Coronavirus (COVID-19)

What evidence is there that all these disadvantaged students - of which there are many - actually benefit from being at school for 30 hours per week as opposed to 15? Why would a 9-3 at school model plus homework and study to be done in this disruptive home environment anyway prove an inherently better option for students with difficult backgrounds than a more flexible approach? In what way is studying in the same room as up to 30 fellow students - some of which don't want to be there and disrupt the class constantly as a result - the most effective learning environment for any never mind the majority of students in that room?
This discussion is based on the entirely false premise that the state education system prior to March was in any way designed to provide either the best outcomes for the majority of students or to prevent inequality. It wasn't. It was simply what had always been done since compulsory state education was introduced in the Victorian period adjusted very gradually over time because of the massive institutional hostility towards change. 

In my experience -

- there is a safety element in having them at school rather than at home. We received a huge number of police concern reports during lockdown connected to either domestic incidents or community ones (where the young people were just left to do their own thing)

- the lack of engagement out with school hours, as was highlighted during lockdown, makes a blended model very challenging for our most vulnerable.

My role in pastoral care is much more focused on making those 30 hours as accessible and productive as possible, meaning many of our young people have access to Pupil Support Workers, Princes Trust, Barnardos, Active Schools, Skills Development Scotland etc.

I totally agree that a traditional classroom environment can be detrimental for kids but we do try and supplement that with other things where possible (we would offer more if we had more money)

School absolutely isn’t the best environment for many, and lots of our kids would thrive in a blended model, but for the most vulnerable I think that I’d rather have them in our building for 30 hours a week (or as close that as possible) so that we can at least try and ensure a package is in place that helps them as much as possible.

Of course, that is me just talking about in a ‘normal’ situation and not the current Covid climate.

6 minutes ago, virginton said:

Why would parents be 'responsible for teaching children' in a blended learning scenario? I don't think that you know what this actually means.

Of course, thousands of parents are just going to pop their primary aged kids into the other room to go about their business.... How silly of me

8 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Of course, thousands of parents are just going to pop their primary aged kids into the other room to go about their business.... How silly of me

What's that got to do with 'being responsible for teaching'? Blended learning is not 'home schooling', you imbecile. 

22 minutes ago, stumigoo said:

In my experience -

- there is a safety element in having them at school rather than at home. We received a huge number of police concern reports during lockdown connected to either domestic incidents or community ones (where the young people were just left to do their own thing)

- the lack of engagement out with school hours, as was highlighted during lockdown, makes a blended model very challenging for our most vulnerable.

My role in pastoral care is much more focused on making those 30 hours as accessible and productive as possible, meaning many of our young people have access to Pupil Support Workers, Princes Trust, Barnardos, Active Schools, Skills Development Scotland etc.

I totally agree that a traditional classroom environment can be detrimental for kids but we do try and supplement that with other things where possible (we would offer more if we had more money)

School absolutely isn’t the best environment for many, and lots of our kids would thrive in a blended model, but for the most vulnerable I think that I’d rather have them in our building for 30 hours a week (or as close that as possible) so that we can at least try and ensure a package is in place that helps them as much as possible.

Of course, that is me just talking about in a ‘normal’ situation and not the current Covid climate.

Lockdown couldn't demonstrate a lack of engagement because the vast majority of schools got nowhere near the level of teaching, preparation and support that blended learning actually entails. 

A school room is not the best place to conduct social care interventions at any time, never mind in the middle of a pandemic. That they have taken on these roles does not mean that the education itself could not be implemented differently and be just as effective, nor that pastoral care must be binned in a different setup.

Edited by vikingTON

Nor the same meaning, which is where your blubbering hysterics about it fall down.
Not really anything falling down on my side my man, because schools are open, I am receiving my full quota of that beautiful state sponsored childcare. The government of both the UK and Scotland clearly felt that the cost of going down that route was too great, otherwise they would have done it. Broadly, the same argument as I have made all along.

Its actually your arguments that have continually fallen down throughout this, on the basis that nothing that you are shrieking for is happening, because.... well you are completely wrong. There will be no blended learning because we do not have a society in place to support the model, and if they shoe horn in this half arsed attempt at it at any point, it will be when everything else has also been shut down again because we are back to 4 figure deaths per day. Currently, there are few signs of that happening, and various people posting evidence of the second wave tailing off. Yet another thing that doesnt square with your bullshit about schools driving infections.

Whatever it is that has been taken from you that you are raging you cant have back, it's not the fault of school kids m8.

19 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Not really anything falling down on my side my man, because schools are open, I am receiving my full quota of that beautiful state sponsored childcare. The government of both the UK and Scotland clearly felt that the cost of going down that route was too great, otherwise they would have done it. Broadly, the same argument as I have made all along.

