Unpopular opinions.

59 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

Our nice neighbour had one back in the late 70s which we got a lift in once.

Oh shit, here we go.

Take your time, Tam; these memories can take a while to resurface. We're here for you.

11 hours ago, tongue_tied_danny said:

The mark 3 Cortina is the most aesthetically pleasing motor that has ever been made...

12611223_450_450_73045_0_fit_0_c8bdaf915

Always preferred the escort rs 2000, along with the capri, Ford did have some nice cars back then.

32 minutes ago, bennett said:

Always preferred the escort rs 2000, along with the capri, Ford did have some nice cars back then.

They did indeed. 

I'd even go as far to say that car technology should have stopped there and then and that Cortinas, Escorts, Granadas and Capris should be manufactured for eternity.

9 hours ago, ICTJohnboy said:

Naah...

The DelBoy style pratmobile was better.

download.jpg

This should really go in the Calling Cards of Morons thread but I always think the natural home of the Ford Capri is slowly rusting away up on bricks in the driveway of some ned's house as a forgotten restoration project.

I care about Christmas much less than most people, judging by a quick look at FB.
I absolutely love Christmas, more so the build up in the weeks running up to it rather than the actual day itself. Folk tend to be in better moods and seem actually pleasant.

I can't stand it in November though. There isn't the same excitement and folk can't be fucked with it. 1st of December, go wild. Any time before that get Xmas in the fucking sea.

7 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

I absolutely love Christmas, more so the build up in the weeks running up to it rather than the actual day itself. Folk tend to be in better moods and seem actually pleasant.

I can't stand it in November though. There isn't the same excitement and folk can't be fucked with it. 1st of December, go wild. Any time before that get Xmas in the fucking sea.

I'm not the Grinch and I agree with your first point, decorations, Christmas Markets etc is all good. I was more talking about all these folk I'm seeing on Facebook who think Nicola Sturgeon has cancelled Christmas and that we're the only place on earth where this is happening, surely no adults can be surprised at the new rules. I've seen people saying stuff like "guess I'll only be getting my mates cards this year" and "this is a fucking joke, that wee boot has ruined Christmas". These people are usually the ones who post absolutely everything all over FB and think Christmas is an excuse to show off how amazing you and your family/friends are. I like the build up, I enjoy the day and having a drink with family but so many people I know seem to act like not having a normal Christmas is going to be the apocalypse.

Ah, so what you're saying is you've posted in here when you should have posted in the Calling Cards of Morons thread? 8) I'm far from a tinted specs lover of Nicola Sturgeon but even a pigheaded Unionist must see she has called this lockdown in those areas right now partly so people will have more chance of seeing their families at Xmas? I'm not on FB so can't see what's being said but I imagine a few folk will be commenting like "How umma ment tae get the weans presents if the shoaps urr shut!?" ?. Probably the same folk who rarely venture into town most years and do their shopping online.

I have relatives like you describe, they buy things for their kids that's all for show, not because the kids want these gifts but because they need to show off what they can afford* to buy. The amount of stuff that's been bought over the years then never seen again after the showing off on FB is incredible. That part of Xmas I don't like I have to admit. But then I don't think that's a Christmas issue, it's the "look at me" attitude I dislike.

* That part is questionable given they plead poverty the minute a household necessity goes on the blink.

24 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

Ah, so what you're saying is you've posted in here when you should have posted in the Calling Cards of Morons thread? 8) I'm far from a tinted specs lover of Nicola Sturgeon but even a pigheaded Unionist must see she has called this lockdown in those areas right now partly so people will have more chance of seeing their families at Xmas? I'm not on FB so can't see what's being said but I imagine a few folk will be commenting like "How umma ment tae get the weans presents if the shoaps urr shut!?" ?. Probably the same folk who rarely venture into town most years and do their shopping online.

I have relatives like you describe, they buy things for their kids that's all for show, not because the kids want these gifts but because they need to show off what they can afford* to buy. The amount of stuff that's been bought over the years then never seen again after the showing off on FB is incredible. That part of Xmas I don't like I have to admit. But then I don't think that's a Christmas issue, it's the "look at me" attitude I dislike.

* That part is questionable given they plead poverty the minute a household necessity goes on the blink.

I expect leadership from Government that makes properly intend decisions based on the fact we are mid-pandemic. Not policy drafted around people's arrangements for Christmas.

It's either a pandemic or it isn't, bowing to pressure from social media complaints about not having visitors is not leadership.

I'd say, here's the deal. You and your family can meet in any house available to you, let us know where and when. When your kids infect granny don't bring her or anyone else to hospital and bury her in the garden when she croaks.

People need to understand that Christmas isn't about consumerism its about getting pissed every day for two weeks.

On 15/11/2020 at 13:46, tongue_tied_danny said:

I've always thought Australian cars from the Mad Max era looked pretty smart.

201711.jpg

I'd love to square go a bunch of psychotic bikers before driving home in my Ford Falcon coupe, cracking open a tin of Castlemaine XXXX and throwing a few shrimps on the barbie.

I believe this activity has recently been added to the Westworld Theme Park Franchise along with my own fave, Football Hooligan World.

Looking forward to throwing white plastic bar furniture at realistic looking robots, while pissed on Super Bock.

42 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

This thought popped into my head after having a look at the instagram of that Glasgow beautician that's been going viral with her saying she'll keep working through restrictions etc.

And let me preface what follows with aye I'm a massive hypocrite and absolutely wid if it came to it.

Lassies these days. The type who are into Love Island and all that. While I can appreciate they go to a lot of effort with their looks, going to the gym, clothes, makeup and all the rest of it, there's just something... off.. about it all. They all look like they're pretty girls and yet they slap on makeup with a brickie's trowel as if they're going on RuPaul's drag race, they wear these paint on clothes from Boohoo and Asos made by south Asian immigrants for illegal poverty wages in Leicester, scary numbers of them going to Turkey for cosmetic surgery, taking diet pills with god knows what in them that they bought off the internet. It's all a bit much, gives me that uncanny valley feeling. They're supposed to look sexy but they've gone too far with it all and it's triggering a fight or flight response.

ETA: this sort of thing:

image.png.f2d5ec6c30d964037201faedb6c87417.png

Theres no telling them unfortunately. 

I've tried. They just laugh. The drag queen look is now mainstream. A peculiar feedback loop.

48 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

This thought popped into my head after having a look at the instagram of that Glasgow beautician that's been going viral with her saying she'll keep working through restrictions etc.

And let me preface what follows with aye I'm a massive hypocrite and absolutely wid if it came to it.

Lassies these days. The type who are into Love Island and all that. While I can appreciate they go to a lot of effort with their looks, going to the gym, clothes, makeup and all the rest of it, there's just something... off.. about it all. They all look like they're pretty girls and yet they slap on makeup with a brickie's trowel as if they're going on RuPaul's drag race, they wear these paint on clothes from Boohoo and Asos made by south Asian immigrants for illegal poverty wages in Leicester, scary numbers of them going to Turkey for cosmetic surgery, taking diet pills with god knows what in them that they bought off the internet. It's all a bit much, gives me that uncanny valley feeling. They're supposed to look sexy but they've gone too far with it all and it's triggering a fight or flight response.

Has there not always been a demographic of try hards amongst younger women, possibly exacerbated by folk trying to outdo each other on social media?

56 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

The patriarchal society used to keep young sluts in their place. 

This is all Germaine Greer's fault.