The Falkirk FC Thread

13 hours ago, bridge of allan bairn said:

Never really liked the look of this tbh. Looks like a mish mash of ideas and aesthetically poor. I'd be disappointed with something like this. 

Our stadium looks great, quality stands and everything looks good together. If we ever get round to that "sustainable" fourth stand, which I really hope we do, I hope the quality is as good as the existing three stands.

The concept of terracing, smaller stand behind is sound and being smaller it will be a more intimate match watching experience. We don't need nor can afford a comparable stand to what's in place already

Ascetically pleasing is secondary, if the fans like it and fill it that's that matters. Lets see what the Ayr fans make of it next season. If they fill it then Falkirk price up their version then there just might be a cost-effective solution to finishing the stadium.

1 hour ago, ShaggerG said:

I'm quite happy that the stadium wasn't completed when built because that will hopefully mean that any 4th stand will be different from the other 3 therefore giving the place a bit more individual character. As you say, it needs to be a quality build and, of course, sustainable. 

The Ayr concept is fine and ticks a lot of boxes

Terracing 3 - 4 barriers deep. Just like the intimidating terracing opposite the Brockville Stand

5 rows of seating in a mini stand behind. Lot of people will like that and will give easier access for fans with mobility issues

Hospitality boxes closer to the field of play, that's an obvious winner.

The clincher is it will be the most cost effective option, and that in the end of the day will decide if the stadium is ever finished - the cost.

26 minutes ago, 60`s bairn said:

Sadly, this has always been part of watching football and most certainly always will be. I remember going to games with my brother years back and being gobsmacked at how he transformed into someone I barely recognised, going mental at referees and linesmen when their decisions were dubious. Away from the game he was generally quiet and mild mannered. However, his job was a stressful one and the matches were where he released the tensions. I believe that will account for some of the behaviour but alas, there are also a number of ar**s who think shouting abuse at players and management is going to improve things.

its not just watching I'm afraid i think its part of football, you just have to go on any of the clubs FB posts, or either of the FFC groups to find people waiting to be offended and then blowing up the slightest thing into a f'ing melodrama. those folk do ma nut in, this headlong rush into being offended or outraged seems to be people who can't control their emotions and they expect we all have to do it for them. f that, i had to block one of the melons earlier who crawled all over my posts, asking nosy parker questions about me and my profile like some sort of self appointed judge of truth and decency  🤯 and if you're on here peeps as i suspect you may be, seriously get a life .

5 minutes ago, AJ1981 said:

its not just watching I'm afraid i think its part of football, you just have to go on any of the clubs FB posts, or either of the FFC groups to find people waiting to be offended and then blowing up the slightest thing into a f'ing melodrama. those folk do ma nut in, this headlong rush into being offended or outraged seems to be people who can't control their emotions and they expect we all have to do it for them. f that, i had to block one of the melons earlier who crawled all over my posts, asking nosy parker questions about me and my profile like some sort of self appointed judge of truth and decency  🤯 and if you're on here peeps as i suspect you may be, seriously get a life .

Yes, that seems to be part of life now. ☹️

I lost my shit a wee bit at the end of the Annan game when they equalised and folk in the KM booed at the final whistle. We were 14 points clear at the time, told a few to shut it and got a mouthful back, arseholes.

1 minute ago, Harry Kinnear said:

I lost my shit a wee bit at the end of the Annan game when they equalised and folk in the KM booed at the final whistle. We were 14 points clear at the time, told a few to shut it and got a mouthful back, arseholes.

I think some folk think that AI is already here and that the players are all robots!

46 minutes ago, HopeStreetWalker said:

The Ayr concept is fine and ticks a lot of boxes

Terracing 3 - 4 barriers deep. Just like the intimidating terracing opposite the Brockville Stand

5 rows of seating in a mini stand behind. Lot of people will like that and will give easier access for fans with mobility issues

Hospitality boxes closer to the field of play, that's an obvious winner.

The clincher is it will be the most cost effective option, and that in the end of the day will decide if the stadium is ever finished - the cost.

It would presumably cost us a lot more than it did Ayr though as they already had the terracing and embankment to build on.

57 minutes ago, Harry Kinnear said:

Reminds me back to the first Hamilton game at home.

Had a 'heated debate' with some roaster booing and shouting for Mcglynn to F off at the end of the game.

Called it out, unbeaten, utterly dominated the game just couldn't get a breakthrough and could tell he just wanted to smash me in the face.... would be absolutely embarrassed looking back.

2 hours ago, Rocco said:

Some of the shouts from fans can be embarrassing. I’ve seen us being 4 up in a game and a guy close to me is getting angry that they are keeping possession and starts screaming to get it forward. Absolute imbecile!

Going on for decades.  I remember at the Hope Street end and we were 4 up on Hearts in the Scottish cup ( Samuels running riot) and an auld bloke behind me screamed " get it up the park   You are letting them run riot!

Posted (edited)

We’re human and there’s not a fan at some point shouted out at the heat of the moment. The fans or so called fans that week after week that come out with continued bile (sometimes vile) should be escorted out the stadium. We’ve  got one close to where we are. A  total fuckwit of a guy. 

Edited by Springfield

3 minutes ago, Springfield said:

We’re human and there’s not a fan at some point shouted out at the heat of the moment. The fans or so called fans that week after week that come out with continued bile (sometimes vile) should be escorted out the stadium. A  total fuckwit of a guy. 

Kind of my opinion on it. There’s a few who will moan when we’re 5-0 up and pass the ball backwards, which really pisses me off - more so than someone getting angry in the heat of the moment at some shite defending for an Annan equaliser. It’s an emotive game and sometimes it gets the better of us. It’s the people who show up every week intent on being negative who do my tits in.

2 hours ago, tokyo bairn said:

It would presumably cost us a lot more than it did Ayr though as they already had the terracing and embankment to build on.

Of course, that why there would have to be a design study giving the cost implications of the options proposed.

Like the idea of the terracing, think the Ultras would enjoy the experience of changing ends and the chance to wider the interaction with fellow fans in the vicinity.

The reaction from the Ayr fans this year will be interesting.

Posted (edited)
On 16/05/2024 at 10:25, ebobsboy said:

I don't see us signing another striker with McKenna joining

With McKenna being  a versatile player, playing mid or striker, we’re already up on the loss of McGinn. Listening to the FFC podcast it sounds like the BODs will steer the Club in a very similar manner to this one, with hopefully an extra uptick in finances from this season’s success. A squad of versatile players is crucial as proven this season.  Sounds like the BODs are optimistic that the squad can be further strengthened, fully dependant on how well the various income streams go, come Aug and Jan windows 🙏

Edited by GunnerBairn

7 minutes ago, Kevin James Left Knee said:

IT'S A GREAT DESIGN (BY ANNDY JAMIESON I THINK) BUT IT MISSES OUT SOME IMPORTANT NAMES WHO CONTRIBUTED. 

Definitely, when you think back on it Jordan Allen's goal at Cove was one major difference in us being Invincibles, I'm glad we missed out Brad mind you put him down the list with Hartleys heroes although he done ok last season until he imploded during the playoff games and went back to type form