking as an aye. 
  • AFJ is up for it cos he's fed up of Aussie sports and politics questions. He also said he's up for taking a turn at compiling it which would be great if I go on holiday! 
  • BigBo10 is up for a change
  • Marr1 wants to stick with the status quo
  • As does Bully Wee Villa... although to allay your concern, I wouldn't volunteer to do it if I didn't enjoy creating multiple quizzes!
  • Welshbairn is up for a change
  • Leeds Saint is sitting on the fence
  • Frankie S would also like to see the back of Aussie sport and politics questions
  • Dee_62 pointed out that we could still to do the Aussie quiz for fun, although didn't really voice his own opinion
  • Swarley wants to stick with the Aussie quiz
  • Edmund also wants to stay antipodean
  • SlipperyP wants to stay Aussie or find another online daily quiz. Re: that point, we've all looked and we can't really find a decent one. Re: your question... if I can't post the quiz / get hit by a bus ... the Australian quiz can be used as a stand-in. I was planning on creating a week's worth of quizzes over the weekend so it will require minimal extra effort during thew eek. 
  • Ross is sitting on the fence, as long as a new quiz is accessible from work. I was planning on using the Qzzr website... can you access this previous cup quiz? If so, there shouldn't be a problem. Also, regardless of who produces the quiz, I suggested 3 up and 1 down so Eck gets demoted, and you, me and Cowden0 get promoted to the top league. If I drop out, I guesse Eck will cling on to his space. 
  • Die Hard Doonhamer voted to get the Aussie quiz to France
  • Jacksgranda wants to keep the Aussie quiz

So, if I tot up the votes (including my own) and ignore the fence-sitters, it appears to be 7-6 for a change. Anybody else want to voice an opinion?

If we do go with a change, I would post a list of 5 topics every Sunday ... and then each team can choose which category gets them double points (and if they don't choose a topic, they automatically get Friday's total doubled). Remember we still have the Aussie quiz as back-up if required.