The Falkirk FC Thread

28 minutes ago, Raybowski89 said:

It's defo a commonly held viewpoint by fans of other clubs. My gaffer is a Partick Thistle supporter and he's always saying that Falkirk think they're a bigger club than they are. We have a fanbase that's far beyond any club at our current level, that's for sure, and would be within the top 4 teams in the championship in terms of support.

People will say that Livi are a Premiership side and they have no fans at all, but Livi are an anomaly. I have T-shirts that are older than them. At Ross County, the whole town of Dingwall only has a population of 4,000 I think it is? The fact that they still average around 2,000 attendance is crazy when you consider that that's 50% of the entire town turning up on matchdays.

I was saying the other day that the dream is to get back to the premiership, and hopefully one day build that fourth stand. Is that having ideas above our station?

(We are massive)

Fortunate to have seen some fantastic teams and players that were simply on a different level. This brought crowds that filled our home.  
We always had a very loyal away support that outside the top seven/eight clubs easily was the biggest away numbers.

I actually remember different work mates from the west/east /central belt commenting on really good away numbers. Bigger than what we are ? Dont think there’s many fans that have that view, and for me it was the often an easy hit for the press. We’re very lucky, we have a brilliant core of fans that have stuck with the club, after witnessing four years of brutal abhorrent shite. 

5 hours ago, lanky_ffc said:

We get stick for having ideas above our station but I don't know a single Falkirk fan who thinks this. It's mostly a myth that other fans use to have a go at us:

Hide contents

We are massive though

The whole crowdwanking thing has entertained me a lot on here over the years it must be said! I think it came from us having a relatively large yet unfinished stadium (that was designed when that daft 12k rule was still in place) that was often criticised for quietness and poor atmosphere, especially during the Pressley era. I think a lot of Falkirk fans felt the need to justify or defend this by pointing out that it was still quite a large support etc etc and its really just grown arms & legs since then.

7 minutes ago, Springfield said:

Fortunate to have seen some fantastic teams and players that were simply on a different level. This brought crowds that filled our home.  
We always had a very loyal away support that outside the top seven/eight clubs easily was the biggest away numbers.

I actually remember different work mates from the west/east /central belt commenting on really good away numbers. Bigger than what we are ? Dont think there’s many fans that have that view, and for me it was the often an easy hit for the press. We’re very lucky, we have a brilliant core of fans that have stuck with the club, after witnessing four years of brutal abhorrent shite. 

I was thinking about this recently, in regards to the away support. Falkirk absolutely benefits from where it's geographically located, in this regard. One of the reasons I'm looking forward to (hopefully) getting back into the championship is just how many (reasonably) centrally located teams there are, compared to League One. Ayr away is almost a home game for me haha.

22 hours ago, ShaggerG said:

For me the problem with Hartley wasn't his ability (or lack of it) as a manager, it was how he treated people. Maybe he's learned his lesson because he seemed a lot more humble and polite in that interview than he used to with wee Lewis! The way he spoke to him was truly ignorant, and that was to a nicer guy you couldn't meet.

I remember his arrogance from the get-go with his first interview. "I didn't apply, they came to me"

I think the big thing for us if we do get promoted is continuing to ride the wave created this season into the championship. Further success sees crowds keep interested and at a good level otherwise they will undoubtedly fall off if midtable becomes a common trait like our years under pressley.  If you can turn one promotion into another then I reckon you would see bigger home crowds in the top flight than we had under Hughes the last time we were up there.

17 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

I think the big thing for us if we do get promoted is continuing to ride the wave created this season into the championship. Further success sees crowds keep interested and at a good level otherwise they will undoubtedly fall off if midtable becomes a common trait like our years under pressley.  If you can turn one promotion into another then I reckon you would see bigger home crowds in the top flight than we had under Hughes the last time we were up there.

That’s my thoughts too 

31 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

So, what I'm hearing then is that we're absolutely guaranteed a fourth stand. Can't wait haha. In all seriousness, I'm not even sure how that would happen, as I read recently that Falkirk Council are currently running a 64M deficit, so I can't imagine they'll be keen to foot the bill. 

1 hour ago, Raybowski89 said:

It's defo a commonly held viewpoint by fans of other clubs. My gaffer is a Partick Thistle supporter and he's always saying that Falkirk think they're a bigger club than they are. We have a fanbase that's far beyond any club at our current level, that's for sure, and would be within the top 4 teams in the championship in terms of support.

People will say that Livi are a Premiership side and they have no fans at all, but Livi are an anomaly. I have T-shirts that are older than them. At Ross County, the whole town of Dingwall only has a population of 4,000 I think it is? The fact that they still average around 2,000 attendance is crazy when you consider that that's 50% of the entire town turning up on matchdays.

