Cosmetic Surgery

2 hours ago, alta-pete said:

Meanwhile, in the 'WTF were they actually thinking?' I give your Newcastle owner(?) Amanda Stavely. A terrifically attractive woman who seemed to go down a rabbit hole of I've got all the money I need to make it work, what could possibly go wrong?

2018:

2018.png

2023:

2023.png

That’s incredible. Such a beautiful looking lady in that 2018 photo. Perhaps she is into Star Trek @scottsdad

IMG_6936.jpeg.0eb912beeebbe699dd4d22c0b16e1f09.jpeg

40 minutes ago, DiegoDiego said:

I knew a plastic surgeon in Italy, and she used to love pointing out folk who'd had work done. The vast majority of the time you'd never know.

Folk who say people should be happy as they are, where is the line drawn? Are they allowed to dye their hair? Wear mascara?

The line is when the tax payer starts funding your insecurities. 

Also I didn't say people should be happy how they are, ideally they would be however if they are unhappy enough to change their appearance through cosmetic surgery or through make up and hair dye then I'm allowed to form an opinion on how I think they look and how attractive they are to me (not that anyone should rightly care about that)

I wouldn't ever personally have a go at anyone for having work other than laughing on an anonymous football forum if it looks noticeably amusing. 

I think male baldness is slightly different, I've a gorgeous head of hair and doubt I'll go bald but i can empathise with younger people that go bald in their 20s/30s and have the money to get the transplant. I think if I went bald now and had lots of money I'd consider the transplant and people would be free to judge me on that decision, it certainly seems like most of these people do it through insecurity about ageing rather than as some sort of beauty enhancement treatment gone wrong (like the people I've mentioned)

26 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

That's not what I said. F*** up dyeing your hair or applying mascara and you can rectify fairly simply. F*** up plastic surgery and it's a major disaster.

I think a lot of the tattoos around nowadays will look absolutely horrendous in 20 years time, but if people want to go around like walking paintings it's up to them.

I wasn't speaking to you specifically, just wanting to understand the mindset of those who think you should be "happy how you are" (I don't know if you're in that group or not). Do they really think it's okay to be unhappy how you are as long as the change is temporary?

6 minutes ago, DiegoDiego said:

I wasn't speaking to you specifically, just wanting to understand the mindset of those who think you should be "happy how you are" (I don't know if you're in that group or not). Do they really think it's okay to be unhappy how you are as long as the change is temporary?

I think it’s healthy mentally to be happy with your lot, but not unequivocally. 

Everyone has their own idea where to draw the line between vanity and taking pride in your own appearance. 

For me, acceptable presentation tweaks are smart clothes, shaving my face, vaguely shaping my hair (not brushed or combed in about 25 years), getting a hair cut.  I'm pushing my comfort zone getting my Dennis Healy eyebrows trimmed. 

Anything beyond that would be vanity for me. 

Other people can do what they want. But i can't help thinking that someone who has spent a lot of money on their appearance is vain and shallow. Whether that's fair or not. 

17 minutes ago, RuMoore said:

The line is when the tax payer starts funding your insecurities. 

Also I didn't say people should be happy how they are, ideally they would be however if they are unhappy enough to change their appearance through cosmetic surgery or through make up and hair dye then I'm allowed to form an opinion on how I think they look and how attractive they are to me (not that anyone should rightly care about that)

I wouldn't ever personally have a go at anyone for having work other than laughing on an anonymous football forum if it looks noticeably amusing. 

I think male baldness is slightly different, I've a gorgeous head of hair and doubt I'll go bald but i can empathise with younger people that go bald in their 20s/30s and have the money to get the transplant. I think if I went bald now and had lots of money I'd consider the transplant and people would be free to judge me on that decision, it certainly seems like most of these people do it through insecurity about ageing rather than as some sort of beauty enhancement treatment gone wrong (like the people I've mentioned)

The biggest improvement in men's general appearance over the last 30 years, has been that those who are starting to go bald reach a point of no return when they say f**k it and shave the rest off and subsequently keep it that way. Nothing makes someone look like an auld c**t than the horseshoe of remaining hair from the ears round the back of the head, the tufty bit  on the forehead left behind by the receding line or worst of all the dreaded comb over.

Being totally bald looks 100% better than any of these options 

I don't think it's the case that cosmetic surgery always looks shit, it's more that you can't see the ones that aren't shit so it leads to a false perception of the success rate.

I've been losing hair for a few years, and recently started to use the finasteride/minoxidil combo that the likes of numan and a bunch of other companies seem to have started being able to prescribe online over the last few years. Tbh, I've been happy enough buzzing it down to 5mm for a year or so, but thought why not give it a go for a relatively low price - if it doesn't work for me I've burned 100 quid for 6 months of trying it. The downside is if it does work you have to keep taking it. I'm comfortable enough with it though that a few grand on a trip to Turkey just wouldn't make sense for me.

