2022 Scottish Local Elections 5th May ** Official Match Thread**

On 31/03/2022 at 00:52, Highland Capital said:

The lists for the Highlands are up and here's some stuff I've noticed - the aforementioned German porn star is running for the Family Party in Sutherland.  They also have a Freedom Alliance candidate in that ward.  The former MSP Chris Ballance is running for the Greens in Loch Ness again.  The Libertarians are standing in East Sutherland and Inverness Ness-Side.  The Independence for Scotland Party are standing in Inverness West.  Inverness Central have a TUSC candidate. The former MSP for the Highlands for the Tories Mary Scanlon is standing in Culloden and Ardersier.  

The lib dem candidate for east Sutherland was a surprise to all who had been involved with the party for decades. Tory using the lib Dems. But if it's good enough for Clegg.......

Just looked up the list of candidates for my area 

3 seats up for grabs 

8 candidates standing 

1 x Scottish Green

1 x Alba 

1 x Lib Dem

1 X Tory

2 x SNP

2 X Scottish Labour 

Nae independent candidates

Such a depressing selection,

Think I’ll give the Green my preferred vote and Tories last 

Just looked up the list of candidates for my area 
3 seats up for grabs 
8 candidates standing 
1 x Scottish Green
1 x Alba 
1 x Lib Dem
1 X Tory
2 x SNP
2 X Scottish Labour 
Nae independent candidates
Such a depressing selection,
Think I’ll give the Green my preferred vote and Tories last 

You don't need to give the Tory anything.

In a STV election you can vote no.1 for your preferred candidate & leave the rest blank if you so wish.

You don't have to rank all the candidates.

2 minutes ago, cdhafc1874 said:

You don't need to give the Tory anything.

In a STV election you can vote no.1 for your preferred candidate & leave the rest blank if you so wish.

You don't have to rank all the candidates.

Wouldn’t not ranking them benefit them?

Nope.
STV is a lil' bit complicated so hopefully this makes a bit of sense!

In each ward to be elected a candidate has to get a quota of the number votes cast - the quota is amount of votes cast divided by the number of seats + 1.

So in your 3 seat ward say there are 5200 valid votes - a candidate needs to get approx 1300 votes to be elected.

If the Tory doesn't get enough no.1 votes to make the quota needed to get elected at the 1st stage then they need transfers (i.e. no.2 or below rankings) from other parties' voters to get in.

Those transfers come from other parties' candidates as they are eliminated due to having the lowest number of votes at stage 2, then 3 etc (as many stages as needed to elect the number of Councillors required)

So the more people don't rank the Tory at all the less likely they are to manage to get elected if they fail to get enough no.1 votes to get elected at stage 1.

It's why the SNP will advise you not to rank Lab/Tory/Lib Dem candidates if you are voting SNP & those parties will likely advise their voters the same about not ranking SNP ones.

29 minutes ago, cdhafc1874 said:

Nope.
STV is a lil' bit complicated so hopefully this makes a bit of sense!

In each ward to be elected a candidate has to get a quota of the number votes cast - the quota is amount of votes cast divided by the number of seats + 1.

So in your 3 seat ward say there are 5200 valid votes - a candidate needs to get approx 1300 votes to be elected.

If the Tory doesn't get enough no.1 votes to make the quota needed to get elected at the 1st stage then they need transfers (i.e. no.2 or below rankings) from other parties' voters to get in.

Those transfers come from other parties' candidates as they are eliminated due to having the lowest number of votes at stage 2, then 3 etc (as many stages as needed to elect the number of Councillors required)

So the more people don't rank the Tory at all the less likely they are to manage to get elected if they fail to get enough no.1 votes to get elected at stage 1.

It's why the SNP will advise you not to rank Lab/Tory/Lib Dem candidates if you are voting SNP & those parties will likely advise their voters the same about not ranking SNP ones.

The last person elected in any multiple-member ward will be the last person standing, whether they reach the quota or not. I'm no fan of Labour or the Libdems, but would prefer them to the Tories.  Assuming that none of the 4 "independents" in my ward are absolute right-wing roasters (I already know 2 of them aren't), I can guarantee that Libdems will be 7th, Labour 8th & the Tories 9th on my ballot paper.

12 hours ago, lichtgilphead said:

The last person elected in any multiple-member ward will be the last person standing, whether they reach the quota or not. I'm no fan of Labour or the Libdems, but would prefer them to the Tories.  Assuming that none of the 4 "independents" in my ward are absolute right-wing roasters (I already know 2 of them aren't), I can guarantee that Libdems will be 7th, Labour 8th & the Tories 9th on my ballot paper.

Why will you put the Tories on the ballot paper at all? Genuine question, are you disagreeing with @cdhafc1874 ? If so why?

Edited by welshbairn

2 hours ago, welshbairn said:

Why will you put the Tories on the ballot paper at all? Genuine question, are you disagreeing with @cdhafc1874 ? If so why?

Because I enjoy ranking them last (assuming that the likes of the NF aren't standing). By putting them last, I ensure that my vote will never be transferred to them.

Consider the situation where the Tories are leading by one vote from Labour at the final transfer stage (only 2 candidates left). If Indy supporters follow @cdhafc1874's advice and don't rank Labour above the Tory, the Tory will win.

The best advice for this type of election is "vote till you boak" i.e. rank every candidate in your order of preference. 

Because I enjoy ranking them last (assuming that the likes of the NF aren't standing). By putting them last, I ensure that my vote will never be transferred to them.
Consider the situation where the Tories are leading by one vote from Labour at the final transfer stage (only 2 candidates left). If Indy supporters follow [mention=5039]cdhafc1874[/mention]'s advice and don't rank Labour above the Tory, the Tory will win.
The best advice for this type of election is "vote till you boak" i.e. rank every candidate in your order of preference. 
Eh?

I said nothing about not ranking Labour where there is a Tory standing.

If it makes people feel better to rank the Lab candidate ahead of the Tory one by all means do so but you ranking the Tory last has the same effect as not ranking the Tory at all.

Fill everything in if you want to obviously.

2 minutes ago, BucksburnDandy said:
10 hours ago, welshbairn said:
I see Alba are standing in 4 out of 21 wards in the Highlands. At this rate I could see them shutting up shop before the next election.

My ward seems to have an Alba candidate, so I have one of the four it seems.

In the Highlands it's Eilean a' Cheò (Skye), Culloden and Ardersier, Nairn and Cawdor and Inverness South.

Inverness South is mine. I'd be surprised if Ken Gowans and Duncan MacPherson didn't both stroll back in given their strong local work. The other two seats will be fair game given both the Tory and Lib Dem are moving on.

4 minutes ago, BucksburnDandy said:
22 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Inverness South is mine. I'd be surprised if Ken Gowans and Duncan MacPherson didn't both stroll back in given their strong local work. The other two seats will be fair game given both the Tory and Lib Dem are moving on.

Here's your boy.

May be an image of 1 person and text

6 minutes ago, BucksburnDandy said:
11 minutes ago, welshbairn said:
Here's your boy.
277577006_115979884377052_3556568169496288639_n.png?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-5&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=qCq3yAYvS3EAX_752Rx&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-1.fna&oh=00_AT_RGDQFEwpJe_6qXr-S70f1dZdo7toJFS1-UHEsYiXz2w&oe=62502C51

That may well go down well locally given the reaction to the introduction of mixed toilets at Culloden Academy...

Looks like the school back tracked on it, not too sure about the arguments, especially the case for them.

https://www.inverness-courier.co.uk/news/highland-council-say-unisex-toilet-plan-was-on-an-interim-b-248602/