Sportsound Watch

Getting back to the point about 'technically this song isn't sectarian' stuff...

This is the whole problem in the sense that a football club is part of your identity, and that's a pretty big thing for a lot of folk. It's tribal.

Ultimately the clubs have to do more to take their identity away from those strands. But it's not easy. Both clubs seemed to making progress in the 90s/early 00s. But the rangers implosion seems to have killed that off.

7 hours ago, Tartantony said:

It's simple really, while it's a bitter pill to swallow, it effectively funds the Scottish game. I.e. tv companies want as many of these games as possible and will use it as part their marketing tools to gain as many viewers as they can. 

I personally have come to the end of the road with it all. My kids are now wanting to come to the football with me on a Saturday so I've decided to give up my season ticket at Celtic and will be taking up a parent and child ST at Dumbarton as of next season. I can't bare the thought of them sitting with me at CP and listening to the nonsense I need to listen to on a regular basis. 

Welcome aboard, Tony. Switching teams must be pretty tough, but I think your reasons are admirable. My English teacher at school did the same with her kids (they were brought up as St Mirren fans) and so hopefully there are plenty more following your trend.

Being a Sons fan is great. You'll spend most of the time cold, frustrated and working out how much you can justify spending to watch what will, in all likelihood, be a defeat, but I wouldn't change it for the world. I love the camaraderie, the fact that I've met loads of people, and nothing beats the feeling you get when you tell people you support a diddy team, especially when you meet another diddy team's fan and just have an instant connection! Well, aside from celebrating an injury time winner in some bizarre town in the middle of nowhere. That's pretty great.

It should be dead easy to get your kids involved too. Being a mascot is pretty easy to sort out, and all the players are more than happy to dish out high-fives at the tunnel or sign programmes and stuff (well, they were when I was wee!). You get a level of access and a connection that you can't get at big teams.

Steven Thompson being an utter prat there. He tells us the St J kitman was mouthing off, but can't tell us how or why he knows that fact. Similar bawbag to Narky McCann by the looks of it. Tommy Wright correct to infer old pals act. Take a look at yourself Thommo

8 hours ago, Tartantony said:

It's simple really, while it's a bitter pill to swallow, it effectively funds the Scottish game. I.e. tv companies want as many of these games as possible and will use it as part their marketing tools to gain as many viewers as they can. 

I personally have come to the end of the road with it all. My kids are now wanting to come to the football with me on a Saturday so I've decided to give up my season ticket at Celtic and will be taking up a parent and child ST at Dumbarton as of next season. I can't bare the thought of them sitting with me at CP and listening to the nonsense I need to listen to on a regular basis. 

Most Celtic fans will tell you that it's only an issue at away games, maybe some of the other Celtic fans should respond to this.

And yes I know we've got a fair amount of fuds in our support too...

19 minutes ago, bennett said:

Most Celtic fans will tell you that it's only an issue at away games, maybe some of the other Celtic fans should respond to this.

Don't be so hard on yourselves x

1 hour ago, pandarilla said:

Getting back to the point about 'technically this song isn't sectarian' stuff...

This is the whole problem in the sense that a football club is part of your identity, and that's a pretty big thing for a lot of folk. It's tribal.

Ultimately the clubs have to do more to take their identity away from those strands. But it's not easy. Both clubs seemed to making progress in the 90s/early 00s. But the rangers implosion seems to have killed that off.

Supporting any club has a tribal element.  Everyone knows this.  It's the essence of many of Scotland's club derbies.

15 minutes ago, bennett said:

I don't really know what you're getting at here Bennett.

Are you wanting a debate on which home support are worse? What difference will it make if the other Celtic fans respond? Some might agree with me, most likely won't.

At the end of the day I don't enjoy going to Celtic anymore and have really enjoyed my visits to Dumbarton over the last few years. I think my kids will be better off going to Dumbarton on a Saturday. I'm not trying to offend anyone. 

Supporting any club has a tribal element.  Everyone knows this.  It's the essence of many of Scotland's club derbies.
I agree. That's why I think this problem is so difficult.

Fans aren't just singing these songs to wind up opponents, or to give a big f**k you to the authorities. It's about who they are.

1 hour ago, Sonsteam of 08 said:

Welcome aboard, Tony. Switching teams must be pretty tough, but I think your reasons are admirable. My English teacher at school did the same with her kids (they were brought up as St Mirren fans) and so hopefully there are plenty more following your trend.

