Will Warnock "Hibs it"?

Will Warnock emulate Butcher and take his side from mid table to play-offs, to out of the league...  

214 members have voted

1. 1. You have until Aberdeen's next league game to make your decision...

• Yes
    • No

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 13/03/24 at 19:45

9 hours ago, Ric said:

I said it had Malky "vibes", but if you want me to be entirely clear with what I am saying..

If you supported Brexit, specifically the way it was framed, then the simple fact is you did support bigotry and racism.

Am I accusing everyone who voted for Brexit as being a racist or bigot? No, but in the same way you don't need to be a bigot or racist to support Trump, but supporting Trump supports bigots and racists.

I think enable would be a better word choice than support. 

16 hours ago, Crùbag said:

Didn't know that. The gammon pryck.

As to Hibsing it - he didn't really start off in a good position so all he's done is really keep the Dons on their downward trajectory. As to Saturday, garnering a 2-1 defeat after being ahead at 95 minutes most definitely is Hibsing it.

I didnt point out the obvious error in his descriptive as no doubt someone would have said "aye, thats just because you are a bitter Hibby".

But you are - of course - absolutely correct in the useage.

25 minutes ago, Derry Alli said:

I think him not posting at all would be the best outcome. 

I have had him on ignore for a year - far fewer pointless arguments.

16 hours ago, Bogbrush1903 said:

I defend your right to think my two sentences are nonsensical, just as you should defend my right to think that the your thread is whimsical nonsense begun more in hope that we disappear through the Championship trap door than actually particularly likely at this stage 

The opening post of this thread has the feel of a Kenny McIntyre tabloid drama for my liking.

I'll defend my two sentences by saying that I stated:

Aberdeen have lost their last three games, which we have, ergo not nonsense.

That you created this thread on the back of our defeat in Paisley, which you did.

That if St Mirren had lost three games in a row, and had lost two late goals at Pittodrie, and were 10 points off bottom and four points off second bottom, then it would be highly unlikely that anyone would think that warranted a thread.

Therefore, we must be perceived, whether true or not, as one of the bigger teams in Scotland.

We had a two minute collapse in Paisley in a match which we were good enough to take all three points.

A sickener for us Dons, and you Saints are, quite rightly, rubbing out faces in it but, in my opinion, I've seen worse Aberdeen sides than this present one, and they haven't been relegated either.

The one thing that would concern me would be if we got into a bottom six situation where teams, with little to play for, might ease up a bit against Ross County and turn up against us and make us fight but that would be our own fault for getting into this situation.

Of course, if we do get relegated, then I fully expect and encourage you to shove these words down my throat!

GIF by Got Talent Global

Will he win Aberdeen the Scottish Cup after 114 years of misery? No? He'll be long dead by then. Is he a bigger c**t than Terry Butcher? No. Nobody is a bigger c**t than Terry Butcher. Will he get Aberdeen relegated? Probably not but it would be hilarious if he did.

6 hours ago, hk blues said:

I think enable would be a better word choice than support. 

I think "ignore" would be a better choice than "respond".

On 04/03/2024 at 10:14, TheScarf said:

In 2014 Hibs that that boy McGivern at centre half who was 'on loan from Man City', which I don't think anyone believed. He was clearly the worst centre half in the league by some distance.  i don't think Aberdeen have anyone near the worst centre half in the league this season.  Their dogshit keeper and centre midfield is their issue, but they have a top striker for this level, something Hibs didn't have back then. Aberdeen will be fine.

I've just had a look at the Hibs squad from that season and it's a lot worse than I remembered.

Also had a chuckle at Fenlon still being manager more than a year after the Scottish Cup final against Hearts. Madness.

31 minutes ago, Darren said:

I've just had a look at the Hibs squad from that season and it's a lot worse than I remembered.

Also had a chuckle at Fenlon still being manager more than a year after the Scottish Cup final against Hearts. Madness.

Aye it was chock full of Nigel jobbers signed from League One down there who clearly weren’t anywhere near good enough for the Scottish Premiership. Who was the two they had up front? James Collins? and some other no mark?

Edit - I know Cummings played too late on in the season and in the games against Hamilton.

Edited by TheScarf

24 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

Aye it was chock full of Nigel jobbers signed from League One down there who clearly weren’t anywhere near good enough for the Scottish Premiership. Who was the two they had up front? James Collins? and some other no mark?

Edit - I know Cummings played too late on in the season and in the games against Hamilton.

Paul Heffernan and/or Rowan Vine?

3 minutes ago, Jacky1990 said:

Paul Heffernan and/or Rowan Vine?

