Arbroath v Airdrie

29 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Dunno, lot of clever wee players but never really thought youā€™d score - we are good at the backĀ 

Come on play the game,Ā  we go away get deservedly beaten,Ā  you say we play good football,Ā  and it will massage our ego again...

Ā 

Go on be fair

Just now, Passionate said:

Come on play the game,Ā  we go away get deservedly beaten,Ā  you say we play good football,Ā  and it will massage our ego again...

Ā 

Go on be fair

No I donā€™t think you played good football - from looking at some of the players they look quite tidy and quick, Frizzell in particular.

Ā 

But no real striker, nobody to win the ball in the middle of the park and a defence thatā€™s slow as f**k and not overly physical.Ā 
Ā 

Turan done well today but McIntosh and Bird are both battering rams who are also very quick and I think theyā€™d have had a field day against they centre halves if theyā€™d been on longer.Ā 

Cigars were out for us the day. Was looking forward to see airdrie play but if thatā€™s what itā€™s like then wow. So slow and done absolutely nothing. Went direct a few times and nearly got in final touch let them down. Pissing about with the ball at the back when you have the wind behind you and passing it between the keeper and cbā€™s šŸ˜‚

good to see us back to how we play best organised, solid, hard working and scoring goals a bonus.Ā 
Ā 

donā€™t need to go on about the ref. Clearly fucking hopeless and loves to be centre of attention a proper fucking w****r is mr NapierĀ 

3 hours ago, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

McCabe and McMaster in the same team šŸ˜¬. I think Aitken can think himself a little unlucky to be missing out, especially as I thought McCabe looked a little "rusty" in some of his challenges against UOS.

McCabe shouldn't be starting for us unless McMaster and/or Aiken are injured. Even if he can hit a decent free kick.

1 hour ago, Passionate said:

Airdrie surprisingly playing it safe,Ā  no option but to go longer,Ā  need Todorov and McGill up top second half, ,Ā  big half ahead this will show what Airdrie have in the locker....

Airdrie's locker would appear to be empty.

DC got our tactics spot on, let Airdrie pass it about without really threating us then hit them. Two great goals in the first half and the two in the second half were the icing on the cake with Airdrie chasing the game and totally exposed at the back. The team is looking good now after a very sticky start and good options on the bench. Eight goals in the last two weeks...who would've thought. Hylton was superb with the rest of the team not far behind.

Thought Airdrie would have been better tbh but think we made them look poor The ref..... hmm

Ā 

Ā 

That was a Peter Grant-esque performance from Airdrie. Overplaying in their own half then doing nothing in the final third.

Ā 

A game I was quite worried about but ended up being very comfortable. Hylton and Slater superb as was the back 4 (particularly given that over half the game, 3 of them were playing outwith their optimal position)

Ā 

Amazing how quickly things change. I was really worried about us after the game at Lesser 5 weeks ago but things are starting to click into place.

Ā 

By the way, I don't really have a complaint about Ricky Little's red card. Both were bookable offences, IMO. At the same time, I wouldn't blame Ricky either, as he found himself exposed by team-mates being out of position.

I thought the Airdrie red was harsher tbh.

Ā 

Ā 

Edited by Lichtielegend

First of all i was expecting a lot more from airdrie, but even when it was 11v10 with the wind at their back they seemed content to knock the ball about the back and posed no real threat.

Second of all, unsurprisingly and as predicted the ref made a complete clown of himself trying to ruin a decent game of football. He put himself in a position where rickyā€™s next tackle was a booking (which unfortunately ricky took) and then very sportingly evened the game by sending an airdrie player off. The only bad tackle in the game (which a previous poster mentioned) wasnā€™t even a booking.

Finally i thought arbroath were outstanding, didnā€™t have load of chances or loads of possession but every player did their job well. Hylton and slater especially.

After the first 3 games who would have thought weā€™d be 2 points off the top of the table after 6 games. šŸ‡±šŸ‡»

Chuffed to win well although 4-0 probably flattered us a wee bit.Ā 
Ā 

Wondering how many games Napier had to ruin before action is taken against him, clearly out of his depth numerous times Iā€™ve seen him, the yellow card for Airdrie just after Littleā€™s red was just beyond my comprehension, he just decide passages of play before they happen.Ā 

3 minutes ago, Tattie36 said:

Not going to bother trawling back through the forum for the Morton v Arbroath match thread where an Airdrie fan was laughing at Morton for losing to Arbroath.

Hope youā€™re having a lovely evening.

Tbh I have seen a lot of disrespect from Airdrie fans on my twitter over the last couple month - mainly young laddies like but that maybe made today a bit sweeter.Ā 

1 minute ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Tbh I have seen a lot of disrespect from Airdrie fans on my twitter over the last couple month - mainly young laddies like but that maybe made today a bit sweeter.Ā 

We have some right delusional fans especially those who post on Twitter. We mostly knew this was going to be tough today and anyone thinking otherwise needs to have a word with themselves.Ā 

Unfortunately the great start to the season masked that we are running with an almost identical squad to the one that finished third in league 1 last season.Ā 

One defeat shouldnā€™t crush our hopes but it certainly shows we need so much more than people will care to realise.Ā 

Some thoughts now the game is over.Ā  Firstly, I thought we bossed that game from start to finish!Ā  We did look a little ropey immediately after the sending off, but honestly, I don't think Airdrie looked any better than when we also cuffed them last year.Ā  I think we just match up well against them.Ā  They were trying to play pretty football, passing it around the centre backs and full backs, playing football the "right" way, but we seem to relish teams that play like that.Ā  So I don't think Airdrie are a terrible team, they just don't seem to match up well against us.Ā  However, one of the biggest differences I notice when I watch league 1 and 2 games is physicality and fitness.Ā  Its quite surprising when you see some of these league 1 and league 2 games and see players that just look fatter and slower.Ā  We had to up our fitness to play in the championship, and I don't think Airdrie have learned that lesson yet.Ā Ā 

We were great today, but without needing to really work too hard for it.Ā  Hylton and McKenna combined really well, Turan looked really good up front (better than last week I felt), our midfield ran the show, we were just really well organised.Ā  You can see that the team has started to really gel, and we have so many players that could also have played and done well.Ā  McIntosh came on and did well, and Bird in particular showed that he is an absolute predatory menace.