I lived in Colombia for a year and some of the plastic surgery women get over there is wild, and very sad really as it's all to meet a body type (big arse, tiny waist, big tits) that's been culturally imposed as what's supposed to be the norm particularly on Latina women in recent decades. I think it's Medellin in particular is a bit of an international centre for cosmetic surgery, the Western Hemisphere's Turkey I guess. My wife is from the States as well and a few of her friends - women 28-32 or so - get botox fairly regularly in target areas round the eyes etc for wrinkles. Seems a bit odd to me at that age but you wouldn't notice if you didn't know tbf. One of her cousins has had her lips done and it looks horrendous. 

Edited by GHF-23

15 minutes ago, GHF-23 said:

My wife is from the States as well and a few of her friends - women 28-32 or so - get botox fairly regularly in target areas round the eyes etc for wrinkles. Seems a bit odd to me at that age but you wouldn't notice if you didn't know tbf.

Botox is an interesting case, as use over time has cascading impacts. Repeated Botox in the same area weakens the muscles and can thin the skin too. As the muscles weaken, they “recruit” adjacent muscles, which then need treatment and get weaker too. This is what results in what has become known as Botox face, or a preternaturally immobile face as the use loses the ability to control facial muscles and generate facial expressions.

Thinking about it, that would explain the sameness of expression over multiple events and years on people like Melania Trump, for instance.

2 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

I started losing my hair at 22 and by 27 it was more or less gone.

I'll be honest, I hate it. I'd love to have my hair back but I just couldn't justify paying several thousand on a procedure that is invasive, painful, not guaranteed to work and requires extensive gruelling aftercare for a purely cosmetic reason. 

It must be a common trait amongst Saints fans. 

I’ve recently seen a temporary wig solution that looks incredible.

The before and after effect is unbelievable and you see the immense confidence that having hair again does for those individuals mental health. 

I just know if I did something like that people would just rip the pish.

Cannae win either way. 

Hair loss can be an incredibly difficult thing to deal with. If I required a replacement knee or hip no one would bat an eyelid if I had surgery - why should male baldness carry such stigma? 

1 hour ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

The biggest improvement in men's general appearance over the last 30 years, has been that those who are starting to go bald reach a point of no return when they say f**k it and shave the rest off and subsequently keep it that way. Nothing makes someone look like an auld c**t than the horseshoe of remaining hair from the ears round the back of the head, the tufty bit  on the forehead left behind by the receding line or worst of all the dreaded comb over.

Being totally bald looks 100% better than any of these options 

I unfortunately have to shave my head every day.  I’d rather not have to and have the ability to have a full blown punk Mohawk or rockabilly quiff! 

2 hours ago, Molotov said:

It must be a common trait amongst Saints fans. 

I’ve recently seen a temporary wig solution that looks incredible.

The before and after effect is unbelievable and you see the immense confidence that having hair again does for those individuals mental health. 

I just know if I did something like that people would just rip the pish.

Cannae win either way. 

Hair loss can be an incredibly difficult thing to deal with. If I required a replacement knee or hip no one would bat an eyelid if I had surgery - why should male baldness carry such stigma? 

No chance. I would at least get a bit of grudging respect if I elected to surgically have my hair restored. 

If I showed up with a fully superglued mop on my head to the game tomorrow though, acting like nothing was out of the ordinary, I'd rightly get hounded relentlessly.

Edited by djchapsticks

I'm considering getting a minor procedure on my face that should improve things a bit.  It's something that should make me look a little younger,  definitely not 'enhancing' anything.

For context I'm a man in his 40s who's dating after separating from my long term partner.  Definitely wouldn't be considering this if I wasn't dating, but photo-based dating apps are fúcking brutal.

Creating this topic made me remember about seeing a story years ago about some rich Chinese guy that apparantly married someone who had lots of cosmetic surgery without them realising who they then had children with who delivered very ugly children and he sued them.

I believed that story for years until I read an article about how this was of course nonsense and the lady who's pictures were used had essentially had her life ruined by this fake story. 

It's up there with Marilyn Manson having his ribs removed to suck his penis and the frosties kid sticking pencils up his nose and then banging his head on his desk for me. 

9 hours ago, BFTD said:

Most will tell you that they do it for themselves, not to attract men. When you see the results, it's hard not to believe them - the question is why it makes them feel good to look like a vicious satire of a porn star.

Went out with a girl a long time ago who was, without question, an absolute worldy. 10/10 looks with no make up, flawless skin, long legs, magnificent arse, small waist and toned stomach. She stood out as spectacularly gorgeous even in groups of incredibly attractive women, and was constantly being chatted up by men(and women, for that matter). She only had a b cup and always said she wanted to get them done, which she eventually did(after we’d parted ways). She absolutely didn’t do it to attract anyone. I think in her case it was because it was the only thing about her anyone could possibly say anything negative about, which, given her looks was not that unusual due to the levels of jealousy she would cause others to feel.