Petty Things That Get On Your Nerves...

21 hours ago, Bert Raccoon said:

I've never tried a Rowie as I live in civilisation but I must admit they sound awfy good 

I took a trip away from civilisation to reconnect with the brutal, Highland savages of Aberdeenshire a couple of weeks back. I can report back that the buttery/rowie is indeed very good. It's the saltiness from the butter that actually makes going for a second one essential. 

1 hour ago, virginton said:

I took a trip away from civilisation to reconnect with the brutal, Highland savages of Aberdeenshire a couple of weeks back. I can report back that the buttery/rowie is indeed very good. It's the saltiness from the butter that actually makes going for a second one essential. 

You have went up in my estimations.

I haven't had one in ages and all this talk is making my mouth water for a rowie, heated up all greasy. Oh min.

2 hours ago, johnnydun said:

You have went up in my estimations.

I haven't had one in ages and all this talk is making my mouth water for a rowie, heated up all greasy. Oh min.

Nae fae Aitkens unfortunately. Didn't close under the best circumstances. 😬

Screenshot_2021-10-26-22-35-14-162_com.android.chrome.jpg

On 25/10/2021 at 08:40, Oystercatcher said:

A few houses in my street have had halloween decorations up for 2 weeks. When did this become a thing?

Same here. We moved around 2½ months ago. There are more halloween decorations and lights outside here than there were Christmas decorations at our old place.

FFS.  In general (because there's always weirdos against the common trend wherever you go)

For Toonsers: rowie and buttery are interchangeable terms regardless of whether they're softer or harder/lardier.  Various outlets in Aberdeen also just refer to them as (Aberdeen) rolls.

For teuchters: buttery is the softer type whilst a rowie is the harder variety.

(Posted from GordonD's kitchen at 4am)

9 hours ago, Todd_is_God said:

Same here. We moved around 2½ months ago. There are more halloween decorations and lights outside here than there were Christmas decorations at our old place.

That's hardly surprising, there's not too many Christmas decorations about in July...

22 hours ago, Robin.Hood said:

Butteries are available in tesco 

Wallaces?  They're shite.

11 hours ago, johnnydun said:

Aye he was a beast or something.

Reporter is obviously a teuchter.

Rowie Nonce Enabler

9 minutes ago, coprolite said:

A house fire probably would change your life

Probably best to get the butteries out after 2 minutes.

2 hours ago, velo army said:

Either way. Stick it in the toaster for a wee bit. Life changing.

Despite 20 years of living in butteryland, I only tried this last year and wouldn't have them any other way now.  Life changing is an understatement.

12 minutes ago, 101 said:

It's JG Ross' ones I've seen being flogged in Tesco.

Wallaces in Dundee I think. Ross's are available on a wee stand in Home Bargains Lochee.  Bacon butteries being one such delight.

And no, @johnnydun ive already been round and cleared them out. 

2 hours ago, Melanius Mullarkey said:

Wallaces in Dundee I think. Ross's are available on a wee stand in Home Bargains Lochee.  Bacon butteries being one such delight.

One is enough. Tried to eat two one day, heart went like a raisin for 6hrs.