Next Scotland Manager Mk II

jagfox

On 28/01/2018 at 11:37, jagfox99 said:

Is Stuart McCall actually in the running for this? 

On 28/01/2018 at 11:54, Richey Edwards said:

Hopefully not. He's shite and has a lesbians haircut.

McCall has been jettisoned by Bradford City :o

cnmppseiho3ldaout6el.gif

• Replies 1.5k
51 minutes ago, Dunning1874 said:

Aye I've worded that badly - it was the 2006 campaign where we missed out by five points having dropped five points to Belarus. Ukraine away in the 2008 campaign was poor, but considering that we also lost in Georgia under McLeish it would be harsh to pin any blame on Smith.

That Georgia game still haunts me. 

1 hour ago, roman_bairn said:

Can’t think why you would say that...emoji16.png

His username is "killiepiemuncher", there's probably something about that name that makes him less likely to tout Clarke for the Scotland job.

Walter Smith becomes a better manager as time passes, but we only consider him to be such because of the awfulness which preceded. He also only managed for a few months, so wasn't really given the time to be branded as a failure. Taking a single point from Belarus, including a fairly  insipid home defeat (it was 1-0, but we got a pretty good going over by Hleb and co that day) would have been the death knell for  most other managers. 

The idea of Smith as a good manager requires more scrutiny given his only real success came with Rangers. He never managed elsewhere and it must be noted that, aside from a sterling run in the 2008 UEFA cup, his record in Europe was pretty woeful. In the 1990's he managed expensively acquired teams, season after season, to champions league obscurity. While his club outspent everyone else in the Scottish Premier League, his forays into Europe would result in humiliation against such luminaries as IFK Goteborg and Steaua Bucharest (big names in their day but not in Rangers' financial ballpark in the mid 90's). 

I would be in favour of having Steve Clarke, but I also want the SFA to rip it up and start again, looking further afield as well. 

His username is "killiepiemuncher", there's probably something about that name that makes him less likely to tout Clarke for the Scotland job. Walter Smith becomes a better manager as time passes, but we only consider him to be such because of the awfulness which preceded. He also only managed for a few months, so wasn't really given the time to be branded as a failure. Taking a single point from Belarus, including a fairly  insipid home defeat (it was 1-0, but we got a pretty good going over by Hleb and co that day) would have been the death knell for  most other managers.  The idea of Smith as a good manager requires more scrutiny given his only real success came with Rangers. He never managed elsewhere and it must be noted that, aside from a sterling run in the 2008 UEFA cup, his record in Europe was pretty woeful. In the 1990's he managed expensively acquired teams, season after season, to champions league obscurity. While his club outspent everyone else in the Scottish Premier League, his forays into Europe would result in humiliation against such luminaries as IFK Goteborg and Steaua Bucharest (big names in their day but not in Rangers' financial ballpark in the mid 90's). 

I would be in favour of having Steve Clarke, but I also want the SFA to rip it up and start again, looking further afield as well. 

I thought he managed Everton?

Also as you might note from my avatar football in Romania is a bit of a specialism for me. Steaua ain’t as great as in the past but I would expect them to beat the Rangers under Smith.

I honestly cannot understand why we think we could do better than Clarke? When he was a coach at Chelsea he was being lauded by everyone in the EPL for his coaching ability, he knows how to handle big time players and his tactical awareness about as good as you can get. We should be breaking the bank to have him in charge...

I thought he managed Everton?Also as you might note from my avatar football in Romania is a bit of a specialism for me. Steaua ain’t as great as in the past but I would expect them to beat the Rangers under Smith.
I honestly cannot understand why we think we could do better than Clarke? When he was a coach at Chelsea he was being lauded by everyone in the EPL for his coaching ability, he knows how to handle big time players and his tactical awareness about as good as you can get. We should be breaking the bank to have him in charge...

Shut up you tart.

Aye, Roman Bairn, this is a bit of a whoosh from you. KPM is a killie fan. Killie fans don't want to lose their manager. That's why he's touting Smith.

Smith wasn't a success at Everton. Not by a stretch.

I'm suggesting that Smith was tactically naive against the likes of Steaua. Romanian football was going through a purple patch at the time, with the mid 90's seeing large transfer fees for Raducioiu, Georghe Hagi and Marius Lacatus, as well as fine world cup performances from a highly gifted national side. He was a complete failure in Europe, despite being able to outspend most clubs at the time. 