That could be them. Sounds familiar.

1 hour ago, Darren said:

I love that he kept the job so long after losing the biggest game they'll ever play in abject fashion.

Speaks volumes about Hibs, imo.

He oversaw the 1-5, he lost every derby that season, he nearly relegated them, and Hibs continued to pay his wages. 🤣

What a fucking gang they are.

Edited by VincentGuerin

20 hours ago, Ric said:

If you supported Brexit, specifically the way it was framed, then the simple fact is you did support bigotry and racism.

How long has he held the position for? Was he against it back in 1973 and if so was that a racist position to hold or merely a socialist one given that the left were largely against it at the time?

It's dribbling simpleton pish to frame an opinion as fact, generally speaking, but even more so to condemn an entirely valid political position (being opposed to EU membership) as racist merely because others supporting it did so playing a very racist dog whistle (and occasional trombone). 

He may utter despise immigrants and want the UK to be an entirely white population with no pesky workplace regulations, but there's little evidence of that. He may simply have legitimate grievances over sovereignty. 

Pearl clutching pish.

Anyway. As much as it would break up the monotony a bit and give me an extra couple of games to go to next season, I don't reckon Aberdeen will go down. If Miovski gets injured or goes in a huge huff then aye, they're in soapy, but I reckon they'll have enough.

13 minutes ago, VincentGuerin said:

I love that he kept the job so long after losing the biggest game they'll ever play in abject fashion.

Speaks volumes about Hibs, imo.

He oversaw the 1-5, he lost every derby that season, he nearly relegated them, and Hibs continued to pay his wages. 🤣

What a fucking gang they are.

Aye but they’ve never stiffed hundreds of creditors & gone in to administration. 

4 hours ago, Joe Terrapin said:

Will he win Aberdeen the Scottish Cup after 114 years of misery? No? He'll be long dead by then. Is he a bigger c**t than Terry Butcher? No. Nobody is a bigger c**t than Terry Butcher. Will he get Aberdeen relegated? Probably not but it would be hilarious if he did.

You’ll need to run Aberdeen fans past that relegation thing. 

We’ve no idea what you’re talking about 

11 minutes ago, velo army said:

Anyway. As much as it would break up the monotony a bit and give me an extra couple of games to go to next season, I don't reckon Aberdeen will go down. If Miovski gets injured or goes in a huge huff then aye, they're in soapy, but I reckon they'll have enough.

This is the strangest part of Warnock for me.

He's come into the job where he really has one good player. One lad who can basically drag the rest of them out of the shite.

Surely you bend over backwards to keep him happy, pander to him, blow smoke up his arse, do whatever it takes to keep him keeping you up.

Fortunately, Warnock seems to have gone the opposite way. Hopefully Bojan gets a good rest before his well-earned summer move. A wee "thigh strain" and then watch the fun with the rest of us 😎

On 04/03/2024 at 11:51, gannonball said:

That is quite a stat. United have been 'doon' several times in my lifetime but I just assumed it was more of a blip for them.

You haven't appreciated the age of the poster in question.

Ok, maybe I'm fantasising, but I still think Warnock is capable of turning Aberdeen around this season. IMO they will finish 7th or 8th, and Warnock might even be offered the permanent  gig for the next season or two.

Watch this space. 

😀

4 minutes ago, Wilbur said:

Ok, maybe I'm fantasising, but I still think Warnock is capable of turning Aberdeen around this season. IMO they will finish 7th or 8th, and Warnock might even be offered the permanent  gig for the next season or two.

Watch this space. 

😀

image.jpeg.d05ca4a3b50149cf83f8f3baa8abe4c1.jpeg

Edited by VincentGuerin

3 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

This is the strangest part of Warnock for me.

He's come into the job where he really has one good player. One lad who can basically drag the rest of them out of the shite.

Surely you bend over backwards to keep him happy, pander to him, blow smoke up his arse, do whatever it takes to keep him keeping you up.

Fortunately, Warnock seems to have gone the opposite way. Hopefully Bojan gets a good rest before his well-earned summer move. A wee "thigh strain" and then watch the fun with the rest of us 😎

Bojan will be fine. Couple of quieter games (which good strikers will have) but he'll be back scoring soon enough.

Warnock said he was the best striker he'd ever worked with. Then a couple of comments in the following next week or two about him missing a chance due to a heavy touch and losing his man at a corner, which aren't really remotely controversial comments to make in the context or critiquing a team performance - but much of our support seem to have a huge heads gone about him being thrown under a bus as a result.