The one thing that surprised me about Airdrie was the way they collapsed at the end.Ā  Jay Bird's goal was hilarious!Ā  Once he got the ball and sauntered up the pitch, it was like the team just gave up.Ā  He could have stopped to get a drink and tie his shoelaces and still had time to be one-on-one with the keeper.Ā  I don't know how long a contract he's on, but honestly, I'd be looking to get him and Hylton on extended 2 year contracts ASAP.Ā  On that note, Hylton's individual goal was phenomenal.Ā  We have two players who seem to be really composed in front of goal, and its a welcome change.

Oh, and the ref....jesus.Ā  I thought it was just a personal dislike of Arbroath and Ricky Little, but I don't think he did Airdrie any favours either.Ā  Some really strange decisions all round.Ā  He calmed down a bit after the second sending off, but that was probably because Airdrie just seemed to give up and stop competing fully.Ā Ā 

Just accepted that we will never win at gayfield. There is no style of football that will have you winning every game and Arbroathā€™s style is always going to be very effective against ours. Weā€™ve honestly more chance of giving united a pumping at tannadice.

However, I still believe in the way we play as I think it suits us and we are a much different prospect at home.

Also thought the line up we started with was quite strange. I may be in the minority but Iā€™d start Hancock at left back everyday and put ballantyne at right back ahead of Watson. Also think thatā€™s one of our weakest midfield combinations imo.

Far from a disaster in the grand scheme of things but probably the worst Iā€™ve seen us play under McCabe. Canā€™t remember us having 0 shots on target in a game in years.

We started quite well ( for five minutes) and I did wonder how close the Gallagher offside "goal" was but after that we had no idea how to use the slight breeze advantage. Arbroath took control although Watson was culpable for both goals. Credit to Hylton for real skill in scoring the second but dilly dallying will be punished in most games.

There were some good tackles and bad ones but Napier seems unable to distinguish. I like Ricky Little but he was bound to get a second with that foul. Thought Arbroath then simply reorganised and recognised that Airdrie would spend ages passing about mainly sideways.

The wee sub for us did commit a yellow card offence at the first but the second was a joke, and did feel like pleasing the crowd after riling them much earlier.

The only credit to give to him was stopping on the 90th minute!

We did hit the post but that crazy period at the end sums up how easily we got caught out.

Harsh lessons for Rhys who was not at his best today and it kinda spread through the team. Wingers who dinnae wing will not do.

On Arbroath I liked Hylton and the number 6 while in general there were no weaknesses in tactics nor players.Ā 

The mince pie was good and a wee bit of sunshine was a bonus.

3 minutes ago, Chapelhall chap said:

We started quite well ( for five minutes) and I did wonder how close the Gallagher offside "goal" was but after that we had no idea how to use the slight breeze advantage. Arbroath took control although Watson was culpable for both goals. Credit to Hylton for real skill in scoring the second but dilly dallying will be punished in most games.

There were some good tackles and bad ones but Napier seems unable to distinguish. I like Ricky Little but he was bound to get a second with that foul. Thought Arbroath then simply reorganised and recognised that Airdrie would spend ages passing about mainly sideways.

The wee sub for us did commit a yellow card offence at the first but the second was a joke, and did feel like pleasing the crowd after riling them much earlier.

The only credit to give to him was stopping on the 90th minute!

We did hit the post but that crazy period at the end sums up how easily we got caught out.

Harsh lessons for Rhys who was not at his best today and it kinda spread through the team. Wingers who dinnae wing will not do.

On Arbroath I liked Hylton and the number 6 while in general there were no weaknesses in tactics nor players.Ā 

The mince pie was good and a wee bit of sunshine was a bonus.

Good support through from Airdrie today - best so far this season outside of United. 6 is Craig Slater - absolute class act since heā€™s got up to speed.

Ā 

It looks like Hylton, Stowe, McIntosh, Bird and Turan have all greatly improved us as a team going forward. We have always had a solid defence and a good keeper, along with some very good midfield players but last year we had nothing out wide or upfront.Ā 
Ā 

Ā 

5 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Good support through from Airdrie today - best so far this season outside of United. 6 is Craig Slater - absolute class act since heā€™s got up to speed.

Ā 

It looks like Hylton, Stowe, McIntosh, Bird and Turan have all greatly improved us as a team going forward. We have always had a solid defence and a good keeper, along with some very good midfield players but last year we had nothing out wide or upfront.Ā 
Ā 

Ā 

Good to know our support made an impact unlike the teamšŸ˜€Thanks for info on the number 6 and I think if Arbroath score first in games you'll be hard to break down, and do look capable of scoring now. Was in the wee stand today and those narrow rows are uncomfortable for long legged guys like me! Just a minor moan .

2 minutes ago, Chapelhall chap said:

Good to know our support made an impact unlike the teamšŸ˜€Thanks for info on the number 6 and I think if Arbroath score first in games you'll be hard to break down, and do look capable of scoring now. Was in the wee stand today and those narrow rows are uncomfortable for long legged guys like me! Just a minor moan .

Yeah the stand is very hit and miss - only go in it occasionally when Iā€™m not in the mood for socialising šŸ˜‚Ā 

Should've had a wee seat on the terracing, the corner of that is a magic place to sit