Aye, Roman Bairn, this is a bit of a whoosh from you. KPM is a killie fan. Killie fans don't want to lose their manager. That's why he's touting Smith.
Smith wasn't a success at Everton. Not by a stretch.
I'm suggesting that Smith was tactically naive against the likes of Steaua. Romanian football was going through a purple patch at the time, with the mid 90's seeing large transfer fees for Raducioiu, Georghe Hagi and Marius Lacatus, as well as fine world cup performances from a highly gifted national side. He was a complete failure in Europe, despite being able to outspend most clubs at the time. 

Aye, it’s a whoosh from me cos I did not understand that until you stated it in writing..twice now.[emoji16]

I have probably seen Steaua play around 10-15 times over the years although sadly less so in the last couple since the demise of city rivals Rapid. However Romanian football is still a league full of quality players and it’s a shame that some of our clubs here don’t look that far afield as there is still talent there way beyond what we have across the Scottish Leagues ...

Cool. Anyway, back on to the topic of the new Scotland boss.

Going back to yesterday's men would be embarrassing. Going back to Smith would be a bad move, mainly because, in all honesty, the Scotland support would not accept it. A large number of them (and even normally sensible people) still haven't forgiven him for "walking out on his country". The SFA's lack of imagination is cringeworthy.

Here, it's not the place here to talk about Romanian fitba, but you should read (if you haven't already) Jonathan Wilson's book "Behind the Curtain; Football in Eastern Europe". Utterly superb.

Cool. Anyway, back on to the topic of the new Scotland boss.

Going back to yesterday's men would be embarrassing. Going back to Smith would be a bad move, mainly because, in all honesty, the Scotland support would not accept it. A large number of them (and even normally sensible people) still haven't forgiven him for "walking out on his country". The SFA's lack of imagination is cringeworthy.

Here, it's not the place here to talk about Romanian fitba, but you should read (if you haven't already) Jonathan Wilson's book "Behind the Curtain; Football in Eastern Europe". Utterly superb.

Maybe. Could certainly tell you a few stories...

Re Scotland. The biggest concern I have (sorry Killie), is that I see Rangers snapping up Clarke at the end of the season if we don’t act to get him in at Scotland on a decent package right now...

3 hours ago, Worktheshaft said:

If Smith becomes manager I'm done with the national team.

Grrrrrrrrrr Sevco grrrrrrrrrr....... Sevco grrrrrrrrrr.....

I'd rather that he was back at Ibrox tbh but he's probably the best option for Scotland.

11 minutes ago, Worktheshaft said:

So BBC reporting a shortlist of 8. Including:

Smith
McLeish
Clarke

And id imagine you could add Gemmil to that list.

I wonder who the other 4 are.

How about:

Smith

McLeish

Clarke

Gemmil

Caldwell

McCall

Any one of a dozen other c***s that once played for the old firm

Some guy who dialled the SFA by mistake when trying to order a Dominos

3 minutes ago, renton said:

How about:

Smith

McLeish

Clarke

Gemmil

Caldwell

McCall

Knowing the SFA, the other 2 are probably Malky Mackay and Michael O’Neill.

1 hour ago, velo army said:

His username is "killiepiemuncher", there's probably something about that name that makes him less likely to tout Clarke for the Scotland job.

Walter Smith becomes a better manager as time passes, but we only consider him to be such because of the awfulness which preceded. He also only managed for a few months, so wasn't really given the time to be branded as a failure. Taking a single point from Belarus, including a fairly  insipid home defeat (it was 1-0, but we got a pretty good going over by Hleb and co that day) would have been the death knell for  most other managers. 

The idea of Smith as a good manager requires more scrutiny given his only real success came with Rangers. He never managed elsewhere and it must be noted that, aside from a sterling run in the 2008 UEFA cup, his record in Europe was pretty woeful. In the 1990's he managed expensively acquired teams, season after season, to champions league obscurity. While his club outspent everyone else in the Scottish Premier League, his forays into Europe would result in humiliation against such luminaries as IFK Goteborg and Steaua Bucharest (big names in their day but not in Rangers' financial ballpark in the mid 90's). 

I remember that Belarus game because it was my first ever time watching Scotland live in the flesh.

iirc we were minging and Belarus also managed to hit the post/crossbar twice. Kenny Miller did manage a fantastic goal line block that he didn't know much about... from a Scotland player, for Belarus.

49 minutes ago, renton said:

How about:

Smith

McLeish

Clarke

Gemmil

Caldwell

McCall

If that genuinely is the short list, it's Clarke, then a very long drink and perhaps just about  Smith, then suicide.    It really must be the case that someone from outside the Largs Mafia/Old Firm bubble.  Let's get the assistant manager of Iceland, or somebody like that.  I have no idea who the assistant manager of Iceland is, but God forbid it be one of those names (Clarke aside).