Its actually your arguments that have continually fallen down throughout this, on the basis that nothing that you are shrieking for is happening, because.... well you are completely wrong. There will be no blended learning because we do not have a society in place to support the model, and if they shoe horn in this half arsed attempt at it at any point, it will be when everything else has also been shut down again because we are back to 4 figure deaths per day. Currently, there are few signs of that happening, and various people posting evidence of the second wave tailing off. Yet another thing that doesnt square with your bullshit about schools driving infections.

Whatever it is that has been taken from you that you are raging you cant have back, it's not the fault of school kids m8.

So you admit that you were in fact too thick to understand the difference between 'home schooling' and 'blended learning', as this Catherine wheel of whataboutery demonstrates.

Better luck next time.

A82C2CD1-48C9-41B5-9D28-A9E9CE8E0FD2.jpeg.d3be676db1ccf3317445a35c285ddeed.jpeg

8 minutes ago, virginton said:

So you admit that you were in fact too thick to understand the difference between 'home schooling' and 'blended learning', as this Catherine wheel of whataboutery demonstrates.

Better luck next time.

😂😂😂😂 There is zero whataboutery m8. Just me lapping up the free childcare and you hilariously livid about it, thrashing around under the misapprehension that anything you say carries some sort of weight. 

One day you might somehow circumvent the problem of your horrifying visage and get to fire out a couple of wee mini Micks, and the sun will shine on you as it does me and all the other all-powerful parents. We can talk about it, swap tips etc. 

Better luck next time.

VT - you never disappoint.

I can imagine you just now, sat in the basement, rubbing your hands in glee because you have “won the internet” again.

You can tell your mum all about it when she calls you up for your tea.

On 02/10/2020 at 21:10, Bairnardo said:

I personally think that, for all it maybe lacks in magnitude, following a particular poster about the place dotting them for example, is a bit snide and unnecessary. Aye it can easily be belittled in isolation, in a conversation  like this, but for the most part we dont know the effects our actions have on others so stuff like that is really best avoided IMO. My own actions over my time on P&B havent always been exemplary. Lockdown made me review that. 

3 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

One day you might somehow circumvent the problem of your horrifying visage and get to fire out a couple of wee mini Micks, 

🤔

2 hours ago, Gaz said:

I absolutely agree, which is why I said in the next 20-30 years when someone smarter than me solves those problems. It's certainly not something that could be done right now.

Ironically, in my experience the type of pupil who would benefit most from an education are often the type of pupil for whom school is blatantly not the best place for them to learn.

Sadly the problems stu refers to will not be resolved in the next 20-30 years.  The best we can hope for is that there will be an improvement.

I’d imagine 20-30 years ago few of us were envisaging a society today with a large and growing dependence on food banks.

Despite this, 39% of the cases of Covid-19 recorded in our neighbouring country occurred in education last week, with the vast majority in schools. I guess ONS data just isn't enough evidence.

I don’t think that the chart you posted shows that 39% of all infections occurred in education. It is a breakdown of the institutional outbreaks, not total cases. It is a different chart to the one in the PHE weekly report so I could be wrong.

I don’t think it’s known where the majority of cases are resulting from. Certainly more children are getting it.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/oct/02/covid-cases-among-secondary-school-aged-children-rise-in-england

Interesting quote in that article

Prof Russell Viner, the president of the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health, who attends meetings of Sage, the government’s acientific advisory group for emergencies, said it was important not to blame uncontrolled socialising among young people for the upward trend in cases.

Those who have left school to live in shared houses may be particularly at risk, he said, and and young adults were most likely to have low-paid jobs that put them most at risk.

He said school outbreaks should also be put in perspective. “The evidence suggests that transmission in schools is very limited, even in secondary schools,” adding that “it is likely that much of the transmission among groups of young people may be outside school settings, as we really have limited evidence of transmission within schools”.[\quote]

I assume the evidence comes fro contact tracing which they can’t share fully for privacy reasons. Shame, I bet it’s interesting.

That Record article. Holy fk. Completely driven by a desire to fk people / businesses over to make what point? That the tracing system might not be 100% effective if c***s act like c***s and give fake details? It's kinda obvious. "Investigative journalist". f**k off.

4 minutes ago, Falkirk09Bairn said:

Unbelievable. So making personal attacks on a posters appearance is perfectly fine but use of the reputation system is snide and unnecessary. 

That seems to be the way of things with that particular poster. As the sadly departed @ali_91 said, "the biggest hypocrite on the forum".

The other one obsessed with the alleged looks of VT, who incessantly posts the image of a terrible character from Still Game, is or was a teacher for goodness sake!

What a world.

28 minutes ago, Szamo's_Ammo said:

Anyway...

Aren't reported cases generally lower on a Sunday? That is concerning.

They seem to still be struggling with the backlog through the UK element of the test and trace system.