Being a Sons fan is great. You'll spend most of the time cold, frustrated and working out how much you can justify spending to watch what will, in all likelihood, be a defeat, but I wouldn't change it for the world. I love the camaraderie, the fact that I've met loads of people, and nothing beats the feeling you get when you tell people you support a diddy team, especially when you meet another diddy team's fan and just have an instant connection! Well, aside from celebrating an injury time winner in some bizarre town in the middle of nowhere. That's pretty great.

It should be dead easy to get your kids involved too. Being a mascot is pretty easy to sort out, and all the players are more than happy to dish out high-fives at the tunnel or sign programmes and stuff (well, they were when I was wee!). You get a level of access and a connection that you can't get at big teams.

Absolutely. As a 7 year old growing up in Inverness in 1980, my uncle was sort of steering me towards the blue part of Glasgow.

Then came the riot at the cup final, and I vividly remember my dad (who hates football) telling me that I could support a team if I wanted, but not any of the Auld Firm. I shrugged my shoulders and said, I was born in Falkirk, I'll support them. Then I went and looked at the league table...

A couple of years later my mum phoned up the club to ask if there was such a thing as a supporters' club. She spoke to Brian Guthrie, and before you knew it we were the guests of the club for a game against Clyde, stadium tour, meet all the players, the works. The game got postponed, but I watched the lads train on the pitch (!!!) and was invited back a couple of months later and was the mascot for a game against Clydebank. It all spiralled downhill from there... :lol:

Never ever ever for one second have I felt anything apart from supreme gratitude to my dad for having that talk with me. I am very sure your kids will feel the same @Tartantony

56 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

I don't really know what you're getting at here Bennett.

Are you wanting a debate on which home support are worse? What difference will it make if the other Celtic fans respond? Some might agree with me, most likely won't.

At the end of the day I don't enjoy going to Celtic anymore and have really enjoyed my visits to Dumbarton over the last few years. I think my kids will be better off going to Dumbarton on a Saturday. I'm not trying to offend anyone. 

The standard response from Celtic fans is that there isn't a problem at parkhead, only a small problem with the away support. You're the first Celtic fan to say otherwise.

Just interested in what Romeo, Mags and the lhads have to say.

5 minutes ago, bennett said:

The standard response from Celtic fans is that there isn't a problem at parkhead, only a small problem with the away support. You're the first Celtic fan to say otherwise.

How many have you asked?

14 minutes ago, bennett said:

I think, Ben, that we know there is a problem both at Ibrox and Parkhead.  We both know that vaunting The Ra or any of the loyalist groups is plainly daft.  You know this especially.  You get pelters from many folk on here but you never take part in any loyalist/unionist shite.  This is very much to your credit - and something underappreciated.

47 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

I think, Ben, that we know there is a problem both at Ibrox and Parkhead.  We both know that vaunting The Ra or any of the loyalist groups is plainly daft.  You know this especially.  You get pelters from many folk on here but you never take part in any loyalist/unionist shite.  This is very much to your credit - and something underappreciated.

Pie and Bovril should be mailing out well done certificates to Rangers fans who aren't complete bigoted morons on here. The heroes that they are.

Quite agree. Well done Bennett. You just stick the child abuse jibes.

23 hours ago, Tartantony said:

Yeah i think the last game they mentioned Collum being a Catholic school teacher. Never mentioned when he refs any other match so it's clearly an attempt at stirring the pot which of course it will. 

I've been going to a handful of games a season at Dumbarton for about 5 years now and do really enjoy it. Just bought the kids their tops and scarfs and we're going to the challenge cup final next week which has them over excited just now. 

Just think Tony.

Your new club will bask in all that money you seem to think trickles down when Celtic make the group stages in the CL.

Let me know how that goes.

57 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Just think Tony.

Your new club will bask in all that money you seem to think trickles down when Celtic make the group stages in the CL.

Let me know how that goes.

Fucking hell MT, you're the P&B Grinch. I'll tell you what, you keep me updated on the finances and I'll just enjoy watching the football. 

P.s I don't think "all that money" trickles down when Celtic make the CL (don't think I've ever indicated that tbh), I just don't agree with your opinion that it should be split evenly 42 ways. 

32 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

Fucking hell MT, you're the P&B Grinch. I'll tell you what, you keep me updated on the finances and I'll just enjoy watching the football. 

P.s I don't think "all that money" trickles down when Celtic make the CL (don't think I've ever indicated that tbh), I just don't agree with your opinion that it should be split evenly 42 ways. 

You said rather more than that.

Welcome to diddydom though.  There's probably room for people with wildly right wing economic views.