The Falkirk FC Thread

6 hours ago, Craigie Watson said:

I must have been standing next to you, richd.

Down the front against the barrier, right next to the away dug out. Seen so many great players and goals from there. Kirkie Lawson v Hearts in Scottish Cup midweek is the one which sticks out my memory, what a strike! 

On 05/06/2023 at 16:33, latapythelegend said:

Going off on a bit of a tangent but the Falkirk Sunday amateurs who are associated through the Foundation have made the Central League Cup final and are playing this Friday night at Petershill Juniors. A big achievement after losing 4/5 players to East of Scotland football half way through the season.

If anybody is missing their football fix its a good chance to catch a Falkirk team in a final for a change! They also play in white shorts and red socks. It looks lovely 😉

Up against another local team from Denny who by all accounts are a very good young team so should be a cracker of a game.

May be an image of american football, football and text that says "ALL IN LEAGUE CUP FINAL FOUNGATION FALKIRK AFC VS CHECKBAR UNITED AFC FRIDAY 9TH JUNE 2023 KICK OFF- 7:30 PM Petershill Park 30 Adamswell Street, Glasgow G21 4DD ALKIRK FOUNDATION OBR.COM/UUMIT.CURFUTURE FUTURE OMMUNIT Entry £5"

Coll Donaldson will get a game. 

12 hours ago, richd said:

Stuart Kennedy... My boyhood bero. Standing in the north enclosure watching him sprint down the wing like an Olympic 100m runner... Doesnt  get mentioned enough  on these pages

Yes but he could be a horrible person. When we were writing the Milennium Player book the person who interviewed him was a huge fan but the latter was reduced to tears after the interview as he was treated to dogs abuse for asking “ stupid questions”. Never meet your heroes. 

4 minutes ago, Roboccop said:

Yes but he could be a horrible person. When we were writing the Milennium Player book the person who interviewed him was a huge fan but the latter was reduced to tears after the interview as he was treated to dogs abuse for asking “ stupid questions”. Never meet your heroes. 

He was a crabbit auld fucker when he ran the Woodside too. Not sure if he still owns it, but he'd just scowl and not engage at all with anyone.

3 minutes ago, Roboccop said:

Wow, that’s a shocker especially as he is/was a publican where you need to be sociable to customers.

42 minutes ago, Gringo said:

Wow, that’s a shocker especially as he is/was a publican where you need to be sociable to customers.

Stuart didn't suffer fools gladly and could come over as a bit of a grump  but I always enjoyed his company. I mind going back to his house after a night at the woody and we were having a few drinks and trying on his Scotland caps . Was a brilliant night. Some fantastic stories of his times playing for Aberdeen and Scotland. Woodside just isn't the same these days.

Edited by Shodwall cat

The fact that Jamie MacDonald rejected Raiths contract and has been announced as leaving the club has me believing he is coming here. Couple that with the fact no other club has announced him and we won’t announce anything till McGlynn is back his holidays

2 hours ago, Roboccop said:

Shocked at that, I’ve spoke to him on many occasions over the years, always had time for a chat and a wee story of two.

28 minutes ago, grumpyoldman said:

Shocked at that, I’ve spoke to him on many occasions over the years, always had time for a chat and a wee story of two.

Never met him socially, but when he signed for Aberdeen, he used to park his car opposite my house at Larbert station. Lovely MG BGT it was. Said hello to him a few times, and he always said hello back, but was a bit too awestruck to say much more to him

5 minutes ago, richd said:

Never met him socially, but when he signed for Aberdeen, he used to park his car opposite my house at Larbert station. Lovely MG BGT it was. Said hello to him a few times, and he always said hello back, but was a bit too awestruck to say much more to him

He’s got some great tales to tell,  mostly about his time at Aberdeen but unfortunately not so much about his Brockville days.

Think he was the fastest and best full back I’ve ever seen, Tiger would be a close second

50 minutes ago, Rocco said:

The fact that Jamie MacDonald rejected Raiths contract and has been announced as leaving the club has me believing he is coming here. Couple that with the fact no other club has announced him and we won’t announce anything till McGlynn is back his holidays

Him and Brad Spencer.

1 hour ago, Rocco said:

Same situation with the boy Spencer if we’re putting 2 and 2 together. 

25 minutes ago, LatapyBairn. said:

Same situation with the boy Spencer if we’re putting 2 and 2 together. 

Spencer has offers in the premiership (supposedly) and Down South I very much doubt he’ll be rocking up at Falkirk if that’s the case…. MacDonald could be the most likely as your a lot closer to his home and will likely still be No1 which he wants 

Edited by RRFC_Liam

3 hours ago, Shodwall cat said:

Stuart didn't suffer fools gladly and could come over as a bit of a grump  but I always enjoyed his company. I mind going back to his house after a night at the woody and we were having a few drinks and trying on his Scotland caps . Was a brilliant night. Some fantastic stories of his times playing for Aberdeen and Scotland. Woodside just isn't the same these days.

Never socialised with the guy, but played against him three or four times (as young teenagers). We can all have viewpoints on who is a good player, and who is “ok”. Kennedy was completely off the charts good. He was like an express train, and at that time, he was near enough unstoppable.

He couldn’t be intimidated either, as he was as hard as nails. I don’t think he made friends easily.

I had a friend who stupidly thought he would “have a go” upstairs in the Charioteer (Maddox?). He was warned to just leave it, but no, my friend thought he was a bit of a hard man, so he confronted Stuart…….big mistake. The minute he pushed Stuart, he unleashed a whole world of pain of my friend.

I would go as far as saying that it changed my friend’s life completely. No more hard man antics with a drink in him. He became a bit of a recluse thereafter.

14 hours ago, Bigbrbairn said:

Tiger McLaughlin what a player. Defended like his life depended on it and some of his attacking was the stuff of legends. What we could do with that type today!

My abiding 'Tiger' memory was a Falkirk v Kilmarnock game, the bairns were kicking towards the car park end and for some reason Tommy McLean started kick off on the left wing. Right at kick of Killie played the ball back and sent a wide pass out to McLean on the half way line where I was standing.

Tiger took off as soon as the pass was made, McLean trapped the ball with that toothy grin and shuffling style just as Tiger arrived and nailed him. Ball first then followed through him with a boddy check come slide tackle. You heard McLean lungs empty as he bounced off the red gravel pitchside arse first rebound off the the advertising hoarding only to get a 2nd helping from Tiger following through. Tiger took the throw in and that wee shitebag McLean was not interested for the rest of the game. As Tiger ran back to the left back position Willie Cunningham was standing on the touchline applauding as his obvious instruction to sort out McLean early on had been carried out to the letter.

Happy memories of a great era.

"Doesn't suffer fools gladly" has always been a massive red flag description for me. Right up there with "tells it like it is" or "doesn't Mince their words" as some sort way to excuse someone for basically being a w****r. 

Thankfully I'm too young to remember Kennedy, and so there's no fallen idol problem for me here.