Outdated Concepts?

sjc

My top 10.

1. Religion. I think this scourge will be with us for a while yet. However as society continues to evolve and education becomes available to a greater percentage of the world's population; the need for it will decline. I suspect that's one of the reasons religious leaders are so quick to demonize public education. Smart people are a lot harder to control. Just one wee example? In the last US election we saw Christian Conservatives in the media using the word "intellectual" as an insult.

2. The monarchy. It's always been hard to see why anyone would support such a ridiculous concept but especially now, when social services are being pared back to Dickensian levels, it's an utter mystery to me why anyone would agree that a random family should be given millions each year just to wave occasionally and go on holiday. It's depressing to see the sycophants fawning over the youngest welfare brats.

3. Definitely print newspapers and most magazines. I glanced through a free copy of our local rag a couple of weeks ago in a coffee shop and without the mattress sales and used car adverts, I doubt there was enough content to fill 2 pages. Genuinely can't imagine why anyone would pay for that. The sports section was OK but all that information was available online yesterday.

4. Small denomination coins. Who the chuff pays for anything with coins these days?

5. Personal Privacy. Every single detail of our lives are on file somewhere and while there are currently safeguards in place to protect some of it; it's naive to think these will always be in place. Governments and Corporations have access to vast amounts of data we might think belong to us. Good job we'll always be able to trust Governments and Corporations, eh?

6. Manufacturing jobs in Western countries. There may come a time when the economies of the developing world are on a par with those of the west but until then, there will always be someone else in the world who can provide the product at a lower price. That's who will get the business.

7. Job security. As noted above - unions are a spent force and employers now hold all the cards. Regardless of what they might tell their staff; they'll do whatever makes them the most money.

8.  Putting the clocks forward and back twice a year. Whether we go with daylight savings all year round, or do away with the concept altogether, just stop it.

9. Dysthanasia. This is the opposite of euthanasia and means the practice of keeping people alive beyond their natural period thus prolonging their suffering, often against their will. What kind of a fucked up world forces people to live in daily agony rather than allowing them the dignity of ending their own life. No surprise that the people most opposed to the idea of voluntary euthanasia rarely have a problem with bombs being dropped on innocent people.

10. Ties. This fashion has been around for far too long but thankfully, seems to be coming less and less the norm. Until someone can give me a decent reason for wearing one (I get the "keep the soup off your shirt" argument but it's easier and cheaper to wash/launder a shirt than it is a tie) then I will continue to push back. I'll admit, I'm still carrying a certain resentment to my old boss who wore a tie even on his days off and tried to encourage me to do the same. f**k off. 

• Replies 84

I'm with you on small coins. I now just fire all my 1,2 and 5p coins into a tub cause I cba carrying them. Surely we can now just round everything up/down to the nearest 10p and do away with wee coins. 

8 minutes ago, Dazzle said:

I'm with you on small coins. I now just fire all my 1,2 and 5p coins into a tub cause I cba carrying them. Surely we can now just round everything up/down to the nearest 10p and do away with wee coins. 

People keep saying that. Wouldn't it make more sense to devalue everything to 10% of the current value?

I'm pretty sure that videos (especially) and DVDs will make a retro comeback, purely because people will want to have a video rental shop area for show, like folk who keep bookcases full of books they've never read. In a hundred years' time, there'll be folk with a wall lined with those gaudy yellow Global Video shelves, filled with priceless video nasties and porn featuring people with hair and no artificial parts. Oh, those crazy 20th Century fools.

8 hours ago, Shotgun said:

My top 10.

1. Religion. I think this scourge will be with us for a while yet. However as society continues to evolve and education becomes available to a greater percentage of the world's population; the need for it will decline. I suspect that's one of the reasons religious leaders are so quick to demonize public education. Smart people are a lot harder to control. Just one wee example? In the last US election we saw Christian Conservatives in the media using the word "intellectual" as an insult.

2. The monarchy. It's always been hard to see why anyone would support such a ridiculous concept but especially now, when social services are being pared back to Dickensian levels, it's an utter mystery to me why anyone would agree that a random family should be given millions each year just to wave occasionally and go on holiday. It's depressing to see the sycophants fawning over the youngest welfare brats.

3. Definitely print newspapers and most magazines. I glanced through a free copy of our local rag a couple of weeks ago in a coffee shop and without the mattress sales and used car adverts, I doubt there was enough content to fill 2 pages. Genuinely can't imagine why anyone would pay for that. The sports section was OK but all that information was available online yesterday.

4. Small denomination coins. Who the chuff pays for anything with coins these days?

5. Personal Privacy. Every single detail of our lives are on file somewhere and while there are currently safeguards in place to protect some of it; it's naive to think these will always be in place. Governments and Corporations have access to vast amounts of data we might think belong to us. Good job we'll always be able to trust Governments and Corporations, eh?

6. Manufacturing jobs in Western countries. There may come a time when the economies of the developing world are on a par with those of the west but until then, there will always be someone else in the world who can provide the product at a lower price. That's who will get the business.

7. Job security. As noted above - unions are a spent force and employers now hold all the cards. Regardless of what they might tell their staff; they'll do whatever makes them the most money.

