When will indyref2 happen?

Colkitto

Indyref2  

819 members have voted

2 hours ago, oaksoft said:

We are neither too wee, too poor or too stupid so I have absolutely no idea what you are talking about.

Our problem is our cultural attitude. It's negative, downbeat, nasty, delights in laughing at others failures, likes to put people in their place and comes complete with our own custom built chip on shoulder feature guaranteed to cause problems if we ever get the chance to stand on our own two feet.

When the great trading nations of the earth are looking for people with a "fuck it, let's do it" attitude they are no longer coming to our shores in the numbers they once used to. Until we fix this we cannot succeed.

The entire better together campaign was negative and nasty.  It used fear-mongering as one of it's central strategies.  It also delighted in highlighting real or perceived (whatever your leanings) failures of an independent Scotland and very much hoped to, and succeeded in putting Yes voters back in their place.

The greatest trading nation on Earth does more business, in equitably measurable terms, with Scotland than it does with the other constituent parts of the UK.

I hope that i'm never this negative and ashamed of the people that live in the country of my birth.

I'd want everyone who lives and works in Scotland to have a vote in a future referendum, regardless of where they were born. I'm not actually bothered about who that's more likely to benefit, but no one living here should be left out of the discussion.

10 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

The one upmanship is a Scottish trait. So is the constant attempt at the "awesome smackdown".

It's all such mind numbingly cliched Scottishness that it is almost a parody of itself.

I lived in England for many years myself before coming back here and I would have to agree with you on much of what you say. The negativity up here is getting to the point that I am actually considering moving back down south again for the sake of my sanity. You just cannot get anything done. Ambition is shot down and ridiculed. Wanting to better yourself makes you a "fucking Tory". I am just about done with it.

I love Scotland. Its the bloody people I have a problem with. :lol:

"Ambition is shot down and ridiculed".

Independence seems ambitious to me.  You are correct to say, that in some quarters at least, it is shot down and ridiculed...

...and it's terribly negative.

15 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

The one upmanship is a Scottish trait. So is the constant attempt at the "awesome smackdown".

It's all such mind numbingly cliched Scottishness that it is almost a parody of itself.

I lived in England for many years myself before coming back here and I would have to agree with you on much of what you say. The negativity up here is getting to the point that I am actually considering moving back down south again for the sake of my sanity. You just cannot get anything done. Ambition is shot down and ridiculed. Wanting to better yourself makes you a "fucking Tory". I am just about done with it.

Maybe your real life persona is nothing like your shtick on here but if it's not I can maybe guess at the problem. Folk who never shut the fuck up about how they're such hard working go-getters and everyone else is lazy scum are not ridiculed for their ambition. They're self congratulatory, usually delusional (and often actually Tory) bores and naturally people can't be fucked with that.

Please do explain though how it is that you "just cannot get anything done" up here? Who is getting in your way exactly?

I'd want everyone who lives and works in Scotland to have a vote in a future referendum, regardless of where they were born. I'm not actually bothered about who that's more likely to benefit, but no one living here should be left out of the discussion.

Yep there was nothing wrong with the way it worked the last time, it was the right thing to do giving everyone a fair chance to vote. Not hard to understand why someone would start up a petition to prevent EU nationals having a vote in the next one.

8 minutes ago, oaksoft said:

Fuck off back down the road then if it's that great.

6 minutes ago, Alan Stubbs said:

Folk who never shut the fuck up about how they're such hard working go-getters and everyone else is lazy scum are not ridiculed for their ambition. They're self congratulatory, usually delusional (and often actually Tory) bores and naturally people can't be fucked with that.

:lol: this is very true.

Thick, van driving, Sun readers.

"A work ma arse off 60 hours a week just tae pay for junkies having weans and aw the immigrunts get hooses and motors handed tae them"

5 minutes ago, sergie's no1 fan said:

Yep there was nothing wrong with the way it worked the last time, it was the right thing to do giving everyone a fair chance to vote. Not hard to understand why someone would start up a petition to prevent EU nationals having a vote in the next one.

We might as well start up a petition to prevent rUK nationals having a vote in the next one for fairness and balance.

2 minutes ago, ayrmad said:

Fuck off back down the road then if it's that great.

You don't get one upmanship in England of course.

Try speaking to anyone from the south east who can manage to go a few minutes without mentioning their salary, house prices or the general cost of living down there.

Just now, Hammer Jag said:

You don't get one upmanship in England of course.

Try speaking to anyone from the south east who can manage to go a few minutes without mentioning their salary, house prices or the general cost of living down there.

Try speaking to anyone with a darker skin colour and see where they feel more accepted.

16 minutes ago, Hammer Jag said:

I've lived 'down here' off and on since 1981 and full time for the past decade..  I don't recognise any of this. 

Edit:  I try hard to avoid socialising with my kids' friends' parents.  When I can't avoid it they discuss schooling and possible Universities.  I suspect they are no different, in that respect, to parents of teenagers elsewhere.

Edited by The_Kincardine

Whilst we're on the anecdotal stuff, I lived in England and Scotland in my childhood and nothing about either place gave me the slightest impression that I "couldn't get anything done" or that I shouldn't have ambitions.

All sounds very negative and bitter that chat. Anyone blaming national psyche for the things they haven't got done probably isn't actually that ambitious at all.

1 hour ago, The_Kincardine said:

I've lived 'down here' off and on since 1981 and full time for the past decade..  I don't recognise any of this. 

I lived in the South-East for almost a decade. Hammer Jag's assessment is absolutely spot-on for me.

Anyway, what tremendous entertainment McSpreader and Oaksoft provide on the Politics board. I presume you don't pick the former up on his spelling and grammar due to the amount of work required?  :P

7 hours ago, The_Kincardine said:

Edit:  I try hard to avoid socialising with my kids' friends' parents.  When I can't avoid it they discuss schooling and possible Universities.  I suspect they are no different, in that respect, to parents of teenagers elsewhere.

^^^ Spends all his time talking about Dave King's warchest.

1 hour ago, Baxter Parp said:

Anyway, we're wanted...

http://www.thenational.scot/news/15089828.Europe_s_chief_Brexit_negotiator_says___We_need_the_Scottish_people_____we_cannot_afford_to_lose_that_/?ref=twtrec

Europe's chief Brexit negotiator says: 'We need the Scottish people ... we cannot afford to lose that'

EU is fucked that's why.