Dry January

Clangers

I find it funny that people are saying on a thread about Dry January that they hate people going on about it. I find it sad that someone bothered to post a picture of their beer.

On 03/01/2024 at 19:31, Smurph said:

I find it funny that people are saying on a thread about Dry January that they hate people going on about it. I find it sad that someone bothered to post a picture of their beer.

The concept of showing off that you aren’t drinking for a month is not only pathetic but it’s 10 years out of date now and it annoys me having to see it. 

I find it funny that people are saying on a thread about Dry January that they hate people going on about it. 

Indeed.

Afaik none of those who said they are giving it a go have been "banging on about it" - like some may do on Facebook or whatever.

It wouldn't be much of a forum if people didn't exchange views.

2 hours ago, jimbaxters said:

If it takes a gimmicky initiative to stop you drinking alcohol for 31 days then there's probably the makings of a problem there already.

If it takes a gimmicky initiative to provoke lifelong drinkers into a life of sobriety then it challenges the assertion that it is gimmicky. 

2 hours ago, jimbaxters said:

If it takes a gimmicky initiative to stop you drinking alcohol for 31 days then there's probably the makings of a problem there already.

People don’t need an initiative like this to stop drinking or to drink less though. There’s no shortage of good information out there about the harms of heavy drinking and how you can cut back whilst still enjoying it etc which is a better approach than just cutting it out altogether for a whole month after you have been hitting it hard for a fortnight. I think making it a set month sets a lot of people up for failure and if they end up having a drink for what ever reason they will think they have failed and just go back to unhealthy drinking habits.

Basically, do a routine that works for you and get on with it. Not everything needs it’s own hashtag.

22 minutes ago, throbber said:

a better approach than just cutting it out altogether for a whole month after you have been hitting it hard for a fortnight

The issue for me is I have been "hitting it hard" for about 40 years.

My problem is not everyday, it is binge drinking - and some of those recent episodes have been messy.

Giving up for a month is worth it when set against the alternative (potential divorce) - a shite hashtag, I know but is the truth.

On 01/01/2024 at 10:41, HeartsOfficialMoaner said:

I have been drinking since 10th August and I need to give it a break so I'm up for this.

Once you get into it you can keep on going. I will try for 3 months dry and then see.

Just take it a day at a time, this setting targets of weeks/months is stupid.

Is it about knowing you're in control? I can go weeks, months occasionally when circumstances mean I haven't drank, there was very little will power involved. Like @Leith GreenI over do it when I do, fortunately the only person that harms to any real degree is me and I don't want to.stop.

I'll be out today and will drink, last week I didn't fancy it, so just stayed in.

4 hours ago, throbber said:

The concept of showing off that you aren’t drinking for a month is not only pathetic but it’s 10 years out of date now and it annoys me having to see it. 

Might be "10 years out of date" for you but might be something new and worth a try for others..  There may be people who are 19 now that wish to reduce what they consider to be problem drinking - they were only 9 years old back when when you may have considered it a wothwhile exercise.

I find it pathetic that you find it pathetic.  

I'm not gong to be doing "Dry January" per se, but doubt I'll have a drink this month. I've been cutting back recently anyway, and feel it's as good a time as any to give the body a rest, as I've not been feeling great for a while.

But I'm not setting any parameters, if I fancy a beer in a couple weeks time I'll have one.

Drinking is a social thing for me, don't drink alcohol in the house at all, December/January is usually when I go out most due to the festive period and loads of birthdays in January but as others can go months without touching a drop and not being fussed.

17 minutes ago, Craig fae the Vale said:

I'm not gong to be doing "Dry January" per se, but doubt I'll have a drink this month. I've been cutting back recently anyway, and feel it's as good a time as any to give the body a rest, as I've not been feeling great for a while.

But I'm not setting any parameters, if I fancy a beer in a couple weeks time I'll have one.

Fucksake, I wouldn't like to see you on it! The drinking thread will close!

22 minutes ago, Empty It said:

Drinking is a social thing for me, don't drink alcohol in the house at all, December/January is usually when I go out most due to the festive period and loads of birthdays in January but as others can go months without touching a drop and not being fussed.

I'm the same as you, or I used to be. The one thing I need to watch is that owing to what appears to be a complete loss of anyone willing to watch the weans and give us a break, me and the wife's socialising with eachother tends to be in the house. This normalises drinking in the house somewhat, and had got a bit silly/needing nipped a wee bit a couple of months ago. 

I won't stop cold turkey in such a prescriptive way as "a dry month" but I will def drink less in the house after this weekend (back to work) 

Will definitely scale back the drinking in Jan, mainly to help lose a few pounds of holiday beef. Drinking is such an ingrained part of our culture that sometimes you need to commit to something like dry Jan to give yourself a break.

On a similar note, has anyone decided to give up vaping in 2024? I stupidly got into it having never smoked but quit cold turkey at new year. Then followed 3 days of utter hell which thankfully I seem to be coming out the other side of. Lesson Learned.

27 minutes ago, Empty It said:

I can pretty easily go weeks without a drink at all and very rarely is it the case that I have a drink at home if nobody else is joining me. About the only exceptions would be if I'm watching a Rangers European tie or a competitive Scotland match... difficult to get through these without some form of anaesthetic.