8.  Putting the clocks forward and back twice a year. Whether we go with daylight savings all year round, or do away with the concept altogether, just stop it.

9. Dysthanasia. This is the opposite of euthanasia and means the practice of keeping people alive beyond their natural period thus prolonging their suffering, often against their will. What kind of a fucked up world forces people to live in daily agony rather than allowing them the dignity of ending their own life. No surprise that the people most opposed to the idea of voluntary euthanasia rarely have a problem with bombs being dropped on innocent people.

10. Ties. This fashion has been around for far too long but thankfully, seems to be coming less and less the norm. Until someone can give me a decent reason for wearing one (I get the "keep the soup off your shirt" argument but it's easier and cheaper to wash/launder a shirt than it is a tie) then I will continue to push back. I'll admit, I'm still carrying a certain resentment to my old boss who wore a tie even on his days off and tried to encourage me to do the same. f**k off. 

Every one of your points = capitalism. 

1. Religions are used to divide & rule us. 

2. The Monarchy is there to show us there is an hierarchy. 

3. Print media, the ruling ideas are the ideas of the ruling class, which  explains why the sun is the highest selling paper. 

4. Wee coins, always a reminder of who your sovereign is & don't you forget it. Also they f**k up your trouser pockets so have to buy more trousers. 

5. Personal privacy as you suggest it doesn't really exist. Big brother. 

6. Manufacturing jobs, it's always been the case of dog eat dog in business, it's anarchy not organized economy. Making things cheaper doesn't mean making them better quality. 

7. Job security, if you are feart for your job you put up & shut up. 

8. Putting the clock forward/backward. It's as much about compliance as it is for having more working light. Just obey don't change, except the clock. 

9. Dysthanasia, it's about control & you are not in control. 

10. Ties, be uniform, it's back to male hierarchical acceptance.

G-Bo(re)

Coins have their place as not everywhere will be able to accept card, never mind contactless (think stalls etc), plus it's nice not to have a bank statement highlighting every single small item you've bought that month.

What should be abolished though is the £*.99. Just round the fcuker up to a pound and leave the coppers.

1 minute ago, Hedgecutter said:

Coins have their place as not everywhere will be able to accept card, never mind contactless (think stalls etc), plus it's nice not to have a bank statement highlighting every single small item you've bought that month.

What should be abolished though is the £*.99. Just round the fcuker up to a pound and leave the coppers.

Worser is petrol stations using .9 or even .7 of a penny, scum subhuman scum etc. 

G-Bo(re)

46 minutes ago, Hedgecutter said:

It's apparently to suggest the thing is actually cheaper than it is - there's a psychological barrier about paying say £100, whereas we're quite happy paying £99.99 - the even stranger one is America, where $X.98 is more common.

46 minutes ago, Grim O'Grady said:

Worser is petrol stations using .9 or even .7 of a penny, scum subhuman scum etc. 

G-Bo(re)

Watch yourself, Grimbo - you never know what the next word will be they might call in ban bingo..:unsure:

2 hours ago, Hedgecutter said:

I was having this conversation with the other half last night and she was saying that here in Denmark it will soon be illegal not to accept non-cash payment. Last Saturday there was a jumble sale of children's toys along the main street and every stall had a mobile pay account. Occasionally you'll see beggars advertising their mobile pay number.

I can see governments pushing for a cashless society so they can make sure every financial transaction is properly tracked and taxed.

Unions may be dying out in the UK but it's still strong in much of Europe and trade union membership is increasing in countries such as Belgium and Italy.

Landline Phones - does anyone actually use them any more?

Phone Calls - text, email, online messengers, video calls. Another 10 years and the thought of phoning someone without seeing their pus will be strange!

High Streets - online shopping, retail parks and better transport links are putting paid to them.

10 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

I can't see a cashless society working- it's hard to fire a credit card at a referee...

Cut them into a jagged shape like a shuriken. If Hugh Dallas thought a pound coin was sore, wait until he gets a ninja star weaponised Visa in his coupon.

8 minutes ago, tamthebam said:

I can't see a cashless society working- it's hard to fire a credit card at a referee...

What about using silver spoons? You could blutac* them to the credit card? 

G-Bo(re)

*ETA other sticky substances are available. 

Handwriting is on its knees and rightly so.  I had this argument with my son's primary teacher a decade back.  She castigated his ability to 'write nicely' and I said it didn't matter...and I was right.

Schools should be teaching touch-typing.

2 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Handwriting is on its knees and rightly so.  I had this argument with my son's primary teacher a decade back.  She castigated his ability to 'write nicely' and I said it didn't matter...and I was right.

Agree but in addition to legible (not necessarily "nice") handwriting.

I learned to touch type in standard grade business admin in 2001.

8 minutes ago, sjc said:

Agree but in addition to legible (not necessarily "nice") handwriting.

Enough writing skills to address some Xmas and birthday cards, to sign your name and to scrawl, "Don't eat this - we're going to have it for dinner" on a Postit Note for your weans.

NB being able to write is not the same as being literate...but you ken this.