I was saying the other day that the dream is to get back to the premiership, and hopefully one day build that fourth stand. Is that having ideas above our station?

(We are massive)

As far as Ross County goes when Roy McGregor (McGregor Supplies) goes so does all his supplier advertising hoardings and sponsorships. Good luck to them as they had some great days and memories which will make the reckoning all the more bitter to take.

5 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

As far as Ross County goes when Roy McGregor (McGregor Supplies) goes so does all his supplier advertising hoardings and sponsorships. Good luck to them as they had some great days and memories which will make the reckoning all the more bitter to take.

I'm not all that clued up on their situation. Are they basically being kept afloat by McGregor's funding then? Say what you want about our situation, but we have no debt thank god.

1 hour ago, Shodwall cat said:

IF we do go up I don't see us winning back to back promotions. Any team getting relegated from the prem maybe Livi apart will have better finances and players. Then if either of Dundee Utd or Raith don't go up this season they'll be strong again next season. Add in your Dunfermline's, Partick's etc. I think we would be doing well to get a playoff spot. Not factoring in the championship being one of the most bonkers leagues about where any side can beat another on any given day. Think last season it was only Raith out all the teams that never had anything to play for on the last day. 

Edited by ebobsboy

19 minutes ago, ebobsboy said:

IF we do go up I don't see us winning back to back promotions. I think we would be doing well to get a playoff spot. 

If we do go up, an optimistic aim would be to target 4th spot for a crack at the play offs, where anything can happen. To stay in the Championship would be a pessimistic aim. I think a double promotion as champions to the Premier is a big ask and maybe too much than we can manage at this stage. Hope for the best of course.

Edited by GunnerBairn

2 hours ago, ajwffc said:

all match sponsorship packages for the rest of the season are now sold  out 

Now I am no commercialist, but it sounds like we need to invent some new matchday sponsorship opportunities. 

4 minutes ago, NavyBlueArmy1876 said:

Now I am no commercialist, but it sounds like we need to invent some new matchday sponsorship opportunities. 

exactly what I was thinking.

McGlynn's  bunnet is a prime candidate.

7 hours ago, 18BAIRN76 said:

It’s been done to death (I think I’ve said what I’m about to say before) and it is often very fun/entertaining because there are some who actually get quite wound up by it.  However, folk alway miss the distinction between where we should be and where we deserve to be. We deserve to be in League One, that much is obvious. We’ve had a long spell of being absolutely rancid for years after a litany of terrible decisions and clowns running the club, coming nowhere near really even getting out of the division in that time - it’s only recently we seem to finally, seriously be getting our act together and be on the way back up again. Should be, for me, relates to things such as fan base, infrastructure, facilities, potential for growth, history etc, and is based on the assumption that the club itself is being run properly and to its full potential. On that basis, we should be a club which moves between the Premiership/fighting at the top of the Championship. Putting all the patter aside, none of this should be controversial. 

I can’t stand the “you are where you should be” that we hear aimed at us a lot. It’s usually aimed at us by the fans of the smaller clubs who are in the championship. We are where we are, it’s not where we should be. Not with the resources available to us. 

1 hour ago, GunnerBairn said:

If we do go up, an optimistic aim would be to target 4th spot for a crack at the play offs, where anything can happen. To stay in the Championship would be a pessimistic aim. I think a double promotion as champions to the Premier is a big ask and maybe too much than we can manage at this stage. Hope for the best of course.

I'm not saying we should be winning promotion but it would be good to have a season where we are up challenging in the playoff area. Dunfermlines season seems to have turned into a struggle this year for instance and it will be interesting to see how their season tickets hold up if they were to end up mid table and not in the playoffs  come may.

10 minutes ago, Senor Bairn said:

Don't want to pish on anyone's parade but can we chill out with the double promotion chat, I'm enjoying this as much as anyone else but we're not even promoted out of league 1 yet. It's January, aye we're doing well, but I don't think I will go fully over the top until it's done. I've done it too many times to myself and been let down. I hope it's different this time. 

Sorry for being a spoil sport x 

Feet firmly on the ground here.

Never forget that this was a little over 2 years ago.

Edited by Beaver The Bairn

Just now, Beaver The Bairn said:

Feet firmly on the ground here.

Never forget that this was a little over 2 years ago.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eb093q9U4L0

Aye I've been hurt too many times before to go over the top. 

Whatever happens, I'm just happy to watch a team that plays with style, pace and gives a f**k. The last few years have totally battered my confidence. This time 2 years ago Martin Rennie played a back 5 at east Fife with Craig McGuffie playing at left wing back while Leon McCann sat on the bench 😂