Carnoustie Young Guvnor Posted November 25, 2020 Share Posted November 25, 2020 4 hours ago, virginton said: Why let those No-voting, ITV Border watching bumpkins have the fun? Slap-bang in the middle of George Square, the size of the Stalingrad victory monument thank you very much. Quite deceptive really though, I read a book about that and it wasnae won by lassies in a sarong wi their baps out wielding a sword, even giant ones. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoustie Young Guvnor Posted November 25, 2020 Share Posted November 25, 2020 2 hours ago, peasy23 said: An iconic picture, but a case of the picture not telling the whole story. https://amp.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/jul/05/diego-maradona-belgium-famous-photo?__twitter_impression=true You might as well have drowned a kitten you utter b*****d 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
D.A.F.C Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 Only man to ever test positive for drugs without a drugs test. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Popular Post dorlomin Posted November 26, 2020 Popular Post Share Posted November 26, 2020 There is a great mural of him in Naples 26 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hedgecutter Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 Awkward moment on Kay Burley's show there as she interviewed some former England player (who I'd never heard of - Paul Smith or something) who she introduced as someone who "knew Maradona" : "Did you ever play with or against him?" "No" "Did you know him outside of football?" "No" "Where did you meet him?" "I was on the touchline a few times" Excellent. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
101 Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 I have no words 17 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LincolnHearts Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 The bitterness towards him down here is still very strong. Glorious. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
KnightswoodBear Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 Glorious 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dons_1988 Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 (edited) 14 hours ago, Henderson to deliver ..... said: I loved this. Remember being quite annoyed that Butcher had brought his bitterness from England to a Scotland press conference, so the slap down from Diego was fantastic. Edited November 26, 2020 by Dons_1988 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee-Bey Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 14 minutes ago, KnightswoodBear said: Glorious Shilton fails to rise above it again. 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melanius Mullarkey Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 1 hour ago, dorlomin said: There is a great mural of him in Naples Where? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LincolnHearts Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 14 hours ago, Andrew Driver said: Please tell me this was a genuine quote from the great man, so I can print this and pop it on the wall at work. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sergeant Wilson Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 10 hours ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said: I read a book I was with you up to this point. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoustie Young Guvnor Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 3 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said: I was with you up to this point. Its like a movie with words 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inanimate Carbon Rod Posted November 26, 2020 Author Share Posted November 26, 2020 Peter Shilton’s article in the Daily Mail does just show him up as the absolute fanny that he is. He was outjumped by a wee man and essentially cannae take it. This singular event sent him in a spiral of xenophobia whereby he became the tory brexiteer that he is today. This very moment ruined shilton. If you look at pictures of the goal you can pin point the exact moment he died inside, its glorious. 19 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dons_1988 Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 3 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said: Peter Shilton’s article in the Daily Mail does just show him up as the absolute fanny that he is. He was outjumped by a wee man and essentially cannae take it. This singular event sent him in a spiral of xenophobia whereby he became the tory brexiteer that he is today. This very moment ruined shilton. If you look at pictures of the goal you can pin point the exact moment he died inside, its glorious. It's brilliant. I love that they still haven't realised he never gave a shiny shite how upset they are about it. 9 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detournement Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 Legend. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hedgecutter Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 10 minutes ago, MixuFruit said: Whenever Peter Shilton dies every obituary will have several paragraphs about him being outwitted by Maradona and he knows it. My early prediction is "the could-have-been World Cup winner that had the trophy stolen from his hands by the hand of Maradona" 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Popular Post Silvio Tattiescone Posted November 26, 2020 Popular Post Share Posted November 26, 2020 Héctor Enrique, who tapped it to Maradona in his own half and got the assist for the goal of the century, has one of the best lines in football history: “With a pass like that, how could he miss?” 24 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
101 Posted November 26, 2020 Share Posted November 26, 2020 1 minute ago, Hedgecutter said: My early prediction is "the could-have-been World Cup winner that had the trophy stolen from his hands by the hand of Maradona, may it continue to haunt him in the next life as it did him in this one" FTFY 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...